We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True trinquility”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Glenn Dale, Maryland
1 review
“True trinquility”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This location is a great getaway from home without the driving distance.
You can't loose no matter what room you get. The peaceful view surronds you.
The resturant next to the Inn has nothing but fresh seafood. The continental breakfast was also good.
As my husband and i were leaving a couple we saw in the resturant the night before stated they would defintly me back. The staff was very proffesional and friendly.
The owners have done a wonderful job with making this a great place to look forward to coming back to simply relax (get work and studying or fishing done).
I read some of the other reviews and glad I didn't let them change my mind although I can understand why it might not be pet friendly.

The Greens, Glenn Dale MD
August 24,2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    158
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
362
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at the Island Inn at the end of July 2012. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, and this is exactly what we got. The hotel was modern and clean and felt almost 'Boutiquey', which I loved. Great location - walking distance from a couple of beaches and Bridgetown. Food was delicious - there was a young female chef, who cooked fantastic meals, she even came out to speak to us after dinner one evening after we sung her praises to our waiter.
The staff at the Island Inn Hotel were all extremely kind, helpful and polite (especially Angela? the lady who served us breakfast, and gave us some tips on travelling on the reggae buses!!).
If you are looking for a lovely hotel without the whole high-rise/cheesy hotel evening entertainment/kids clubs etc then stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda - Québec
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great little hotel where everyone is friendly. All hotel guests talk to each other and fraternize. It's very nice and it makes a great change of hotel complex. Carlisle Bay beach is 1 minute walk and it's a beautiful beach. If you walk to the end of the beach, takes you directly to downtown Bridgetown to see the shops and marina. It's convenient. Not need a taxi or bus. The lunch and dinner are a la carte. There is not much choice, but everything was very good, well cooked and well prepared. Bajan cuisine is really tasty. Breakfast is buffet style. This is the meal most repetitive but still good. Toast, fruit, potatoes, beans, eggs or omelets, bacon, sausage, coffee, fruit juice ...

The hotel was renovated in 2009-2010 and has a beautiful antique feel, with its historic buildings. Although it begins to wear a bit, it's still very beautiful. We had a room on the side of the courtyard. All rooms have private terraces with sheer curtains for privacy. The only downside to our room was that it was near the bar and restaurant so early in the morning, there are employees who prepare breakfast and you can hear a bit in the room. In addition, there are the little frogs that sing loudly. We were not used at the beginning and it disturbed our sleep a little. Bring your ear plugs and everything will be fine!

The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice for 2 people. It was very clean. Nothing to complain there. No matter who is at the reception, they are helping you quickly and answer your questions. The manager of the hotel is very very nice, always smiling!

In short, we enjoyed our stay at the Island Inn. It's a nice hotel to relax and rest. Everything is included, you do not have to worry about anything. The pool is small but completely charming. It is illuminated at night! If you want to party, this is not the right place for you. We were there in early July, so it was low season. There were not many people. Some evenings are animated. During our stay, there was an evening with a musician, a steel drum player, and he was fantastic! There was also an evening BBQ and it was very good also.

As we were in Barbados for only five days, this does not bother us not to have chairs and umbrellas at the beach. We had activities all day, so we did not spend the day at the beach near the hotel. However, if we had stayed longer we would have really liked to have chairs and umbrellas to relax by the sea all day. This is the only drawback that we noticed. The hotel provides beach towels fairly large, so you can lie on the beach a few hours without problem.

The weather was fantastik while we were there! A litlle bit of rain (twice during the week) but it lasts 10 minutes and it's over. This is not a problem at all. We did a tour with Calabaza Sailing to swim with the turtles: WOW! This in the best tour I have ever made! We also choose de 360 degrees island tour... but it was just OK. Don't do it. We were supposed to go to the caves, and flower forest and monkey's reserve, but the tour has been cancelled at the last minute so we switched to the 360 degrees but we were a litlle disappointed. You spend almost the whole day in the bus and the windows are not so high, so you don't see much of the things the driver is explaining... Stops in North Point and Sunbury Plantation were very interesting though.

If we go back to Barbados, maybe we will try the Hilton Hotel, which is well situated on Needham's Point, with a little «private» beach, with beach chairs and umbrellas. From there, you can go on Carlisle Bay Beach on the right and Accra Beach on the left, so it's interesting. But nothing is included at this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Missysabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at the Island Inn in February/March 2012, Accommodation is pretty basic, but clean & sufficient. I upgraded to a garden view room, which had the best outlook, pool side room are a bit cramped in front, and anyone sitting on the sun beds is virtually sitting on your veranda. Some people staying in basic rooms did complain about outlook & being very basic.
The location is another plus, wasn’t quite sure when we first arrived, as the location is very urban, lot different from other Caribbean locations we have stayed at. But much to do & see in the area, easy walk along beach (about 1 mile) into Bridgetown. A day at the Savaner race track is a must if your get the opportunity & within easy walking distance from Island Inn.
The main plus of the Island Inn is its size, intimacy & friendly staff.

Room Tip: Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stopped at the Island Inn Hotel many times before, but this is the first time since it was revamped. The improvements have not spoilt this fantastic little Barbados Treasure but improved it immensely. If you want a holiday where you feel at home, are treated like royaltyand don't want Hilton prices, Island Inn is for you. The staff are all friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is a beatiful colonial era building which has been modernised to an eye pleasing standard. The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished/decorated. The food is splendid. One hint, rather than moan if you dont like whats on the menu like some people do, see whats on offer in the morning and let them know as they will do something else for you. Remember, if you dont ask you dont get. Last but no means least, pebbles beach. Two minutes walk and the beach where the LOCALS choice to go, dont think I need to say more than that.

Room Tip: All rooms are 10/10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Comfortable,clean, well appointed rooms. Air conditioning excellent.Friendly and helpful staff.Food - good but not enough choice at dinner (one meat dish one fish dish and an unspecified vegetarian option).The bar served Mount Gay rum,Banks beer and Grouse whisky, and a good variety of well made cocktails. There are now three parasols to offer some protection from the midday sun. A few more would be welcome at the small pool (which was warm) and a few cushons for the sunbeds would be good. The complementary day pass for Mango Bay Hotel (including drinks, lunch and catamaran trip) was a bonus.The beach is very close by and there are sunbeds for hire for 20BBS(2 sunbeds and parasol) on Carlisle Bay. The walk behind the Hilton is worth taking along to the boardwalk at Hastings (we managed to see mongoose,green monkeys and a turtle laying eggs). Island Inn will be on my short list of hotels when we return to Barbados.

Room Tip: Courtyard or poolview are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Flyingscot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUGHBOROUGH
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our seventh visit to barbados but our first to the Island Inn, probably not the last as this is a real treasure. Tucked away on the edge of the historic Garrison District, it's advertised as 'not on the beach', but this is deceptive, as a left turn out of the front door leaves you 100 yards from one of Barbados' most beatiful beaches - Pebbles Beach. I have been further from the beach in several 'beach front' hotels! A charming feature is that racehorses from the nearby garrison Savannah racecourse are brought down to swim off this beach at dawn every day. The hotel itself has only 24 rooms, but masses of public areas, so that you feel almost as if you're at a private house party. The staff are genuinely friendly as you come to expect on Barbados, and while the menu is short, the food is invariably well-cooked and well presented.

Room Tip: Basic garden rooms are quieter than the courtyard rooms, poolside rooms can have other people sunbat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MadMacStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing