We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Missing a Cool Vibe”

The Newport, a Gastropub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Newport, a Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Let your hair down, take off your jacket and tie and get ready to experience The Newport, a Gastropub. Take an imaginative, innovative culinary adventure featuring modern and creative cuisine inspired by classics. Our warm and cozy pub like atmosphere lends itself to watching major sporting events, while enjoying friendly service, great food and a creative line-up of handcrafted draft beers and fine wines. Start off with our charcuterie station and fresh raw bar and then explore our original menu that draws upon locally sourced products and modern versions of classic dishes served with a fun twist!
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but Missing a Cool Vibe”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont and at at the Newport our first night. We arrived on a ale flight and were happy to eat at around 10 pm so I cannot be too critical, but when I think of a gastropub I thin a cool beer pub with great food and a happining crowd. It was very quiet and more like a a sophisticated old seafood restaurant that offers many beers. The food was fine, but I wouldn't go back unless it was stepped up a notch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaming_of_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    84
    47
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Martini & Oysters”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Bermuda many times and thanks to Kim Webb had the wonderful experience of dining at the Gastropub.
Food great, atmosphere perfect, knowledgable and friendly staff. The fresh oysters were very tasty and the bread pudding topped off the night!
I will be back...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best restaurant at the Fairmont”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a difference from the other restaurants in the property, it saved our vacation.
Good choice of beers.
The tiger prawns are the best in my life.
The entrees are good sized, creative and well prepared. Mahi mani and Salmon were our preferred choices .

Good service, professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ugogio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent beer!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've passed this place almost the entire 2 weeks we've stayed at the hotel and never even crossed our mind to check it out. I was excellent. The pork chop was so tender and delicious. Kids enjoyed their chicken as well

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jc2ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not a pub at all but a darn good burger”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It's not a pub so the motto is misleading "gastro pub", and the prices are on the high side ( like $4 an oyster or large shrimp) but having said that the Wagyu beef burger with bacon and sunny side up egg was delicious, albeit at $22 the most expensive burger I've eaten. Yet I liked it enough to have another the next day so - darn good burger! 2 days of this burger is quite decadent from a cholesterol perspective more so the $.

Bread butter pudding was also good. My wife chomped down her mango lobster salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamByrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newport, a Gastropub also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to The Newport, a Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing