We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boatyard is well worth it”
Review of The Boatyard

The Boatyard
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Barbados Half-Day Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Boatyard offers unbeatable beach facilities enhanced only by the natural white sandy beach and calm azure water. Upon entering The Boatyard, a beach package is offered which ensures you a day filled with fun and pleasure in paradise. Come and enjoy our many amenities which include:- lounge chair, shared umbrella (while stocks last), Ocean Trampoline, Iceberg Climb and Slide, dive platform, rope swing (ask for scheduled times), fresh water showers, restrooms, pool table, WiFi, beach-side restaurant, bar and lively music. Be sure to ask about our turtle and snorkel tour available on select days throughout the year. *Please note that ID may be required for entry*
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Boatyard is well worth it”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We found out about this from a man who sat next to us on the plane, said if we were going to Barbados to not miss out on The Boatyard. Sure enough all the taxi drivers said the same thing. We were on a cruise and got into a Taxi, they pack them full and by full, it's FULL. It cost $5 per person to get there, the beach charges $12 to get in, but part of the cost includes the return trip as well as a free drink and beach chairs and umbrella. The sand is a beautiful white and super soft, it's very clean, the water was gorgeous. They have a trampoline and a king of the mountain floating island thing, and a rope swing off the pier, which was a lot of fun. It was hands down the best beach we went to on our 7 day cruise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mattk_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    248
    39
    20
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“If the crew come here, it must be good!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

On our recent cruise we ended up in Barbados and were excited to go to a beach front property known as The Boatyard. We had been informed of this place by a friend who had gone there last year and also told us that it was where the crew went. How could we not go?

The Boatyard is very near the pier. The taxi only cost us around $3 each to get there. We arrived early and had our choice of where to sit on the beach. We were advised to stay away from the pier area as that is where all the business end of the beach takes place ( jet skis etc ). We all paid $12 for the beach package which includes chairs and an umbrella, a free rum punch and a taxi back to the ship. The beach was the nicest we had experienced throughout our vacation. The sand is powdery white and the water is that special colour of blue we all look for.

So what else made this place special. Two things. The first was the ammenities it offered. There is a trampoline out a little ways. You must be able to swim to get to it and it is in deeper water. There is also a rope swing located out on the pier. What a great time we had swinging off of it. The first time I was a little nervous but the guy there who advises you really makes it seem easy. It is a must try when you get there. The free wifi was also a huge selling point.

The second thing we all appreciated was how this business was managed. The guy we bought the package off of was extremely friendly but also was a no nonsense type of guy. The place just had a fun party atmosphere and that's all you saw for the most part. What most didn't see was how the manager didn't put up with locals hassling his patrons. There were locals trying to get you to buy their trinkets or to go on their jet skis. He quickly moved them on. I also noticed him come running down the pier when he saw some unsafe things taking place near the rope swing. The staff was just so professional and it was nice to see after some of the places we have gone to. Your happiness and safety seemed paramount here.

Highly, highly recommended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbert63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spend all day on the beach!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It has a great restaurant, great facilities, safe for children and at night turns into a great night club, with live bands! Try their Bajan fish finger and chips! Amazing! After clubbing you can buy a hotdog with everything on it! There will be a queue but it's worth the wait!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Missunderstood67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“THE place to party”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just a great place for an evening out. Great location, classy place, good service and somewhere that I would happily visit again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't pass up The Boatyard when in Barbados!!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whether your staying in Barbados or on a cruise. Make sure you stop at The Boatyard! If your on a cruise don't do it as an attraction "you will get ripped off" the ship charges way too much. Just get off the ship and take a cab over to The Boatyard. Or if your staying on the island make sure to spend a few days visiting this place! It has a low entrance fee. It's safe fun and has great food and drinks also very clean!!!! The staff is friendly and fun... Go to their website www.theboatyard.com and you can see some pics. Love this place and staff!!! Thank you Boatyard and Barbados for a great time!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank emb1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Michael Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to The Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing