We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class holiday”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st class holiday”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from 9 days in this lovely hotel
Firstly I will mention the cons, if you are vegetarian you will struggle with the menu, if you struggle with humidity it is like a brick wall, air con is hit and miss although fixed quickly , entertainment is 3 times a week and some extra would have been good, can't make use of the lovely inside seating area if it rains because it is too hot in there , if it's busy you will find it hard to get a sunbed, if you are disabled not wheelchair friendly at all, that's the only things I can think of.....
Pros, probably too many too mention but here goes
Beds really comfy, lovely room (we were poolside no 20) adaquate hanging space and drawers, I thought food was excellent and plenty of it, water totally drinkable, good choice of alcohol ,plenty of tea and coffee, all staff lovely and very happy to please, lovely beach 3mins away, pool warm and easy to get in and out of, towels, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion provided, daily cleaner, and so much more we had a wonderful time and would have no problem returning in the future, as this hotel is small and intimate it is easy to make friends Francis,Ian,terry,sue missing our evenings already,Paula and James hope the 2nd part of you're trip went well, all in all this place takes a lot of beating thank you island inn we had a brilliant time

Room Tip: We loved the room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    157
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
360
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 13. The service and food were great and the rooms are large and well equipped [we had superior poolside rooms]. The pool is great and warm and pebbles beach just 3 minutes’ walk away is fantastic. The manager is very efficient and her Wednesday night cocktail parties are a really good idea
Great value for money – all-inclusive is definitely the way to go in Barbados as drinking and eating out is expensive!

Room Tip: poolside superior rooms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueMarkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked a holiday at short notice with little information beyond that on the Virgin booking site.

Then read the negative reviews and were more than a little apprehensive that we had made a huge mistake. How wrong could we be!

We have just enjoyed a fabulous two weeks in this most friendly of hotels. Yes, the area around is a little shabby, but so is much of the south coast. Never felt at risk, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Want directions to the bus station serving the west coast? I will take you and get you to the right service. Cars even stop when you stand on a main road to let you cross.

Glorious beaches moments away, swim and walk back to the hotel for a meal and drink in your towel. Cuzz's fish shack an absolute must, just 50 yards or so away, even though the all inclusive menu is varied and good. Went to Cuzz's little short of cash for two cutters and two beers. No problem. "I know where you live. England."

Good location to explore the island, by taxi or by bus, with the latter a price of two dollars per ride - about 70p. Good tours too. Would recommend the Island Safari and the three in a day - Harrison's Cave, the Mount Gay rum distillery, and the sunset cruise. Would not go to Mount Gay as a one off visit. Just a bottling plant. Spend you money on a bottle of duty free rum - will cost you around £7 - and read the history on the Internet!

Cannot praise the hotel staff highly enough, in the restaurant, bar and room service. As others have commented, the Wednesday night barbecue is great fun. When the management learnt we were there on our anniversary we returned from a day trip to find a bottle of bubbly on ice in our room.

Very tempted to change personal habit of not returning to the same place twice. Next Easter, perhaps? Close to clicking the button!

Room Tip: Want in room wi-if and a very short walk to the bar? Room 9 or 10. Garden view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 5kjm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here the first two week in aug the hotel was not full about 18 people the first week about 30 the second on arrival the street outside is not very nice but the moment you step through the doors its a little gem we had a standard courtyard room and it was fine clean and comfortable the beach is steps away you can hire loungers from hotel or on the beach it is very quiet and the sea is not too deep or rough 5 min walk away is Carlisle beach again very quiet no loungers to rent here some people had beach tents great for snorkelling and if your lucky you can see turtles the pool is small with loungers but for the guest when we were there this was no problem the food is al a carte most lunch and dinner with buffet breakfast there is always three choices and we found it good Angelina and Doris in the restaurant are so helpful and friendly the bar was well stocked and our bar men were Michael who keeps you up to date with the cricket score and Gerry who entertains with his tom cruise moves don't ask for a Gerry surprise but long island tea and skittle tequila kept us amused on a couple of rainy days Carole and Sharon are on reception again great staff and the manager is always around and makes a point of speaking to everyone and gets you up dancing for her cocktail party every Wednesday. we were there for crop over so enjoyed many celebrations and special events but its so easy to get around using local busses we saw the whole island a short walk is the garrisons racing and barracks changing the sentry every wed at quarter 12 is worth seeing . we did a boat trip with jay from the beach to swim with turtles and snorkel the shipwreck just us two on the boat he went were we wanted you can book with the guy on the beach with groovy hair was gold when we went but he said he is changing it red and green or his e mail is jademinors@yahoo.com /www.platinumcoastaltours.com
the hotel has a library in reception and you can organise trips from here too the staff make this place but we were lucky to have nice guest too ranging in ages to teenagers , honeymooners and between 40-60 would defiantly recommend and were we ever to return to Barbados we would be booking island inn

Room Tip: virgin rep gave us wrong advice about a few things check with other travlers many are repeat guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel in June 10. 2013 for two weeks, the staff were very helpful and friendly.the food was a bit bland,the rooms was clean and tidy we had a great time we stayed in room 23.The location was close to two nice beaches and Bridgetown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Island Inn during the first week of July, 2013 and totally enjoyed it. Very nice staff, Carole and Earl very helpful, friendly. The rooms were clean, upgraded and the ac working great, and very quiet. The room did not have a fridge but same was not a problem as tap water is drinkable and you can get ice from the bar. Hotel very close to two of the best beaches on the area, Pebble Beach and Carlisle Beach. Both very quiet and beautiful. You can arrange different tours with the front desk and you will be picked up and dropped off. You can get a picnic lunch waiting for you if you miss lunch. The food was great and very nicely presented. Manager's night was something to remember (I believe every Wednesday). What made the stay very enjoyable was the people that frequent Island Inn and return there if not every year every couple years. Will definitely return to Island Inn if back to Barbados. p.s. You can also have a free lunch at the sister hotel, Mango Bay, if you happen to be around there. Again, staff very friendly and ready to help.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are much quieter than the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently returned from our third visit to what seems like our home from home. Yet again had a wonderful holiday. Stayed this time in a Superior Pool room (No17) and while enjoying the fact that we were only a few steps away fom a cooling oasis I am not totally convinced it is worth the extra money as all the furnishings and lay out are pretty much the same as the standard Courtyard rooms. (my ladyship may beg to differ however)
We both felt that the quality of the food had improved since our previous visit and had no complaints at all in that area. As ever the friendly staff went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after, so many thanks to Sharon, Carol, Kane, Michael, the lovely Earl, Doris. relief manager Janice all of the kitchen staff, gardeners and housekeepers. The only glaring exception I felt along with others is waitress Jeanette who can be brash, unhelpfull and lazy. Management do need to give this lady some customer care training. (think bulldog chewing a wasp!!!!)
We met some lovely people from all over the globe including Australia, Canada, Sweden, Poland, Trinidad, Barbados, Albania as well as a few fellow Brits. Managers cocktail party was a blast and felt like a league of nations as we all took turns to sing our National Anthems and dance the night away.
Entertainment is only provided three nights a week and is generally low key which may not suit some.However the Gap is only a short bus or taxi ride away for those who like to party.
We happened to stay when Andy Murray won Wimbledon, a morning that will never be forgotten I have to say.......huge thanks to Nigel for capturing that "Kodak moment"
I could go on and on with this review but most if not all has been said already. I will happily answer any questions via private messages should anyone require assistance.
Thanks again Island Inn for making our hard earned holiday so special. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bigpetemon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing