We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new tour on Barbados”
Review of Barbados Garrison

Barbados Garrison
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Highlights of Barbados Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 89 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former 17th century British military base, now open to the public.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Nice new tour on Barbados”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this tour for our Emerald Princess Cruise the first week of February. The tour started at the George Washington House and this is where we met Peter and James. This is a UNESCO site and is in the process of being developed as a tour and restoration of several places we visited is ongoing. James gave us a brief introduction and then Peter came on the screen live from the tunnels under the island and the garrison. We had a time for Q & A - very interesting and different! From there Peter took us through the house where George Washington stayed for about 6 weeks when he was 19 years old. He came with his brother Lawrence who was suffering from Tuberculosis and looking for a cure. The house has a wonderful Caribbean interior and floor plan and is being beautifully restored. There is also the usual kitchen that is separate from the house itself. The house was originally one story and now has an upstairs which is a great little museum. From there we went to 2 forts and toured around the beach and through the interior and exteriors. St. Anne's Fort was built to complement Charlesfort. The final visit was to an underground armory of sorts that holds historical cannons. Barbados has a trove of historical cannons and most were documented and recorded while traveling to the forts. Here Peter explained to us the connection between Oliver Cromwell, Barbados and George Washington - and the providence that was bestowed upon the American Colonies when they seceded from Great Britain. We were not able to experience The Changing of the Guards so we visited the cemetery instead. We enjoyed beautiful sights at an old Fort where the Hilton Hotel is now located and where the sea turtles breed and are hatched. This tour was informative and the guides made it interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
565 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Interesting and cultural morning at the historic Garrison tour”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wonderful interesting tour of the garrison including the george washington house. This historic tour is unesco world heritage site. The tours take place every friday starting at the george washington house and the former british garrison area. Peter who is a historian and james conduct the tour. The tour starts with a film of the young george washington who went to barbados with his brother who had tuberculosis and we visit the house which has been restored to its original state. Visit the kitchen and see it as it had been at that epoque. Also prior to this we see peter down in the garrison tunnels which apparently from summer 2013 you will be able to go down into the tunnels which is formed like a spiders web! We also visit 2 forts at the garrison area, one showing the original fort overlooking caryle bay which thwarted off many including the dutch. This is also the area where the turtles breed. at St.annes fort it shows the 17th century canons and you also have a speech made by a former british military major who is now in his 80s. We also get a rum punch at these premises. Then off to see the changing of the sentry,which is the bajan equivalent if 'changing the guards'. A very enjoyable tour,but book in advance with peter 2331648 or james 2332601. I went independly but most of the tourists are from either hotels or from cruise ships

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“walking around”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

is nice track people walk and excise running. people fly kite people relax races keep indenpent day at the garrison

Helpful?
Thank verna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“culture”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

visit on a friday at 11:30 to see the changing of the guard and then head to GW house behind it for a tour

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great day out!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Barbados and did the historic garrison tour. We booked this through our hotel and the fee (around £30 stirling - included transport and refreshments) was very reasonable.

Being in to history and having read a lot about the island we were keen to find out more. It started with a film, followed by a talk about the tunnels. We then visited George Washington house, Charles Fort, St Ann's fort, the amouries and watched the sentry change.

Personally I would have liked more time in each place as a lot was packed in to the time allocated but overall the tour was pitched very well for for a general audience. The tour ended at the museum shop - maybe the museum could be part of the tour. However, the whole thing was organised very well.

Peter (I believe was one of the organisers) was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic, as were all the other people involved.

Excellent - A great day out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Trina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbados Garrison also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Garrison, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Barbados Garrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing