We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*****5 star***** Island Inn heaven”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2008

There is no real need to repeat other peoples reviews as most things have been said already. All I can say is try it! You wont be disappointed. We booked independantly (separate flights and hotel) and found this to be the cheapest way.
We followed trip advisor reviews (as usual) and were pleased to say they came up trumps. The hotel staff, food, accommodation, were all great and deserve top ranking on trip advisor.
If you want a family holiday with lots of daytime/nightime activities and reps around to bother you then dont stay here.
Hire a car and tour the Island as we did and see Barbados life in all its friendly glory!
The only negative minor point I would make is the hotel charges for bottled water. It would be nice to be given water each morning to take out (as most all inclusive hotels do)
Yes, it does rain (daily for us) but it only lasts a short time and the weather is sunny again. One further plus for me was NO MOSSIES or creepy crawlies!!
All in all a hotel to definately return to in the hopefully near future.
Top marks for the Island Inn staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DollyDimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for Island Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 569 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2008

Travelled with our daughter and stayed in a spacious room with two double beds, room 12. Very relaxed hotel with the friendliest staff you will ever meet. Rum punch on arrival, food is excellent with lots of variety. Any drink you like expertly mixed at the bar. Linen changed daily, rooms very clean but bathrooms need updating ,we didn't find this a problem but they are a bit tired. Look out for the green monkeys in the mango trees in the hotel grounds. It does rain in Barbados but don't worry the sun always returns. Beach is 2 minutes away and the most beautiful sand I have ever seen. Snorkelling with turtles is a must and can be booked at the cabin by the Grand Barbados Hotel on the beach. We hired a car (mini moke) seatbelts all worked and it was a lot of fun. Traffic is heavy on the roads though and you can get stuck in jams, check your map carefully before you set off, there aren't many road signs. There is a lot of building work going on everywhere but thankfully not near the Island Inn. Best beach we found was Mullins on West coast, walk down the beach to your left and view some really nice properties along the way. The Island Inn chef will pack you a picnic to take out for the day, our favourite was the flying fish sandwiches washed down with fruity ginger beer. We also travelled up the East coast to Crane beach but it is very windy here on the Atlantic coast, good for body boarding/surfing. Also if you go by car it is a treacherous climb across rocks to reach the beach (yes I do mean treacherous, don't think of taking small children this way). Sunbury House, a former plantation is a great trip and the George Washington Museum is also excellent with a moving exhibit about the history of slavery. Bridgetown is OK but probably wouldn't go back. Save some money to spend at the airport as the shops in the departure lounge are really good. Will definitely be returning to the Island Inn for 5 star treatment at 3 star prices.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tripstersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed at this fabulous little hotel to bring in the New Year. What a great choice we made, and we are already thinking about going back as we haven't been able to stop talking about it. The staff was excellent, attentive and very friendly, always trying to make our visit better. We loved the hotel facilities, very chic, excellent amenities and the views were fantastic. The location was perfect for exploring this historical area, and the staff was able to arrange everything for us, so that made it very easy for us. We enjoyed the variety of foods offered at the hotel, especially the fresh fish, which they said was caught that morning, and I believe it.....delicious. If you are looking for the perfect island getaway, in a boutique hotel atmosphere where there are not a bunch of heavy drinkers to bother you, we highly recommend this little treasure!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Having stayed at the Island Inn before we were really looking forward to going back there, this time my sister and brother-in-law were coming with us so we hope everything would be as good as we expected.

We needn't have worried, we were not disappointed and in fact the Inn had improved in many ways but still retained the friendliness and character that had first attracted us.

The staff at the Inn are exceptional, friendly and efficient , the restaurant benefits from excellent service and the reception staff are quick to organise tours you may wish to go on (I can recommend the Mount Gay Rum Cocktail Tour), they can also organise hire cars etc, nothing is a problem.

The proof of this came at the end of the holiday when my sister and her husband said that they were going to come back to Barbados and the Island Inn would be the place they would stay.
I can confirm that this is somewhere we will come back to time and time again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennywesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This was only our second visit to the caribbean. We had been to the True Blue Bay in Grenada last year and wanted a small hotel that we could use as a base ,but that was good value and comfortable.
We booked via tropical sky who were very thorough.
We acknowledge that it doesnt look much from outside but we found the hotel to be excellent. We had never been all inclusive but found it okay (nobody slaps you if you decide to eat out to experience the local nightlife !!). The meals were waiter service and planned so there was no mad rush to the buffet as in some hotels.
Meals were very good and it is the first hotel where I have had real bacon and sausages for breakfast. The choice at night is limited but they will always meet your needs if you let them know. You can go to there sister hotel the Mango Bay in Holetown for the day and have lunch. We arranged this but came out after 5 minutes. The pool and beach were so crowded it was incestuouse and the atmosphere wasn't the same. Hole town itself was nice.
Room are outdated but are clean. Dont take beach towels they provide these.
The beach is 2 minutes away and is fab. One day there was only us and 5 other people on it. The local people use it at weekends and are really friendly. We didnt have any wories re leaving our stuff whilst swimmming. The van at the entrance does snacka and drinks that are cheap.
Use taxis for goijng round the isalnd, agree a price and let them know where you want to go. The birds nest pub down the road is good. It is a local pub but welcoming and they produce their own sauces. Brown Sugar restaurant next door -- mixed reviews but we had a good lamb curry. You get a free glass bottom boat and snorkelling trip which is good, book at reception.
We used Barbados Blue for diving who were very good.
We have stayed at 5 star plus hotels but prefer the homely individuality of small hotels. This met our needs exactly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ctheworldasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

I went with my husband in February and this was exactly the holiday we were looking for. The hotel oozed Caribbean charm and the staff were really friendly. The Island Inn is a small hotel but we noticed several of our fellow guests had been before, which says a lot. We stayed on all inclusive and the meals were delicious.

The location was superb, right on Carlisle Bay and you can get a cab or hop on the local bus (now that’s an experience) to get into Bridgetown for shopping etc,.

The local rep from nextescape.co.uk came to the hotel and showed us a list of excursions. We did take a trip to swim with turtles which was a great experience but other than that, we got lazy at the Island Inn and enjoyed the hospitality. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank sussta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Just returned from a wonderfull vacation at Island Inn, can't say enough about the fabulous staff, the delicious food and great surroundings.
Had a picnic lunch (just like Mom used to make!) the beach is one of the best on the Island, swam with the turltes.
Tried to find something "wrong" with this piece of paradise and came up empty handed, time after time!
Only one word of advice .......go!

Stayed: February 2008
8  Thank janetalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range: $239 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing