We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation Experience”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at the Reefs Resort. This was the first trip we took without our daughter and we picked the perfect place. There was a nice mix of couples young and old and some families as well - a perfect blend of vacationers. The staff were all very professional and accomodating - from the front office, bellhop, beach, restaurant and housekeeping staffs. The grounds and rooms were very clean and the staff referred to you as a name, not a room number - a real nice bonus that I appreciated. The #7 bus stopped right in front of the hotel and we used it to get to the Dockyard and Hamilton-very convenient. The infinity pool was beautiful but a bit small to really swim in - more for cooling off and enjoying the view. We were able to snorkel right from the beach and used the hotels complimentary equipment. You can also use complimentary kyacks that the hotel provides but we never did. Because the hotel is built into a cliff you have remarkable views. However, there are a lot of steps to the the beach and Coconuts-defn. not the place for someone with bad knees or hips but perfect if you want to work off your dinner at Coconuts! We ate onsite all but one night and have very good meals. We ate at Pompano one night and felt that The Reefs was a bit superior. The only reason I didn't give my review an 'excellent' is because I thought the bathroom in the room was a bit outdated and at times the restaurant service was a bit slow. But certainly nothing that would force me to complain to management about. Furthermore, if anyone is worried about the construction noise there was none. They are currently excavating in order to addon to the property but construction has not begun yet. I was informed by management prior to my arrival that they will be posting information on their website when construction begins.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cathycomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2007

We had a absolutely fabulous time at The Reefs in August, 2007. We have been to Bermuda over 50 times, but this was our first stay at The Reefs. The staff was great, the food very good, the room had a gorgeous view, the beach and the pool were wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PhilipWeston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Great getaway from New York. Staff was excellent and helpful room was beautiful with amazing view of ocean, food outstanding, beach and facilities great. Really - we've been a lot of places and this was a great 5 day trip. MAP program worked well - and food at Reefs was better than Pompano.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rubifuNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just returned from a 6-night stay at The Reefs (our 4th visit). I have to say, we were a bit disappointed. The overall ambience of The Reefs has changed. For one thing, too may children and parents who choose to disregard dining room rules set forth by The Reefs. Also, each night from 5:00 to 7:00 is designated as "adult swim" time at the pool. Just about every night, there were kids swimming between the hours of 5:00 & 7:00. On our last night, we were looking forward to a quiet, romantic dinner at Grill 56, however, there was a small baby crying. No one from the dining room staff would address the parents and offered no consolation to the patrons who were complaining.

As for the food, the variety, quality and quantity was definitely not what it used to be. After a few nights, we were tired of eating the same food. We also noticed the staff to be quite a bit younger than in the past....and somewhat disinterested. We had to ask for bread and on several occasions, we waited at least 30 minutes for dessert.

Our room did have new furniture and a nice flat screen TV, however, the bathroom was a bit old and in need of upgrading. Daily maid service was minimal at best. Our bed was made each day and we received fresh towels...that was it! No dusting or vacuuming or straightening up of any kind.

One thing that hasn't changed is the beautiful beach....and the staff at the beach was always friendly and helpful.

Not sure we'll return to The Reefs.

Stayed: July 2007
13  Thank NJTravelGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Can't think of one bad thing to say about The Reefs. We just returned from our honeymoon - 8 fantastic nights at the Reefs. The staff, food, service, location, beach are all fanitastic. I'm normally ready to come home after a few weeks away from home (had been away somewhere else the two previous weeks), but really did not want to leave The Reefs. We will definately be going back as much as we can!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freq_flyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at The Reefs, our fifth visit to the property. While this is one of the best small hotels in Bermuda as far as location and service, it does not compare with five-star accommodations in the US, Caribbean or other vacation destinations. Anyone expecting a Ritz-Carlton, Peninsula or Four Seasons experience will be sorely disappointed. However, if you like the more casual and less pretentious charm of Bermuda, The Reefs is an excellent choice.

Front Desk: we've found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful but not always overly competent. They seem to be younger and more inexperienced every year we go. Expect a wait for your room when you check in - guest check-out time is noon, check-in time is 3PM and most flights arrive on the island between 11AM and 1PM. Bring your beachwear and expect to spend a couple of hours on the beach before your room is ready.

Rooms: we stay in Premier accommodations (second floor of the two-story accommodations) and the rooms range from average-small to small. Our room this year, Oleander #345, was one of the smallest we've stayed in. The Reefs has overhauled their tired furniture and now boasts dark wood furniture, simple contemporary bed linens and flatscreen TVs in all rooms. We've never had an updated bathroom at any of our rooms, though some of the rooms allegedly have changed the current tile to marble.

Dining: all three restaurants require reservations, though guests are always guaranteed a seating at the indoor dining room Grill 56. Make your dinner reservations at least two weeks before you arrive or you'll regret it. Grill 56 and Coconuts have the more sophisticated menus, with Ocean Echo a more straightforward grilled fish/meats menu. Coconuts is open for lunch and there is a bar above the beach for drinks throughout the day. Beach drinks service can be painfully slow, though it's the fault of the single overworked bartender, not the wonderfully attentive beach staff. Overall, food service is slow and not always professional (multiple attempts to get wait staff's attention, multiple requests for bread/water refills, some inaccuracy in explaining the dishes on the menu, little knowledge of wine) but friendly.

Activities: the cove beach is beautiful but fills up quickly on sunny days - many guests stake out their chairs with towels early in the morning and never visit the beach until the afternoon, if at all. I do wish the beach attendants could clear away unused towels after a certain period of inactivity so those of us who use the beach could enjoy the more prime chairs and umbrellas. The Reefs provides snorkelling equipment and kayaks for those who wish to use them.

Atmosphere: since The Reefs relaxed its more formal dining code for the dining room a few years back, the overall atmosphere of the resort seems to be more casual, sometimes sloppy. There is a general disregard by the guests of the resort's stated dress code, so the requested 'smart casual' often translates into flipflops, sports sandals and jeans at dinner, as well as wet swimsuits without coverups parading through the Clubhouse. There always seems to be a balanced mix of older couples, honeymooners and families with children. The resort is not disabled friendly - there are lots of stairs and the trek down to the beach is steep.

One BIG problem with The Reefs is ongoing construction. The property is adding a 19-room vacation residence structure, and the pile-driving and heavy equipment starts as early as 7AM in the morning. The noise and vibrations are audible in the Clubhouse and on the beach; be VERY CAREFUL not to get Clubhouse accommodations if you want peace and quiet in your room during the day.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Br00klynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the reefs for the past 20+ years. It is the BEST! Best service, best beach, best dining, and best accomodations. Friendliest staff. Looking for "spring break" ala Cancun???? Stay away from the Reefs. Beautiful relaxing setting on a private beach that cannot be beat. This is a place to sit on your butt and soak in the sun. Great golf and shopping are nearby. Want to party all night long? Go to South Beach. Want to recharge your batteries? Go to the Reefs! We will be back in October, 2007.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank witchcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
842 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
701 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,073 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $266 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing