We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“A great get away”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like Kings! The staff was happy and willing to serve in any way.

There were no disappointments when we opened the door to our club condo. The room furnishings and finishes were highest quality. The view was spectacular. Very often the pictures raise an expectation that is hard to fulfill, but not in this case. It was even more beautiful than we expected. We enjoyed eating at the restaurant as well. The food and service were great.

Will come back again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the views more from the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    202
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
652
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Reefs clings to a cliff overlooking the south shore of Bermuda. You won't find these views, this beach or these facilities in many places. We had good weather (with a shower now and then) and could use all of the facilities. The staff is courteous and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. We liked our "Cliffside" room because it afforded a little more quiet and privacy. We ate at Royston's (good pizza and casual fare) and at Coconuts (great views outdoors, sheltered and near the beach)....both very good with good service. One reason for four stars: cost! Like everything in Bermuda, it's expensive! But all in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Well we lucked out with the weather and when that happens in Bermuda there are fewer places more beautiful. It's been 21 years since our last visit to Bermuda and the Reefs has made sure we will now come back each year! The location on the island is perfect as is the layout on the property. It would be difficult not to have a room with a view to remember. The rooms very spotless and the staff warm, helpful, and friendly. The beach is second to none. The view from the main terrace is breathtaking. Great snorkelling 50 feet off the beach!
We'll be back as soon as we can...the Reefs is a must when considering a Bermuda vacation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just returned from 6 days at The Reefs in Bermuda. The room was perfect. Great water views and very clean. Newly updated rooms done very well. The staff couldn't be nicer and very helpful and accommodating. From the moment we arrived everyone was pleasant and helpful. Even the taxi driver sent by the hotel named Steve was quite pleasant and gave a number of recommendations for things to do during our stay.
The only problem I encountered was when we first arrived and had to wait 2 1/2 hours for our room to be ready. I would think The Reefs could do better. I admit we arrived early but the hotel arranged the cab from the airport so they weren't surprised when we arrived. We were hot and tired having been in transit for 8 hours and my patience was strained. I would recommend in the future The Reefs assign the rooms based on availability when they know people will be arriving early. It seems the maids determine when rooms will be available not the management. Once that little bump in the road was resolved everything went smoothly.
As expected the food at the hotel was only average. Bermuda is known for it's beautiful scenery not it's food.

Room Tip: All rooms in main hotel have excellent water views. Time share units across the street from the mail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corfu ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and i just returned from 5 days at The Reef's in Bermuda. We have been going to The Reef's for over 30 years. It was our first visit back in 10 years. We found The Reef's in the best shape we have ever seen it in...the facilities were manicured throughout their spread. David Dodwell, owner, has consistently kept The Reef's at the top of their game...all anyone has to look at is the number of people that return to The Reef's year after year. The staff all are seasoned professionals in the hospitality business with years of experience treating guests in a way that you feel you are someone special. We stayed in a Cliffside Room over looking the Ocean. The newly remodeled bathrooms are a "gem" ..the beds and the room decor are second to none.. We are not Breakfast eaters but found ourselves enjoying the buffet every morning. We ate twice at Coconuts and the meal is practically cooked right in front of you with the Ocean setting only a few yards away...the service was excellent, but not in your face. One of the best decisions we made years ago was to stay at The Reefs... thank god we did it and we are still enjoying it.

The Wilkinson's
Corfu, NY

Room Tip: Be sure to book into the Cliffside Rooms with a remodeled bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottieCorfuNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Let me preface this review by first telling you that my husband and I lived in Bermuda about 15 years ago for 3 years. This trip was the first time we returned with our children. We have stayed at various locations on the Island and I can say that over all this property turned out to be our favorite. We splurged when we booked here and stayed in the condominium side of the resort. These properties are truly wonderful and spacious. There are 2 large bedrooms each with their own enormous bathroom and closet. The common space has a wall of windows off the living room that completely opens up to the veranda and your amazing view of the ocean. The kitchen is large and fully and immaculately furnished and there is a large, elegant dining area. You can choose to eat on the veranda as well, since it runs the expanse of the condo and houses your very own hot tub at the other end. If you stay on this side of the resort, these properties have there own infinity pool and access to the beach. There are also 3 private gas fire pit areas to enjoy with friends and family at night.

Frankly the view here is one of the best in Bermuda and I challenge anyone to get tired at looking at the different ways the light plays on the water, beach and sky. The beach is a perfect size and not crowded. There is great service. And best of all there are kayaks and paddle boards and other fun stuff to use all free of charge. The kayaking here is really great fun as you make your way along rocky out croppings and into calm coves. Paddle boarding presents a bit more of a challenge in the surf but its free and fun to play on.

So what's the down side? Well, there were hidden costs when we checked out ($70 for maid and another $80 for maintainence) and the cost of food here and everywhere on the Island is just crazy!! (Entrees starting at $40 and up). We had the option of cooking and we definitely took advantage of that. So if your traveling with a family you should look into whether you are actually saving money staying at the hotel when you have to pay for every meal (which can also include the cost of transportation to and from the restaurant - also pricey). For a family of 5, I think it was almost a wash when we looked at how much we saved on staying home and cooking for ourselves. One last thing to remember is that you cannot rent a car in Bermuda. You either rent scooters or go by cab. It will cost you about $30 each way into Hamilton (the biggest town on the island). Still it is so beautiful here, you may be like us and just never want to leave.

Bottom line: Bermuda is ridiculously expensive once you get there, but if you go in the spring or fall you can't beat the weather, water or the views - and The Reefs is a great place to get that.

Room Tip: Think about renting the condos, they're beautiful and you will save a lot of money by being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea12902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I splurged for our 5 year wedding anniversary and spent a long weekend at The Reefs. This is our first time in Bermuda and we were pleasantly surprised with the location. It's close to NYC (direct flight from JetBlue took only 1.5 hours) but this hotel is quite far from the airport. It's on the south side so if you're coming here by taxi be prepared to spend at least $60+ on a single ride. We decided to take public transportation since we had a few hours to kill before check-in. We took a taxi ride to St. George (~$13, and that's just over a small bridge from the airport) and bought a 3-day pass & 2 tokens for 2 people at the post office in the town square. You can take the 1, 3, 10 or 11 line from St. George to Hamilton's central bus depot and quickly hop on to the 7 - this is a 30-min bus ride from Hamilton to the Reefs. The bus stop is convenient since it stops right in front of the hotel (though you will need to ask the driver where it is since they don't call out stops). However, you can't bring luggages on to the bus (we each had a backpack since this was a weekend trip).

Check-in was a breeze. We were promptly brought to our room (#335) - a cliff side room with an amazing view of the private beach. The only issue is our room is directly under the public balcony/sitting area and quite a few times people have thrown cigarettes right onto our balcony. Sun bathing while smelling cigarettes wasn't preferable but having them thrown at you like garbage was worse.

The room itself was a decent size - king-sized bed, a 32-inch TV with cable, an iPod dock to listen to your music/charge your phone, the wicker furniture on the balcony was comfortable. The bathroom was large - his & her sinks, robes, and large plush bath towels. It was heavenly.

The shower on the other hand was a mess...first, no shower doors or curtains so the water ends up everywhere in the bathroom - if you're not careful you can slip & break a hip since the tiny towel mat doesn't help to absorb the water. Secondly, this shower head must have been built for someone tall. I'm only 5'1 and it barely reached me - it doesn't lower enough and doesn't adjust. I literally had to stand at the end of the shower area to even get water on me (hence water everywhere since there are no doors) or hold the shower head (which isn't preferable and not at all a relaxing experience).

All that aside I found the room clean and decently sized. You're paying for the view so quality isn't going to be 5 stars.

The hotel is small and this resort area means you won't have too many dining options. We were one week off from when the season starts so only the Ocean Echo dining room was open. The other two haven't opened yet since it wasn't in season but dining at this resort is quite expensive. We ate at Ocean Echo Friday & Saturday night and felt like the food wasn't worth the $68 pp - and they tack on 17% gratuity. You should make reservations (especially if the menu has something delectable). Saturday's menu was much nicer than Friday nights. The steak was cooked to perfection and the appetizer & dessert combination was excellent. Service was excellent but still, I like the option of giving what I think is good service and not having it automatically added to the bill.

Cocktails were on par with NYC prices ($13 drinks) but were not strong at all. After 2 nights of spending $200 each night - we decided to just walk to Henry VIII pub down the block. It's a quick 7 min walk (one bus stop away but no buses at night) - no sidewalks but there are street lights and a grassy area for you to walk. I suggest you eat at this pub every night. They have a wide variety of food (Sushi was excellent, curry chicken and steak was superb). The appetizers and dessert were large and varied. And they have nightly entertainment up to 1AM. Sunday night was jazz. Food was decently priced, manager was extremely friendly and we had good service. We met a waiter from Nepal - and it appears most of the other waiters were from there as well.

We had Breakfast included with our rooms. They serve from 7:30 - 10:30 am but the food selection was so-so. I can't believe the prices of these meals - $14 for omelet?! I sure hope everyone was on that breakfast plan because paying that much for a so-so omelet would have been a bad way to start the day. Since it was included we ate a full, hearty breakfast that lasted us throughout the day. Tea time is served at 4pm and people came out in droves (possibly because no one ate after breakfast since lunch here was also ridiculously priced). Scones, tea, coffee and finger sandwiches should hold you over until dinner.

We had Thai massages at the Reefs and I highly recommend. The spa experience was great - the lounge area to relax faces the beach, the therapists were actually Asian and worked out all our kinks properly. I've only had a Thai massage in Hong Kong so I didn't have much to compare it to - but this one felt on par.

Finally the beach! It's a private beach and quite quiet around this time of the year. The water was cold but crystal clear. You can kayak or snorkel, plenty of towels and beach chairs w/ umbrellas were available. It was relaxing... you can't walk to any other beaches since the reefs block you - so if you were planning to stroll the beach - you'll have to take a bus down further or just walk up and down the small beach that the Reefs offer.

Overall, I recommend this hotel - and I think I'll prob come back if we ever head to Bermuda again. It's a nice weekend getaway if you're in the Northeast. Bermudians are friendly, polite and standard of living is quite high so I never felt like I was unsafe, even when riding on public transportation. We went from St. George to Dockyard - we took several buses (10, 11, 1, 3 and 7) and even the sea ferry (highly recommend). The hotel sells the 3-day bus & sea pass - which you can use unlimited for both (excluding the pink ferry route). You can get around quite easily on your own. They accept US Dollars everywhere and it's 1:1 to the Bermudian Dollar (the hotel charges you in USD so you don't have to pay an exchange rate fee if you're using your credit card). Prices are about the same as you would pay in a metropolitan area in the US.

Room Tip: The cliff side rooms offer an amazing, unblocked view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moonbeam720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,724 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing