We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Island Inn the Sun"”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Our "Island Inn the Sun"”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently returned from our third visit to what seems like our home from home. Yet again had a wonderful holiday. Stayed this time in a Superior Pool room (No17) and while enjoying the fact that we were only a few steps away fom a cooling oasis I am not totally convinced it is worth the extra money as all the furnishings and lay out are pretty much the same as the standard Courtyard rooms. (my ladyship may beg to differ however)
We both felt that the quality of the food had improved since our previous visit and had no complaints at all in that area. As ever the friendly staff went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after, so many thanks to Sharon, Carol, Kane, Michael, the lovely Earl, Doris. relief manager Janice all of the kitchen staff, gardeners and housekeepers. The only glaring exception I felt along with others is waitress Jeanette who can be brash, unhelpfull and lazy. Management do need to give this lady some customer care training. (think bulldog chewing a wasp!!!!)
We met some lovely people from all over the globe including Australia, Canada, Sweden, Poland, Trinidad, Barbados, Albania as well as a few fellow Brits. Managers cocktail party was a blast and felt like a league of nations as we all took turns to sing our National Anthems and dance the night away.
Entertainment is only provided three nights a week and is generally low key which may not suit some.However the Gap is only a short bus or taxi ride away for those who like to party.
We happened to stay when Andy Murray won Wimbledon, a morning that will never be forgotten I have to say.......huge thanks to Nigel for capturing that "Kodak moment"
I could go on and on with this review but most if not all has been said already. I will happily answer any questions via private messages should anyone require assistance.
Thanks again Island Inn for making our hard earned holiday so special. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bigpetemon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    161
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
364
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 17 nights in three rooms (2, 3 and 25) with my wife and elderly mother-in-law. The accommodation is characterful, yet comfortable, having been originally the rum store for the British Regiment. The Inn is like a sanctuary where you tend to get to know some guests, although some chose to stay to themselves. Both works naturally. It's home away from home, nothing like the huge Hilton or slightly more modest Radisson just up the road.

All inclusive (accommodation, meals, drinks) worked perfectly for us as it would not have been easy to venture out repeatedly for meals with a 93 year old. It also makes it very cost effective in the long run. It was great to pay all in advance and then sit back and relax and NOT constantly sign chits for every treat.
It tends to attract a nice group of tourists and is not suited to rowdy individuals. That said there was partying, but of an inclusive, happy and friendly kind and we knew when to shut up ;)

There was a storm alert during our stay which they treated very seriously, really looking after us with information, food and drink packs in rooms, just in case. It turned out to be a 'storm in a teacup' but we appreciated their professionalism.

We chose a garden view room which suited us being a little away from it all but others seemed most happy in their pool view rooms and suites. The smallest rooms were very adequate but I peeked at a few larger suites for those who want to spread out. But keep in mind this is Barbados and that means relaxed. Sometimes things don't work quite as well as you might be accustomed to (plumbing, wifi) but that's part of the charm. If you want 5 star perfection this may not be the place for you but if you enjoy the company of a smaller group of happy guests and generally charming staff, this will suit.

Nice beach just a couple of minutes walk and the pool at the Island Inn is great for cooling down with a drink (they supply sturdy plastic glasses for the pool). Easy to get anywhere from here by bus or our preferred method, taxi. Drivers are helpful and honest and it's not expensive. You can get a personal tour by taxi for around USD30 and hour or USD150 for 5 or 6 hour island jaunt (they are happy to wait and you sight-see and lunch). You can get cheaper or more expensive depending on vehicle - we appreciated air-conditioned vehicle.
Oh, and Island Inn will even give you a packed lunch and drinks in an ice bin if you book the day before).

Many guests return again and again for repeated trips. What better recommendation than that!

We found the 'Island Inn' using TripAdvisor, which came out trumps yet again. So when you find an appraisal helpful do that reviewer a favour, give them a 'helpful vote' :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location Location ,this is a very pretty hotel a minutes walk away from a incredible beach in fact two incredible beaches Pebble beach and Carlisle bay,they bring the race horse down to Pebble beach every morning for a swim and it was lovely to watch.
We arrived at this hotel and was greeted by a lovely receptionist who offered us lunch and a drink while we waited for our room,we had arrived early, we had already had lunch so we had a look around the hotel and checked out the pool while we waited It is like a little oasis and I loved the courtyard with the tables and restaurant and bar area and the pool was small but I expect it is not used often .
As it is a small hotel it did not take us long to look around so we headed back to reception to be told our room was ready the receptionist helped us with our luggage.Our room was really lovely with a huge bathroom a very comfy bed it was prefect we loved it.
I so wish this hotel was not all inclusive as I loved it in every way expect for the food we love Bajan food and sadly we found the food here really bland and disappointing the afternoon tea was very nice and it was nice to have access to a coffee machine 24/7 and the coffee was good as well .We ate at Cuz's for lunch his Marlin Cutters are really good and we had dinner at Brown Sugar which was very good too.
I would return to the island inn in a heart beat if it was room only or b&b we loved all the staff and really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the evening with a lovely pina colada listening to the entertainment

Room Tip: try cuz's shack
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at island inn in may this year for my 21st and what ended up being our engagement. And it beat all expectations by a mile. We stayed in the suite which was amazing. The food was great. The staff were great. Especially earl the barman. A real gem. Loved it so much we are returning next year. Sam & stef

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad & Tobago
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My trip to the beautiful island of Barbados was enhanced considerable by the serenity and simplistic beauty of the Island Inn Hotel... My wife and I were here for our anniversary for 5 days and we couldn't be more pleased...The staff was very friendly (shout out to Carol, our receptionist)... The room (Poolside Superior Room #19) was cosy and beautiful... The scheduled meals were fantastic... We also took up the offer to have lunch at the sister hotel, Mangobay... The picturesque beach is just a minute or two walking distance from the hotel, depending on your eagerness to reach there...

Our most enjoyable experience was the Manager's Cocktail Party on Wednesday evening that went well into wee hours of the morning with music, dancing and stimulating conversations with the manager (I forgot her name right now) and other guests... Special mention must be made to fellow guests, Pete & Sue and Eva & Floss (hope I got the spelling right), who made our stay a laugh-a-ton... Hope to meet you guys again in the near future... Congrats to the married couples spending their honeymoons there with us...

A highly recommended place for your vacation to Barbados...

Room Tip: Poolside Superior Room is a must... Make appointment to visit the Mangobay hotel for lunch at no add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nigelwayne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My first time in Barbados and it was fantastic,hotel nice and relaxed,friendly staff,lovely meals.Went for two weeks on my honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it.Beach a one minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms around pool best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We have recently spent a fortnight at The Island inn Hotel and had a super relaxing holiday!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome..... all the staff here are very courteous and efficient & the General Manager is on hand & often seen chatting to guests......she holds a weekly cocktail party and makes sure she talks to everyone during this time.

The restaurant serves delicious food and menu is very varied, serving local fish etc.....none of the dishes were repeated over the two weeks we were there.....dinner is usually table service, apart from the barbecue on Wednesdays, which is a nice touch for an all inclusive hotel.

We were staying in a Superior Poolside room which was a good size & furnished to a high standard, also the bathroom was enormous..... Strangely the wardrobe space is also in the bathroom! Plenty of hot water & good shower.

Our only niggles were the fraying bath towels & bedsheets that were thin & not large enough for the size of bed......we have found that this is a common occurrence in the Caribbean unless staying at top notch places!

In our opinion this is the best area of the island for the most perfect beaches.....Pebbles Beach is only 2 mins walk away & even more perfect Carlisle Bay is 10 mins walk......we were literally the only people on our stretch of beach one of the days.....there are every few parasols for rent, so do try to take one yourselves.

We had a wonderful couple of weeks, and would definitely return to The Island inn......fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bacardiqueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#3 of 9 in Hastings
610 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing