We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Barbados Resort
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
$375
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$173
$161
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$138
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Villas(Black Rock)(Great Value!)
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$180
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
$510
$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$168
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The SoCo Hotel(Hastings)
$515
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel PomMarine(Christ Church Parish)
Reviews (4,042)
Filter reviews
4,042 results
Traveler rating
1,818
1,433
505
168
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,818
1,433
505
168
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungelighthouse restaurantpool barbay viewkids clubtour deskhappy hourcareenage barthe grillbrown sugarneedham's pointprivate beachday passrented a carthe gapthe cliffcarlisle bay
Filter
Updating list...
3,580 - 3,585 of 4,042 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Stunning setting and view from just about anywhere in the hotel!

We stayed on the Executive floor as it meant the price included breakfast, afternoon tea and hors d'ouvres in the evening, plus unlimited alcholic and soft drinks, also in the evening. It isn't cheap to eat at the Hilton, so we found this a better deal for us. The food is great and room service isn't much dearer than the food onsite generally.

The staff bent over backwards and are so friendly. We had a problem with our toilet and it was sorted within 20 mins of reporting it! Everywhere is clean and fresh looking.

We hired jet skis from Barbados Blue (the watersports activity centre linked to the Hilton, located at the far end of the carpark) at a cost of US50 each for an hour - This was an amazing experience as neither of us had ever jet skied before!

We also booked the snorkelling turtle and ship wreck tour which lasts about 2-3 hours - well worth it! Those turtles are huge!

The sea in front of the lighthouse can get quite rough but it doesn't seem to stop anyone from swimming and boogy boarding! There are calmer waters in Carlisle Bay (the beach accessed from the hilton's carpark) where it is ideally suited to snorkelling and taking out a kayak. Deposits are required for watersports and equipment but we've never had an hassle getting them back. Plan carefully, though cause I think Barbados Blue shuts quite early about 4pm, i think.

Sunbeds are always readily available which is great and towels are also available free of charge, in a kiosk beside the pool.

It gets dark quite early, which seemed really strange! Think in August it was about 6pm and October even earlier about 5pm ish.

Taxis are dead easy to pick up at the airport for about £13/$25 one way. LIkewise, taxis are readily available outside the hilton.

Bizarrely, there are no front and back doors to the hilton and there are no windows in the frames in some of the walkways! This really adds to the Caribbean experience!

For anyone concerned about travelling to Barbados in the hurricane season, don't let it put you off! We thought long and hard about our honeymoon destination as we wanted it to be just perfect - and it was! There was rain on a few days (during August), but the very heavy downpours only seemed to last 10 minutes and five minutes later everything would be all dried out again! Also, advice from a local (who happens to be a relative of mine who has lived there for 15 years+) - Barbados hasn't been hit by devestating hurricanes like you hear about on other islands in the Caribbean, due to its protected and sheltered location. They did put out hurricane warnings on our last day, but all it brought was strong winds and a bit more rain for 24 hours.

If you go in August, check out the Crop Over Festival!

We had such a fabulous time, we returned 10 weeks later in October 2007 and have booked again for April 2008! We are hooked and can't recommend this hotel and destination enough!

I hope you have a wonderful experience too!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gemly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We spent one night at the Hilton Barbados, on our way back home from PSV. This was no PSV, but it was a very nice hotel that had everything we could have asked for. We stayed on one of the executive/club levels and had a view to the south. We had asked for the city/harbor view which I thought was slightly nicer, but this was we got to enjoy the beach view right at our fingertips. Besides, the club lounge faces north so we got to see both ways. The lounge was great, plenty of food at breakfast and great variety, we were completely satisfied. In the evening they had some snacks and soft drinks there, nice touch. We loved the beach, the sand was unbeleivably soft. There were decent waves that made swimming very enjoyable. There were several pools that seemd to occupy most of the kids, and the each was pretty quiet. The sunset was one of the coolest ones I have ever seen - the sky turned into this magical shade of purple. The hotel is in a good location, pretty close to downown although truthfully the downtown is a pit and not really worth seeing. We were easily the only tourists there at 9pm and there were exactly two restaurants open for dinner (next to each other). The hotel s on a site of a former British fortress with cannons facing the beach, adding to the overal feel. Overall, we loved the Hilton and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vlad_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I was 'forced' to go to Barbados for a business trip last July and decided to stay at the only place on the island where I could get points...the Hilton. It wasn't a mistake, as the Barbados Hilton had just about everything that I needed for a business trip...and more. Too bad I didn't have more time to explore the island, as I was tied up in business meetings in Bridgetown most of the time I was on the island. Don't bother renting a car...they drive on the 'wrong side of the road' and regular rental agencied (Hertz, Avis, Budget, etc) don't exist on the island. Taxis are plentiful and relatively inexpensive. While on my connection in Miami, I ran into an old friend from Omaha and he was also going to Barbados (talk about a small world). He was staying at the Crane Resort. He invited me to dinner one night and the Crane also looked like a wonderful place to stay, although further away from Bridgetown and considerably more pricey than the Hilton. For strictly a vacation, the Crane looks very inviting.

As for the Hilton, I arrived late on Monday evening and still found the staff 'awake', available and helpful. The common areas were spotless and the open air check-in and reception area was very unique. Not too often do you have the trade winds blowing on you while checking into a hotel. Although I didn't eat at any of the restaraunts, I did have cocktails at the lobby bar and the tiki bar on the beach. All wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. If I go back to Barbados, either for business or pleasure, I would definately stay at the Hilton again.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton in Barbados at the end of February and had a wonderful experience. We arrived around 2am Barbados time and the staff was friendly, helpful and quick to check us in. The front desk clerk also called in a fruit plate to be delivered to our room which arrived just as we got there. We were on an executive floor, which I really recommend. We had a great ocean view with a nice balcony. The room itself was a bit small, but comfortable. The shower was one of the best hotel showers I've ever used.

The food selections at the executive lounge were very redundant - not a lot of variety, but I was still glad that we had access to the lounge. We did eat breakfast there every morning except one (when we ate at the Lighthouse restaurant at the hotel, which had good food) but got tired of it pretty quickly.

All staff members were courteous and helpful. The help at the tour desk were not very eager, but still had some good information. We booked a golf outing at the Barbados Country Club / Golf Course (not the best) and a catamaran cruise with Tiami (just ok).

We had theraputic massages one morning. The "spa" at the hotel is pretty limited. The treatment rooms and spa area itself are quite small but our therapists did a good job.

The hotel has a large book of information on area restaurants for guests to page through in the lobby. There is a lot of good information including menus, location, etc. on a wide variety of restaurants on the island. We particularly enjoyed the Waterfront Cafe, Pisces, Aqua and the Careenage Grille (the hotel's restaurant). Each of these places had excellent food and service. There are a lot of great dining options on the island.

Cabs are easy to get and are mostly inexpensive. Prior to our trip, we had talked about renting a vehicle, but we are both glad that we decided not to.

The pools and beach area were great - clean, well-kept and attended, lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas, etc. The only negative point here would be the slow service at the poolside bar/snack area.

Overall, we had a fabulous stay at the Hilton in Barbados and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank april84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We recently had the pleasure of staying( from February 25 through March 2, 2008)............we would definately stay there should we return to the island. The hotel location made it easy to reach outside restaurants and tourist sights. So many times we were offered assistance when driving around..even if we didn't ask for it. The people of Barbados are the friendliest of the island peole.

The hotel was not showy or fancy by architecture standards ....seemed more like a business hotel but don't let that fool you. The service was super, rooms were clean.....we checked out a couple of neighboring hotels and realized we had a much nicer facility for the posted charges. We really enjoyed the grand seafood buffet on Saturday night. The concierge in the club room was super about recommending places to eat. Be sure to go to the Fish Fry on Friday night that is attended by locals as well as tourists.....it was great grilled fish. Served on styro foam while music played and people wandered through the craft booths. We were delighted with kingfish by the way.

The beach has it's own little alcove...always plenty of chairs. Pools were never crowded.


Carol from Texas

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank CarolTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews