We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reefs
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Southampton(Southampton Parish)
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$656
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$616
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Beaches(Sandys Parish)
$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
$675
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pompano Beach Club(Southampton Parish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Hotel(Hamilton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveler rating
797
214
100
28
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
214
100
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean echocliffside roominfinity poolaqua terrapoolside roomla serena spapoint suiteromance packageprivate beachcliff sidecoconuts restaurantafternoon teahot tubjunior suitedinner on the beachour honeymoonbeach staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2006

We spent five nights at the Reefs and was delighted with our room's view - a spectacular view of the ocean and spectacular sunsets (if you're lucky enough to have a sunset in March). The room was very simple, but really needs some updating. The restaurant food was only mediocre, at best. They didn't have any local fish on their menu, nor was the fish chowder with sherry present. The service at the restaurant was also quite slow - a dinner will take 2 hours. The restaurant also needs to be updated - we were surprised by the dirty, faded carpet and furniture upholstery in their main restaurant, Grill 56. In March, the other restaurant, Coconuts, is not open. The beach at the Reefs is small, but pleasant. Horseshoe Beach is walking distance away, and more desirable. The pool is small and the hot tub is small, but not very hot. Overall, the view is the best part of The Reefs, but if you're looking for luxury and real resort-like accomodations, you'll be disappointed in The Reefs.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank AlohaFifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
120
Reviewed February 2, 2006

The Reefs is a very nice hotel. The views are breath-taking. The rooms are nicely furnished but simple. We paid quite a bit more to upgrade from a premium to a suite and I don't think it was worth the difference (we've stayed there numerous times). The best part of going to The Reefs is the easy pattern you get into. They have a wonderful breakfast every morning and you can sit indoors or out on the balcony overlooking the shimmering sea. The beach is lovely and quiet although there has been a lot of erosion and it is a third of the size it was a few years ago. We sometimes stay at The Reefs for lunch and the selection at Coconuts is great. Choosing from the 3 places to dine gives you plently of selection. As long as the weather cooperates you can't go wrong. However if you are looking for a fancy hotel or expecting a lot of individual service you will be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2005
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis
160
Reviewed January 8, 2006

My husband and I spent a ton of money to stay at the Reefs and we will not return. We had a huge cockroach problem (attacked us in the middle of the night) and all the Reefs would do was give us a can of insect spray. Horrible experience...

Stayed: May 2004
60  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2005

We just returned from our 14th visit to Bermuda and our first stay (5 days) at The Reefs where we rented a Junior Suite. We've stayed at many different Bermuda hotels, large and small, and The Reefs would rank among the best. That said, Bermuda accomodations always have some quirks worth being aware of, and The Reefs is no exception.

We were pleased with the room which was well furnished and had a large, luxurious bathroom, a wonderful porch overlooking the water, and a TV with many channels. (In the mid-80s, if you got a TV at all, it might be b/w and get 3 channels.) Less expensive rooms might be on the smallish side and lack some of the privacy and quiet that we had. Maid service was excellent.

Our package included breakfast and dinner. Breakfasts were uniformly good and service was good. Dinner, unfortunately was inconsistent. Regarding service during our 5 dinners, 2 nights were excellent, one was acceptable, one night was marginal (one main course served cold), and one night was a two-hour disaster. They didn't charge for drinks on the bad night but we were subsequently uneasy about things, even though the experience was not repeated. The problem was caused by a kitchen mixup (doubtless not the first) and it was clear that the wait staff and supervisors shared our pain. Most of the wait staff was very good though not all. Our final night waiter wouldn't write anything down and consequently made several mistakes. The food itself was above average although one might wish for a bit more variety especially regarding appetizers and deserts. On one night, they failed to have us on the reservations list even though oour plans had been confirmed before we arrived. There was no problem being seated, however. If you don't mind a short taxi ride, you could take advantage of the dine around program and do one night at Coco Beach or (much more expensive cab ride) Cambridge Beaches.

Unless you rent a scooter -- ever more problemmatic given Bermuda's increased traffic density -- you'll be using the buses. It's about 20 minutes into Hamilton and a bit more to the dockyard. As with most outlying hotels, there's a bus stop right at the hotel entrance.

Walking/hiking opportunities are pretty good from The Reefs and going for an hour walk with the hotel recreation director who conducts short walks is worthwhile. The beach is small but lovely, ditto for the pool.

The front desk produced a couple of hiccups but, overall, The Reefs delivers a good Bermuda experience -- friendly staff who really try and generally succeed. Had it not been for the frustration with two dinners, we'd have rated The Reefs excellent. They seem to get a pretty high percentage of return visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
52  Thank goer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2005

We loved The Reefs ... we stayed in a superior room above the pool area which was far better than the pictures suggested. Excellent maid service throughout stay. Enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant. We entertained friends there and had a great evening. Used The Spa which was very good. The hotel staff were all very friendly. We particularly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Obviously, guests return year after year because they are so well treated. All our communications with regard to re-booking were met courteously and efficiently. We booked through a UK travel company because we received a better deal on the cost of the BA flights. My family has been visiting Bermuda, initially for business, since 1987. We love the island even though we have noticed changes, not always for the better, over the years. We travel extensively but always regard Bermuda as our favourite island. Now that we have experienced The Reefs, and as long as the high standards of service and hospitality continue, we would not consider staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank cahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews