We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place!”
Review of The Boatyard

The Boatyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Barbados Half-Day Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Boatyard offers unbeatable beach facilities enhanced only by the natural white sandy beach and calm azure water. Upon entering The Boatyard, a beach package is offered which ensures you a day filled with fun and pleasure in paradise. Come and enjoy our many amenities which include:- lounge chair, shared umbrella (while stocks last), Ocean Trampoline, Iceberg Climb and Slide, dive platform, rope swing (ask for scheduled times), fresh water showers, restrooms, pool table, WiFi, beach-side restaurant, bar and lively music. Be sure to ask about our turtle and snorkel tour available on select days throughout the year. *Please note that ID may be required for entry*
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stopped in Barbados on a cruise--for $12 got a free drink, lounge chair, umbrella, and free transportation back to the ship. Additionally, arranged a snorkel expedition with a local vendor (safe) for $20 to see the turtles. Perfect place to relax and play--beautiful beach, water trampoline, climbing wall and rope swing!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    248
    39
    20
    49
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seascape”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a day here during a port stop on a cruise. It is a favorite spot of ours. Only a few minutes ride from the port. The $12 entrance fee gave us a loungechair, umbrella, drink and taxi fare back to the ship. We always purchase the flying fish sandwich for lunch to taste the real Bajan flavor. The beach is just perfect for sunning and swimming. The entire area is clean and people very helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not for the Feint Hearted!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Met two friends at the Boaryard who were in for the day on a cruise ship. We had been there about 20 years ago when it was smaller and quieter! It was packed on the day we were there, mostly passengers from the cruise ships. The Boatyard to an inclusive price for transport from the port, entry with a free drink, and transport back.
There are sunbeds covering a wide area, but not many umbrellas, so we had to sit on hard seats to get some shade. The place was heaving with mostly young people, there were free drinks at the bar for about 10 minutes. You had to go up to the bar, the barmaids, standing on the bar, poured drinks down your throat. Our friend went up to try it, he said it tasted dreadful, he also got it poured down his front, as did most people! It was very noisy and the food was very average. Not the sort of place I would normally visit. There is a much quieter option about 2 minutes walk down the road, better food as well, called Lobster Alive, they have similar, cleaner facilities and staff with a better attitude!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better served walking a few yards across the beach”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friends and I planned on going here to have a relaxing beach day. We showed up with our food already in hand because we were under the impression that we only had to pay for the beach chairs and umbrella. On entering the location, I drifted towards a sign board which showed what was on offer and the price. Before I could read two words, a man and a woman rather brusquely shouted and told us to come over to them. We walked over and were told that the fee was different to what was on the board. They said the board was for cruise ship passengers only. This made no sense to me because having gone on several cruises before I know that most times cruise ship passengers are taken to the venues directly from the ship and in most cases would have prepaid so why on earth would the price advertised at the venue be the cruise ship price???? the rude man and woman proceeded to tell us that there was a standard fee that included food and drink. Since we already had our food it made no sense for us to stay so we left. We walked over to the section of the beach opposite Lobster alive and had the best service from the vendor there who was responsible for renting the chairs and umbrellas. we didnt get his name but he really blew us away with his overall attitude - his tips on staying safe on the beach and we were happy that our rental of the chairs allowed us to get half price off drinks at the bar. Leave out going to boatyard! There is far superior service 2 minutes walk away!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place but a couple of the staff rude!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good food and drink .great value. But unforchanately the bar staff ruin it by the miserable attitude for a party day out they certainly spoilt a part of it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard also viewed

Saint Michael Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to The Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing