We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday. All we could have wished for”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We booked this holiday knowing Bermuda quite well already, although from some years ago. The holiday certainly did not disappoint! The Reefs’ greatest assets are the location and the staff. The view from our room was just stunning. The staff were courteous, polite and friendly from the moment we arrived, as with most Bermudians. They are proud of their island and rightly so. Our room was pleasant and quiet. The restaurants were good, although the range of truly vegetarian food (i.e. no meat or fish) was very limited, but chefs were prepared to create dishes especially. The hotel has a dress code for two of its restaurants, as you would expect for dining of this quality, although some guests were clearly uncomfortable about this. Afternoon tea, every day between 4:00 and 5:00 is just so good, relaxed with a range of delicate sandwiches including smoked salmon with cream cheese. But as a Brit, I do wish that they understood that you need boiling water to make a decent cup of tea! Overall this hotel is equivalent to some of the best country house hotels we have stayed in in the UK. It is not too stuffy, but is of a standard. We hired a bike for the two weeks we were there and enjoyed driving all over the island. If you go to Hamilton and are looking for lunch try Latin on the corner of Victoria Street and Cedar Avenue. Try the Guacamole, made fresh at your table, and the fish sandwich! If you want to travel a bit further try the Black Horse at St Davids. All locally caught fish beautifully cooked, although in a much more rustic environment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKIanCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for The Reefs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

After much research for a special place to celebrate our "20th anniversary" , we decided upon The Reefs. Having booked the "Romance Package" our expectations were high. The only thing we were not disappointed in was the view. Outstanding! The private beach was nice and clean each day and the bed very comfortable. However, we were never able to sleep past 7am, or take a nap, as the staff congreated outside our suite (350 Ocean Echo) at the utility closet. With loud talking and other guests doors closing. It was the noisiest place we have ever stayed. The service area for room service, restaurant deliveries, linen exchanges etc. was right outside our door. The golf carts came/went 24/7. We found most of the staff to be quite rude. The dining was formal/stuffy with no option for a more casual evening. The food was average. We certainly did not feel we got what we paid for. I will say the dining on the beach was a beautiful setting. We did not receive any mention of or "special cake" on our anniversary, no gift and certainly wasn't made to feel special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband and I booked this hotel for a 5 night stay in early June. This was our first trip to Bermuda. We were not disappointed in our choice of hotel. Although the property is not large the hotel layout is well suited to the site. The property is intimate, well maintained and the views are breath taking. The hotel rooms are nicely appointed, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, however I would have preferred the bathroom finishes and hardware to be updated. There is no noise from other rooms as the rooms seem to be completely sound proof and I did enjoy a wonderful sleep each night. Our package included daily breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea. Sometimes eating at a hotel is boring however this is not the case at The Reefs. The 3 restaurants are situated in different areas, offer different menus and all have a high standard of food presentation and food quality. We came in contact with staff in the restaurants, the spa, the bell desk , the reception, and housekeeping. ALL seemed to be very happy working at the hotel and all exhibited a lot of pride in their jobs. It is refreshing to stay at a hotel where the staff is genuinely interested in your well being. This is a hotel which caters to guests that are looking for a quiet, intimate and restful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Have been here many times. Seems to get better and better. Best on island in our opinion.
Recognized by staff at once; one tends to feel right away at home.
Please don't come here if you are loud and obnoxious and drink too much, as you might on a third rate cruise ship.
It's not that kind of place.
Highest praise from us who are world travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I just returned (May 29-June 5) from our 2nd stay at the Reefs. This trip was to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised that there weren't any of the negatives we saw on other reviews. This place is incredible! The staff is friendly, helpful and willing to do what it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The room was clean and comfortable. The turndown service each night was an unexpected pleasure. Getting the meal plan works out great. The meal costs added to the room may seem high at first, but if you go anywhere else in Bermuda for that kind of quality and service, you quickly find out the Reefs is an excellent value. Also, how many places provide an afternoon tea without extra costs? Having 3 superb restaurants on a this size property is amazing. The Breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful. You could have practically anything you wanted in the made-to-order omelets. I even took some bacon from the buffet and the cook added it to my omelet without any reservations. Again, nothing like some of the comments we read. We have the feeling you "get what you give" in attitude.

The beach was great and the snorkeling right there was an added bonus. I saw as many fish there as I did on either of the snorkeling excursions we made. The staff tending the beach area was always pleasant and helpful.

We were contacted before our trip by the hotel to see if we needed anything extra before we arrived. Then, we were contacted again by both phone and e-mail after our trip to make sure we had a good time and to request if there was anything that could have made the stay better. The only criticism, if you wish to call it that, was a little too much Kenny G music. We suggested that some Harry Connick Jr. be added to the play list.

There was live music almost every night we were there. The music was of various genres but the always of high quality. If you are looking for a “club” scene, this is not the place, but for a more relaxed atmosphere, it was fantastic.

Many reviews try to single out the one or two staff that made their stay memorable. For us, that is almost impossible, they all were great. However, we wish to thank Happy, Alan, Tendo, Claudia, Kumar, Manny and all of the rest for a wonderfully pleasant stay. We hope we can return soon to see them all again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We just have returned from the reefs after a 5 day 4 night vacation. This was our 10 year anniversary trip and I had done a lot of research before hand to find the perfect place. Well, The Reefs exceeded our expectations! There is no limit of compliments to this amazing place. Before we even arrived someone called to make sure we had a ride from the airport to the hotel. When we were going through customs the woman checking us out said to my husband.. you are going to thank her after this trip.. that was the start.. Guilia checked us in and was so sweet and helpful. The management at the Reefs goes above and beyond. Nagma was absolutely incredible. She just took great care of us. Our room was pretty with an outstanding view. I believe every room has a gorgeous room of the ocean. This hotel is so beautiful! It is even hard to put in to words. The beach is not crowded , the water is crystal clear, it is your own private beach. The snorkeling and kayaking is really fun. Now I really believe the biggest asset this hotel has is its staff. EVERYONE was so amazing. I wanted to note a few Ben, Wyman, Alan, Claudia, Kumar, the guy at the beach i can not remember his name right now sorry. truly all the staff are outstanding. People went out of their way to wish us a happy anniversary and to get us anything we wanted. The food was so delicious and plentiful. We loved getting ready for dinner and sitting out having a drink on the beautiful patio while we waited for our reservation time. We met some really nice guests too.. many who come again and again. I can tell you for sure my husband and I are definetely coming back! So I would HIGHLY recommend any couples to come here for a vacation they will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our recent holiday in Bermuda. Prior to our stay I was shown the holtel's website which set my expectations pretty high. On arrival I was speechless at the beautiful location, the hot tub and infinity pool, and the most luxourious spa I have set foot in.

The staff at check in were efficient and friendly, and this was our experience througfhout our stay of all of the employees throughout the hotel. We ate at Coconuts several times, but the highlight being dinner- a four course meal of fresh fish, innovative dishes and to-die-for desserts. Lunch at Coconuts was also delicious and offered a wide range of food to cater for all tastes.

Our room was massive with a cliff top view of the beach from our balcony. The bed was of a very high quality and it may be worth mentioning that I had the best nights sleep here, which is saying something for a 7 month pregnant girl!

Next time we return to Bermuda we will stay here longer, and really couldn't reccoment this hotel highly enough. What a treat!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachedwhale78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
682 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
853 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,959 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
#2 of 6 in Paget Parish
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $313 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing