We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely vacation”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely vacation”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our third time at The Reefs, and we found that we liked the vacation better when we dined off-property. The resort itself is lovely, but the rooms are due for an update, and we are always surprised that others are impressed by the service: it's just so-so, especially at the restaurants. We would go back because it is one of the best in Bermuda, but we are still waiting for a Four Seasons-like resort to open on Bermuda someday!

Room Tip: Definitely cliffside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRNJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    202
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
652
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like others, I was a little concerned about what I might find when I finally got to The Reefs. Some people on here complained that it was old, and it is, built in 1947, I believe. Some have complained that the rooms are a little on the small side and not up to date. Maybe some of that is true compared to other islands and/or resorts. And I suppose if you came to Bermuda and decided to stay at this boutique hotel to spend lots of time in your room, that might be an issue. Some even complained that the food was not up to par, or just average. I don't know where those people dine but I consider myself to be a bit of a foodie and the food here would stand up to any restaurant, anywhere.
I don't know what those people are thinking and I'm not sure I'm interested, because The Reefs is a gorgeous property with a staff that is friendly, engaging and willing to help you out whenever they can. I don't know where they find all these personable individuals but whomever does the hiring and training should be commended. Edwina, a hostess in the restaurants, was one of the best individuals I've ever met on a property anywhere.
The views are something out of a picture postcard. The restaurants are all very good to excellent. We ate at Coconuts our first night, (very good food, excellent views), Ocean Echo the next three nights, (great views, excellent meals spaced nicely between each course) and Royston's one night, ( maybe the best meal I had in ten days on the island with the best frozen key lime pie I've ever had). The infinity pool is well maintained with gorgeous views that keep you in the pool longer than you wanted to stay. There is some form of entertainment every night, the bus stop is right outside the property, and there is a small convenience store about a three minute walk from the property in case you need to restock anything. The breakfasts will last you all day if you like or until tea which is very good, or until dinner, or until you find it difficult to find that notch on your belt. The beaches are clean and anything you need to make your beach experience more enjoyable is available to you at no extra charge. Even the soft pink sand is free.
If you choose to venture out a bus will take you to Dockyard, (20 minutes) or the scenic beaches of Warwick Long Bay and Jobson's Cove (10 minutes) where you can walk the 1.5 mile stretch to Horseshow Bay and take little paths which lead you to beautiful cliff top views.
So......if you're looking for a picture perfect location that has great food, a caring staff and a beautiful beach, The Reefs will be everything you want it to be. It would be hard to want for much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Absolutely spectacular property, pictures don't do it justice. Snorkeling from the beach (complimentary equipment), no need to go to Horseshoe. The pool is truly beautiful, wallow over to the edge for yet another great view of beach/ocean. You can enjoy every meal overlooking the beautiful turquise waters from the dining room or beachside restaurant, we tremendously enjoyed the fresh air breakfast w/ great buffet selections, enough to share with the friendly birds. Scooter rentals across street- don't forget to stay left. Rooms are perfect-clean and comfortable, staff is very nice- old school Bermudian hospitality. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: for true luxury, splurge and stay in one of the new condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in the Club condo's and could not ask for any thing more. The views are spectacular from every room, appointments and furnishings are perfect, Pool area and beach are perfect. Food plan is a must as otherwise very expensive. 2nd visit and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mamadwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can express enough how happy my husband and I were with our wedding at the Reefs. From the ceremony to the dinner (which everyone said was the best meal they had on the island) to the reception dance party, all were perfectly executed. Emily and her staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs throughout the whole process--from music, to cake, to lighting--all done, stress free. All of the vendor recommendations were excellent as well. Thank you so much for what was surely the best weekend of our lives! People are still talking about what fun the weekend was. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgia85819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although I had been to Bermuda on my honeymoon and often in the seventies, staying on Hamilton Sound. This was my first time on the South Shore. I traveled with my two adult daughters,one son in law, three grandchildren (23, 21, and 13). I chose the Reefs for its location and reviews. We had the most wonderful time. We ate at Roystons and Coconuts every night. The food was delicious. It was very hot so most of us stayed in the ocean or pool. I don't think there is another Hotel in Bermuda offering the services and smiles. Everything about the Reefs was topnotch. Thanks to Mervyn and Winfield I was able to get up and down the hill with ease. We will definitely be coming back. We are all sad the week had to end.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TISH604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent a week in a Cliffside room at The Reefs. The room was supposed to have been newly renovated. Apparently only the bathroom was renovated, but very small and had shotty workmanship. The room was very small and OLD. Old furnishings, noisy old 'in-wall' air conditioner. Curtains were messy looking and the outside deck area was very small, extremely loud and hot from the A/C unit, and dirty. The beach area was kept up well, but the faded umbrellas just added to the old appearance of the resort.

Food at the Coconuts Restaurant was very expensive and disappointing. Breakfast every morning was good, however. They also need to employ a concierge or front desk person that has more knowledge about the island. They couldn't tell me where to hike, or where to rent or charter a boat. The bell staff, however, was very friendly and helpful. We had a great week on this beautiful island, but would not return to The Reefs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yellotail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,724 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing