We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour with friendly staff!”

Mount Gay Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Mount Gay Signature Rum Tour with Lunch
Ranked #4 of 89 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against the brilliant blue of the Caribbean sea and sky, our Visitor Centre invites guests from around the world to discover the story behind Barbados' finest spirit. Greeted in our lush green garden, visitors will explore the history, heritage and craft of Mount Gay rums, while special tours treat you to a cocktail mixing session or a traditional Bajan lunch. Come learn of the distillation, ageing and blending techniques that have been perfected over 310 years of crafting the world's oldest rum! Mount Gay Rum: There is a Time and a Place.
Berwick, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tour with friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great way to see a rum factory. Great drinks at the bar, intro film, beautiful building interiors, first class place. We went first thing in the morning which was nice - therefore private tour. Very friendly staff. Great prices on Mount Gay rum in gift store. Great way to spend 1 - 1.5 hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    362
    133
    40
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not for the teetotal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you can get there try the Mount Gay Lunch Tour. You will be greeted with a Rum Punch and the theme continues. After perusing the gift shop you are then taken on a guided tour which includes a short film show on the making of Mount Gay Rum. Then the interesting bit, tasting the Rums made there. The measures are generous for the 3 you get to taste and you certainly get a feel for the various different rums. Then onto the bottling plant, where you see a lot of bottles, unfortunately it was not working when I visited. Next you are taken to lunch which as usual in Barbados is varied and has something for most people. Unfortunately you are given another Rum Punch with the meal, which not wishing to be rude you drink.
Another visit to the gift shop and it is time to leave.
I would suggest you do this as part of an organised tour as you may not want to drive afterwards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dont waste your time. If you are in that area anyway it is kind of cool to do a tasting, but I wouldnt plan a day around this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Only go if you like drinking Rum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lets be honest, if you do not like Rum then this tour would be an almost complete waste of Money. Well I do like Rum and thus it actually turns out to be good value. Fine lines if you know what I mean. All the staff there have personality and charm and the place itself has vibrancy and a good time feel about it. The tour and introductory video are, quite frankly, turgid and ordinary. But the tasting of three Rums, a free comp shot at the end and the quick look at the bottling plant itself are worth the entrance fee. Maybe. Just. I guess what pushed this up to a four star was the decent value bar and chatty funny staff. It really is worth staying for a couple of drinks after. Cannot comment on the food. Oh and we try to go everywhere under our own steam but the walk from inner Bridgetown is a bit Rum. Taxi or bus should be taken.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Perivalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fun tour and rum sampling!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

very nice place, the guide was very fun and knowledgeable of the history and all the rums they offer. The sampling at the end is a must. Very good facilities. A small store carries the rums of course plus a couple of other things.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank psegarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Gay Visitor Centre also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Mount Gay Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing