We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Stayed at this lovely hotel for the 2nd time - cant wait to return next year. As always friendly helpful staff, clean rooms, nothing changed much from last year and nor would we want it to. Always recommend the hotel to everybody - just the quiet and relaxing holiday you always get here

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OWENPAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed here recently and think this hotel is decidedly overrated. I guess I came to Barbados with high standards. I don't think it is anywhere near as good as beach destinations in Australia and Asia, eg the Whitsunday Islands or Thailand / Bali. It is very expensive for what you get and, in landscape terms, is hardly spectacular, give or take the odd postcard scene. It's worth a try, but, unless you're already in Europe or the States, it probably doesn't deserve the distance or expense.

My thoughts on the Island Inn, therefore, may be coloured by my attitude to the Caribbean more generally. That said, by any measure, I think this hotel falls short. I found the staff decidedly obnoxious and unhelpful. For the money I paid, I could not believe that I was asked to fetch an iron and ironing board and carry it to my room on my own. This may sound petty, but it seems such a basic element of hospitality.

This was symptomatic of a wider mediocrity at the place. I think the hotel is pretty run down and in need of tasteful renovation. The merit that it has as a heritage building is totally overshadowed by its substandard presentation.

The bathroom in my room was grimy and unpleasant. The furnishings were tasteless. The food is very, very average (although I also generally didn't think much of the food I had elsewhere on the island).

Noise carries dreadfully around the hotel, both from the bar area and nearby rooms. I could not only hear my fellow guests drinking, dancing and dining. I could also hear their more intimate activities afterwards, even though they were not being particularly loud. I'm sure they could hear me cough / roll over in bed / watch TV. The hotel's acoustics are just plain bad.

There is very little of interest in the immediate area and the nearby beach is average indeed. I hired a car (another disaster, but I won't go into that here), so was able to get around. Even so, my impression was that Barbados and perhaps the Caribbean generally is best done in a very expensive resort that you don't leave except for the odd guided tour.

I would advise tripadvisor travellers to give this a miss. I simply cannot understand why this place has such good reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OJ_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Just arrived back from an amazing week in Barbados. We booked through Nextescape to stay at the Island Inn hotel, basically upon the strength of the reviews read on this website. We have no complaints whatsoever in fact it was very difficult to pick fault with anything other than the very minor stuff we already knew about. Very accurate reviews throughout.

In summary, Yes, this is a 3 star hotel and is not 5 star luxurious but the service, quality of food, relaxed atmosphere and location more than make up for it.

FOOD: Breakfast was either hot full english or fresh fruit and croissants, plenty of coffee and fruit juice. After day two, we skipped the cooked breakfasts - increasing waistline! Lunches are great, 3 course again with salads, ice cream, fish, chicken, etc or just a sandwich. Alternatively if you book the day before, you can arrange for a packed lunch (we did this twice) where you can arrange for sandwiches, fruit, cake, bottles of beer, pop, etc. which comes in a cooler bag for taking on the beach. This is well worth it, the flying fish or tuna sandwiches are lovely. Evening meal was different every night and again 3 course with waitress service and plenty of choice. Also, we had a BBQ one evening which was great.

DRINKS: The bar shuts at 11pm which is probably the only slight niggle I have. However, I think I must have drunk my own body weight in Rum Punch during the week as well as sampling most of the extensive cocktail list so no real complaints. The local beer (Banks) is also okay. Only things not included are bottled water at B$5 a bottle and premium spirits, red bull, etc. It's cheaper to buy water from the beachside hut or Shell petrol station just around the corner.

ROOMS: Comfortable king sized bed, great air-con, well appointed room. Bathrooms are a little tired but clean. Room cleaned and beds made everyday. Free gratis safety deposit box in the room too which is handy.

LOCATION:
2 minute (literally max 100 yards walk) to Pebbles Beach across the road where there is fantastic watersports, diving facilities. White sand and clear blue water - picture postcard stuff. You can also use the sunbeds at the Grand Barbados Hotel next door (unofficially) for free. It's a 15 minute walk to Harbour Lights, the notorius nightclub on the edge of Bridgetown where a £10 entry fee per person gets you all you can drink (local stuff only) between 9.30pm and 3am on Mondays, Weds and Fridays. The City of Bridgetown is about a half hour walk away where there are large department stores, banks, restaurants, etc. St Lawrence Gap is the real "action area" for bars and clubs, some 5 miles and B$25 away in a cab.


HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT: This is not Las Vegas by any means but is amusing nevertheless. Usually three times a week and a band/solo artist. If nothing else, offers cheesy background music whilst eating dinner in the outside restauarant.

CAR HIRE:
This is something I would definetly recommend so to enable you to see the best beaches and sights on the island. I booked through Stoutes Car Rental, picking the car up and dropping it off at the Airport (7 days for £140). All drivers need a permit at B$10 each by the way at the time of booking. The car also saves getting a taxi (£15 each way) or paying for an expensive pre booked transfer! Also, fuel is half the price than at home (60p litre) making travel very cheap.
It is only a relatively small island, 25 miles long by 15 miles wide so can be travelled extensively, even in a week.

BEACHES: My top five beaches visted: 1) Gibbes Beach 2) Mullins Beach 3) Miami (Enterprise) Beach 4) Dover Beach 5) Pebbles Beach. The beaches South of Bridgetown on the West Coast tend to be white sand and wider where the ones to the North of Bridgetown are more golden and Narrow.

ALSO:The hotel has a sister resort (The Mango Bay) in Holetown, on the West Coast. During your stay, you are also allowed to use their facilities, enjoy unlimited drinks (everyday)and lunch (once per week). This is an absolute MUST for everyone but you need to book this with reception the day before you intend to go up there. It is not advertised anywhere and we only heard about it from other guests.

WOULD I VISIT AGAIN: Most Definetly YES, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank pdaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Just back after 9 nights at the Island Inn. Nothing more to add to previous reviews. Excellect service, excellent food,and charming staff. Add this to a beautiful island with lovely friendly people,can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KD's Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

For sure there is no one how is not statisfied with this hotel and this beautifull island...
The hotel was excellent,clean,comfortable.
Staff are superb, always smiling,friendly.
Recommand for everybody.
Nice stay.Thanks!!!
Angelika,Viktor - Hungary

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sonoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

been to the island inn 4 times will recommend it to everyone lovely food excellent staff cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spikeyscunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

There is no real need to repeat other peoples reviews as most things have been said already. All I can say is try it! You wont be disappointed. We booked independantly (separate flights and hotel) and found this to be the cheapest way.
We followed trip advisor reviews (as usual) and were pleased to say they came up trumps. The hotel staff, food, accommodation, were all great and deserve top ranking on trip advisor.
If you want a family holiday with lots of daytime/nightime activities and reps around to bother you then dont stay here.
Hire a car and tour the Island as we did and see Barbados life in all its friendly glory!
The only negative minor point I would make is the hotel charges for bottled water. It would be nice to be given water each morning to take out (as most all inclusive hotels do)
Yes, it does rain (daily for us) but it only lasts a short time and the weather is sunny again. One further plus for me was NO MOSSIES or creepy crawlies!!
All in all a hotel to definately return to in the hopefully near future.
Top marks for the Island Inn staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DollyDimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
362 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range: $224 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing