We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Dive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stavronikita

Stavronikita
Book In Advance
$119.99*
and up
2-Tank Shipwreck Dive in Barbados
Ranked #11 of 85 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the expert deep-sea diver, a 360-foot freighter ship sitting in 130 feet of water and populated by all kinds of tropical marine life.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Dived the Stav with Eco Dive. Conditions on the day were not the best, with reduced visibility and a slightly choppy surface but it was still a great dive nonetheless. Lots of wildlife, but apart from a turtle in the distance, nothing spectacular.

I'll definitely be going back again, and almost certainly with Eco Dive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cecrhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stavronikita Wreck Dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Excellent wreck dive and great visibility (even at 100 feet). You might be lucky to run into some beautiful turtles and rays in and/or around the wreck!! There is usually a resident barracuda prowling around as well!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DTLadouceur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“As big as they get in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I dove the "Stav" with the guys Barbados Blue Dive Shop. This 365' long Greek freighter sits on the bottom at about 125', but the mast is only about 20' under the surface. We dove along the starboard side of the ship, entered at about 75' and proceeded down to the stern where we exited near the prop, then proceeded back to the bow along the port side outside the ship. The DM said that the decks are rusting pretty bad now that the ship has been sunk for 35 years and that penetrating other parts of the hull are dangerous. Barbados Blue did a great job of touring us thru and around the ship, while keeping us safe. Even though we hit a max depth of about 120', we were still able to make this dive last 45 minutes on air. If you enjoy diving big wrecks, don't mis the "Stav". If you want to dive bigger wrecks, try the USS Spiegel Grove (510') in Key Largo Florida or the USS Vandenberg (522') in Key West Florida. Both of these mammoth wrecks are only an hours drive apart so do them both next time you are in the Keys.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuba-Duner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Diving the Sravonika”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

With West Side Scuba a good dive on a wreck that is still in one piece. A 40 minutes dive at about 26mts plus a decompression stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went down with West side Scuba and they brought us at the Stavronikita on the second day. Although we are just qualified and not suppose to go to 40meters, we stayed below 30 meters and it was still amazing.
The vis was great and the ship itself is huge and impressive, its inclinaison is perfect to watch from above and explore as you go deeper. The sea life is great with lots of differents fishes all over the place. The best dive I've done so far

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank _Nicolaii_N_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stavronikita also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Stavronikita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing