We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck. Another hotel place”

The Newport, a Gastropub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Newport, a Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Let your hair down, take off your jacket and tie and get ready to experience The Newport, a Gastropub. Take an imaginative, innovative culinary adventure featuring modern and creative cuisine inspired by classics. Our warm and cozy pub like atmosphere lends itself to watching major sporting events, while enjoying friendly service, great food and a creative line-up of handcrafted draft beers and fine wines. Start off with our charcuterie station and fresh raw bar and then explore our original menu that draws upon locally sourced products and modern versions of classic dishes served with a fun twist!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yuck. Another hotel place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We thought it was so funny. That the menu said snow crab claws $5. Each claw was $5. Lol. One suggestion. Fix the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpAndtheSpunkyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    84
    47
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

After eating at some swanky, overpriced restaurants, it was nice to experience something on-site as we were staying at the Fairmont. Upon entering the establishment, you immediately feel the vibe of a comfortable and friendly setting. The lighting in this place is great - as it is not too bright. We were immediately seated by a nice waitress (i think she was from Poland) and she made some great drink and food selections. The food was great (they actually had poutine on the menu and as a Canadian I was quite happy with my order). I enjoyed being able to catch some soccer hilights on the many televisions in the pub and did not find them distracting in the least. It is a PUB, so there SHOULD be televisions on site. Great food, great value, and amazing televisions. I will be back to watch the next match!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Brightside27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Less Gastropub, more yacht club bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Newport while staying at the hotel as it is one of the few dining options within the resort. The term Gastropub is quite misleading to British tourists used to such establishments but clearly appeals to the Americans who filled this place when we were there. The food was good, but nothing amazing. The menu doesn't describe many of the options which is confusing as many of the options mean different things in the UK & US. The service was exceptionally slow even considering there were only a handful of tables seated. We waited over 15 minutes for a plate of cheese (one of the starters) and then waited almost 10 more minutes for our second starter to arrive. The theme of the room is definitely a Newport yacht theme but with several large flat screens showing a variety of sports on mute, but they are all in the ceiling so it is hard to actually see them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A New Option on South Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've been waiting to try The "new" Newport since they opened. I've followed postings on facebook about the specialty menus they come up with high interest.
The decor does seem a little dated but don't pass judgement based on the looks. Our server was helpful and able to make great recommendations. I decided to try a pub style surf and turf with mini wagyu beef burgers and some "really big prawns" (yes that's how they are labelled on the menu). The burgers were presented on a unique slate serving plate that we found to be very clever. The shrimp were indeed "really big" and fresh.
Our party of 3 made sure to leave room for dessert featuring the bread and butter pudding, lemon pudding, and apple strudel. There were thumbs up and smiles around the table at first nibble.
Make sure you try at least one item from the "undo your trousers" dessert menu. You will be impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant minus televisions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The Newport has a really beautiful interior but they have ruined it by hanging televisions and playing the music too loud. We enjoyed our food nonetheless which was fresh and well prepared and we had a great waitress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newport, a Gastropub also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to The Newport, a Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing