We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southampton location a refuge from Fairmont wallet busters”
Review of Wok Express

Wok Express
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: 2 locations 441 238 8888 www.wokexpress.bm
Restaurant details
Description: 2 locations 441 238 8888 www.wokexpress.bm
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Southampton location a refuge from Fairmont wallet busters”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This take-out was hit for my family while we stayed at the Fairmont Southampton during the post Christmas break. No knock on the hotel restaurants since we dined plenty there and they served excellent food. But the general high cost of dining was wearing us out after a few days. For us (asian family), the value at Wok Express was not so much with their asian dishes since we found them to be not bad but just passable (don't order the kong pau chicken). Rather, we liked their delicious and generous panini and bagette sandwiches. Try the fried fish bagette and chicken chedder panini. They were relatively inexpensive and we took them down to the beach and had a wonderful picnic.

It is just up the hill from the Fairmont dock--about a 5 minute walk on Middle Road. It looks like you are walking into a residential area but you'll soon smell Chinese food and the restaurant will appear on your right side. As other posters have noted, this is not a sit down restaurant. But there is a small patio with a few tables across from the order window should you want to linger and order more food.

You can check out their menu here: http://www.wokexpress.bm/

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank atsy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Looking for delicious takeout? Look no further.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wok Express is seriously some of the best takeout I've experienced - and that's coming from someone who lived in NYC - the takeout capital! Wok Express is only for takeout or extremely casual outdoor seating - there is no formal outdoor space, just a few benches.
Their menu is so diverse: from sushi (dozens of special rolls to chose from? check!) to Mexican (pulled chicken quesadillas? check!) to sandwiches (baguettes? check! paninis? check!) to Indian (delicious curries? check!) - and the list goes on and on. They also have Chinese, salads, burgers, a multitude of appetizers and shareables, smoothies, shakes, etc.
You would think that it would be hard to master such a variety of cuisines, but they've done it masterfully! We always order 1 or 2 special rolls which never fail to impress, and have tried almost all of their "categories" and everything is just delicious!
While the prices may appear high to some visitors, they are average for Bermuda.
Wok Express is not a fallback option for me - it's something I look forward to!
Now the only thing that would make the experience even better? A frequent customer card :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great take out”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I can't comment on the ambiance of the physical restaurant or yhe service. We called in an order and one of the people I was traveling with went and picked up. However,the restaurant is very close to the Fairmount Southampton so its a great option for fast food if you are staying there. The food was averaged priced for Bermuda and very good. The servings were a bit small for Chinese food but overall I was satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank God for the WOK Express”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When you spend a week in Bermuda it is nice to have an option for a no fuss meal at a reasonable price. Most other dining excursions in Bermuda result in $50 plus at lunch and much more for dinner. At first, we were a little reluctant to try the sushi but our adverturist outlook paid off handsomely. Their sushi was excellent and certainly as good or better than any we can get in Richmond VA. How about a hamburger with French Fries for $5. That may not sound so good for those that frequent McDonalds but consider that most other menus in Bermuda sell hamburgers for $15 and up. The Beef Chow Mein was out of this world. We joked that we did not come to bermuda expecting to order from a place like this but it was nice to have this option for low key dining. The Wok is located near the Southampton Princess so it was very easy to pop in and order from their extensive menu. No inside dining. We typically picked it up and brought it back to our cottage to eat on the terrace overlooking the water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced take away Chinese restaurant in Southampton Parish!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

If you're staying at the Fairmont Southampton (FSH) you maybe are already aware of the high prices for restaurant food at this hotel. This is the closest restaurant other than the pricey, but reputable Waterlot Restaurant.

There are a few things you should know about going to walk express:
1. Despite other user reviews on trip advisor they do not do delivery.
2. You need to walk from the trolley stop up to the restaurant (Take a right at where the trolley stops at the Waterlot/Middle Road bus stop). The walk on the sidewalk is not extremely safe so you need to take precaution when walking up there (There are short sections without sidewalk but we found it manageable). It'll take you between 5 and 10 minutes to get there. It's on the right side of the road you just have to watch for it. It's not a big place.
3. There is no dining service. There is only outdoor patio dining for about three tables.
3. The restaurant menu is available online. You should preorder before you going to pick up your food.
4. Request concierge at FSH to connect you through to the restaurant. I'm not sure if this will add the charge to your room but local calls are chargeable by the hotel.

The food. My wife ordered the falafel burger and the fried vegetable rice. I ordered a Diet Coke and a beef with broccoli stirfry with fried rice. It was both tasty and filling and just right for the price at $40. This may not sound like a deal at first but once you've been here for a few days youll realize that it is quite a reasonable price.

You know what, I'm here to enjoy Bermuda and the sites and shopping, but every night doesn't need to be a five-star restaurant or the prices of one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandAficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok Express also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Wok Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing