We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time”

Barbados Museum & Historical Society
Ranked #16 of 89 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An engaging glimpse into the history of Barbados.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited this museum after the George Washington House and sorry to say wish we hadn't.

It was like a museum from yesteryear, really boring, dated and faded. Particularly the beginning bit which was about the flora and fauna of the island.

It was not modern or interactive, it was a read the literature on the wall sort of a place.

There were rooms decorated as if they were in old plantation houses which was interesting, but you couldn't go into them, all you could do was look through the window at them, it was really dark in there and I didn't have my glasses so I couldn't see much.

We went to Sunbury Plantation House and the rooms in this House were set out like those at the Museum but you could walk round them and felt like you had gone back in time.

Wouldn't recommend at all, sorry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EMVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    97
    41
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
405 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Treasure of Information”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We walked to the museum and thought we would spend an hour. We were there almost 3 hours. The history of Barbados is fascinating, did you know families left Barbados and had permission from the King of England to settle in South Carolina? The Gullah language of the people living on the islands around S. Carolina is related to the creole language of Barbados.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marynaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Great portrayal of Barbados history"”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This museum is housed in an old prison which adds to the wonderful experience. This museum depicts the history of Barbados. If you are on vacation in Barbados make this museum as apart of your sight seeing experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheril N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was a pleasant walk around the Garrison area from our hotel.
The museum is housed in an old prison so lovely historic setting. I was a little disappointed by the first exhibits about flora, fauna and marine life, they were a little dated but subsequent rooms were interesting and engaging, especially the children's area.
We did not meet the resident monkeys despite warnings from the lady in the ticket office!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinasuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great collection of Barbadian Historical Facts”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The exhibits are excellent! You really feel as if you are transported back in time - especially the plantocracy era. I have visited many times with my daughter. If you only plan on visiting a few local sites, be sure to make the Museum and Garrison Area one of them.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bajan_Mum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbados Museum & Historical Society also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 

Been to Barbados Museum & Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing