We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I went to the Reefs for our Honeymoon last August. It was the wonderful and we could not have asked for a better honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and small enough that you get to know the servers/bartenders, but big enough where you can have some privacy. The food at the resort was delicious. We did the dine around program which was great because you got to see the other resorts and got to eat at different places. We were there for 7 nights, so it was good to get to experience eating outside of the Reefs. We both agreed that the food was best at the Reefs though. One night we ate on the beach (which was included in our honeymoon package) and it was WONDERFUL! The beach during the day was very relaxing. If you are looking for activities to do on the beach this is not the place for you. There are no beach games or anything there. We didn't mind at all because we were just there to relax, but some people might want a little more action. We did go on a day trip where we went snorkeling which was nice. The rooms were nice and clean, but nothing extravagant. I felt they were typical for a nice beach resort.
The one thing they could improve on is their spa. It is TINY and when I was getting a massage I could hear everything going on outside.
All and all this was a great place to go and of the other 3 resorts we visited doing the dine around program it was DEFINITELY the nicest one.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

While this hotel is on a lovely beach in a beautiful setting, it is vastly overpriced for the quality of the rooms (particularly the poor quality beds, sheets and pillows). The rooms (and we were in a suite) are small, with old air conditioning that smells when it is first turned on, very tired from a decorating perspective and somewhat noisy given the lack of adequate soundproofing between rooms and from the outside. In addition the exercise facility is small and old. Coconuts is a lovely vista to dine but we found the food to be mediocre and the breakfast buffet limited in selection. In summary, this hotel is sorely in need of a major renovation and while the private residences may be much nicer the actual hotel is far below the quality of what i would expect for a luxury price tag. The Tucker Hotel and Resort is far nicer, brand new, lacks the beautiful beach setting but is far better value and a much more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank AEDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheReefs-Management, Director of Rooms at The Reefs, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

We are always sorry to hear that a guest’s experience at The Reefs did not meet their expectations or live up to the traditionally high reviews we receive from our travelers. While there are always areas to improve at a hotel, we were surprised to read the comments about this guest’s overall disappointment.

In particular, we recently went through a refurbishment of our room décor and have received many high marks from other guests in response to the changes. Bermuda has very strict building codes and the walls at The Reefs are made of thick limestone resulting in exceptional soundproofing. This heavy construction is also one reason Bermuda guests are seldom inconvenienced by the rare hurricane.

Value is obviously a subjective and very personal perception. In reading other TripAdvisor reviews, you will see most Reefs Guests include the physical attributes of the hotel (rooms, spa, beach, ocean views, dining) and the level of personal and friendly service the receive when determining the value of their vacation experience.

Exceptional service delivery has always been a hallmark of The Reefs and one of the reasons the hotel has consistently been ranked among the leading hotels of the world by Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure and Forbes Travel. The Reefs is not inexpensive, but guests do receive a quality product and a high degree of personal service.

We greatly appreciate this guest’s comments and will certainly keep them in mind as we move forward. We are confident with continued emphasis on modernizing the property and renewed emphasis on training, The Reefs will always offer an exceptional vacation experience and good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I choose The Reefs because of a superb experience we had at Nisbet Plantation (a "sister" resort in Nevis) a year ago and decided to try The Reefs based on that visit.

The Reefs lived up to our expectations with regard to the facility. It is a beautiful hotel, well kept, and situated beautifully into the Bermudan landscape allowing for gorgeous views from the balcony. Our room (Jr Suite) was top notch (although we did have a few little ants in the entryway) and suited our needs perfectly.

While the food was good, I was disappointed by the limited menus. As we learned, the only way to get a varied menu was to dine between the different restaurants. That, unfortunately, forced us into eating in venues that we wouldn't have normally selected. Our meal at Royston's was by far the best, yet we really had not planned on dining there at all (because of the décor and the darkness.) At previous resorts, we dined in the same restaurant, but had a new and exciting menu each evening. It certainly added to the daily expectation of a new dining experience. In general, I would say that both the food and the presentation was a higher quality at Nisbet Plantation.

If there was any disappointment at all, it was in the lack of intimate service at The Reefs. While everyone certainly met our needs, there didn't seem to be any attempt to learn who we were and our preferences. Each morning, I had to tell the wait staff that I drank my coffee half decaf, half regular and with milk (not half and half). Previous experience at other resorts and cruises had the staff quickly learn our names and what we liked and disliked.

All in all, however, it was a wonderful extended weekend (Wed thru Sunday) and we would certainly plan on returning to The Reefs again, as the convenience in traveling there and the location on the island were great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzetteGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

incredible location, beach is to die for. waiters & beach staff all really good.
front desk "newbees" need work. don't, i repeat DON'T stay in the cottages.
my dogs would have run out of there! smelled like a mildew infested basement with bugs! thankfully they gave us new rooms that were much better. but they too are a little weak.
Coconuts is so fabulous, food and location not to be beat. BUT the maitre de is ridiculously unfriendly! he is doing a world class restaurant a grave injustice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I just returned from my honeymoon at the reefs and it's a beautiful place. I called in advance and had them suggest a few rooms I should request that have slightly better views (but really all the rooms have great views). I also signed up for the romance package, which we found to be a great deal (the food is fantastic).

The only downside to the romance package is that you have to remind some of the wait staff that you're on the plan (so that you don't pay twice for a four course meal), and they forgot a few of the services that were on the package - for example we didn't get the champagne on our arrival or our memorable gift (but we had a great time anyway).

In addition they also completely forgot to deduct the $400 credit (http://thereefs.com/specialoffers/) to our bill on check out. I had to push them significantly to apply that credit, which they did. Overall this is a great place, but to get the full service you'll likely want you'll have to speak up for yourself and in some cases organize the staff there about what was planned. (We had to tell them we had already paid for our trip, scheduled/confirmed our spa times, had booked for 6 days not 5 etc. In addition keep in mind that full tips are automatically added on to you bill no matter the service you actually receive - some staff there are utterly fantastic while others are lacking so in some instances you'll have to be assertive).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingcanuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The pros: Beautiful property, with every room having a stunning ocean view which will never be surpassed. Private beach. Attentive and pleasant staff. All three restaurants are very good. No hidden charges; tennis courts and equipment, snorkeling, etc are included.

The cons: If you insist that every aspect of your international travel be completely up to American standards, you could be disappointed. The rooms are a bit small, the bathrooms are outdated, and meal portions are normal, not super-sized. Also, the beach directly faces the ocean and was too choppy for snorkeling all four days we were there. That may be unusual; I can't say. Lastly, the clientele largely consisted of inactive Northeasterners. At least that made for an empty fitness center.

Overall, we'd go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bergdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed at The Reefs for our second time this April. After visiting Bermuda five separate times, I would never stay anywhere else!
Some of the other properties on Bermuda, ie. Elbow Beach, The Southhampton Fairmount, etc. have a great deal of activity and crowds, and that may appeal to some, but you are usually remembered as just a room number there. At The Reefs there is quiet elegance and charm , and the service you receive from the moment you arrive is first rate! All of your needs are met with friendliness and promptness! When you stay at The Reefs you are always welcomed with a warm smile and people will remember your name in less than a day! They even remember how you like you meals prepared and the extra touches you prefer. You feel appreciated and catered to at the highest level of service possible. The new, renovated rooms and dining rooms are chic and tastefully decorated. The food at all three restaurants is exquisite and presented with style! For a special treat, pay a little extra and have a private table with your loved one(s) right on the beach at sunset! It is truly relaxing and memorable!
The Reefs has the perfect ambiance for those you have high standards and want to be remembered by name and not just be a number among many.
Take it easy at The Reefs....they'll do all the rest!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photogal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,013 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $316 - $1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing