We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful greeting”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Windows on the Sound at The Fairmont Southampton
Reserve with OpenTable
Windows on the Sound at The Fairmont Southampton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Offshore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awful greeting”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hey the breakfast was OK - the buffet a little cold but table service good and worth 4 stars.

So why 1 star - on arrival the very impersonal greeter....said little when we asked for a table for two (they had loads of room inside so why the 5 minute wait) but she told us to 'STEP ASIDE' in a very commanding voice (there was no one else waiting, so no blockage of footfall by us!)

Have you EVER been told to STEP ASIDE (in a very unfriendly way) while entering a restaurant to give them business. Its the sort of thing the police would say to anyone causing trouble.

I have probably travelled 20/30 countries around the world and never, ever, been told to STEP ASIDE!

We live locally and often frequent the FS facilities but I was just an inch away from giving the lady a piece of my mind and walking out! Get real FS - last Sunday, mid morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinehall70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Windows on the Sound at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your recent experience. I want to sincerely apologize for the poor service and greeting you received upon arrival. I'd like to discuss your situation directly, so if you could please email me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com it would be greatly appreciated. I have escalated your concerns to the Management, who are looking into this situation. Again, I reiterate my apologies for the poor-quality service you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
487 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Holiday decorations are amazing! My husband had eaten here alone the day before & the staff remembered his name! They do use a table card with your surname & room #, so you are addressed politely with each staff member. The buffet is large as others have commented. My biggest problem is that I don't eat near enough to pay for $31.00 for breakfast... Today being Christmas, the brunch buffet is $60.00 per person. I'm sure it will be amazing, but I don't want to overeat & fly this afternoon...It would be nice if there would be a lower priced option for those of us that eat smaller portions. I ordered a la carte with a shrimp omlette. I was disappointed... The eggs tasted more like from a carton rather than fresh eggs. The onions were raw, not sauteed before being added to the omlette. The shrimp appeared to be prawns, & there were few pieces... The juice of the day was delicious! It had carrot, grapefruit & pineapple I believe. They did have gluten free toast, so that was a treat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level Contributor
537 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Buffet to Die For!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The Sunday Bermudian Breakfast Buffet at Windows was nothing short of Fabulous!!! It had everything, but what we really enjoyed was the authentic Bermudian dishes, like cassava cake, banana fritters, cod, the Bermudian style Mac & Cheese, etc. The service was outstanding, and the food was delicious! If you're in Bermuda on a Sunday, you should really consider their Sunday Breakfast Buffet. I'd highly recommend it!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a casually elegant facility with outstanding food. They accommodate special dietary considerations in a delicious fashion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another Buffet”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only went for Sunday Buffet. Alot of food, but all the same fresh made omlettes and waffles,scramble eggs, bacon, sausage, pancaks and fresh fruit and deserts abound. The meat choices were well done "prime rib", cooked ham, curried chicken and caribbean dishes. What happen to the English breakfast. Salmon, kippers etc, scones and tea to be incorporated with the rest of the food at the buffet? NIce restuarant - very large and well kept. But the English breakfast is no more. Sunday Buffet is $35.00 and morning breakfast buffet is $31.00. Well worth if you can eat this much every day on your vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Sound at The Fairmont Southampton also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Windows on the Sound at The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing