We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance, Professionalism, Friendliness”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
SPARTA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegance, Professionalism, Friendliness”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent four nights at The Reefs. It was our first trip to Bermuda, and we are still talking about how BLUE the water appears! We swear they dye it, and wonder if you have to wash off the aqua when you emerge from the surf.

The hotel is beautifully maintained, and there are staff members around every corner. Guests want for nothing. Some of the concierges were more friendly than others, but the restaurant staff couldn't have been nicer. We'll come back just to see them again!

Our room was antiseptic clean, comfortable, with a view to die for. But what's up with the 20-lb. pillows? I would prefer something a bit softer and lighter.

The "Ocean Echo" restaurant featured different menu items every day. Kudos to the chef! Every selection was a culinary delight.

Travel around the island is simple: Take a cab ($$$$) or a bus ($).

We will absolutely, positively book our next island vacation at The Reefs!

Room Tip: Unless you're in tip-top health, and can handle a long uphill walk twice a day, book rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterK456A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    207
    92
    26
    18
See reviews for
172
664
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was a surprise 75th birthday, and the Reefs couldn't have made it more wonderful. The staff was so pleasant, caring and accommodating; in fact, everyone that we met in Bermuda was sooo pleasant! The lodging was first class, and even though the Reefs has expanded since our first visit, it still feels like a small romantic hotel that we recall from yesteryear. We are already talking about another visit there later this year. The Reefs is most highly recommended. The only downer, and by no means the fault of the hotel, was the weather, particularly the high winds. Aside from that uncontrollable issue, everything else was near perfect!! We will return!

Room Tip: Room 334 was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was the first time my boyfriend and I had been to Bermuda and The Reefs could not have been a more perfect choice. The staff was great- everyone was extremely friendly and eager to share tips on things to on the island, places to eat, etc. We stayed in a Cliffside Guest Room that had incredible views. Room was clean and quiet. Despite being off season and a bit chilly we were able to get down to the beach and enjoy drinks. La Serena Spa was incredible. We had a great time at the bar after dinner chatting with other resort guests. Overall I would highly recommend for a couple, group, family. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMTravel416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Overall a fantastic place with a beautiful beach and view but given the price it leaves some room for improvement. The bathrooms are at least updated and modern with L'Occitane soaps/lotions etc but the beds/sheets/pillows are below average and the hallways empty, bare and musty. In addition, the hot tub was in need of a serious cleaning & updating. The most disappointing aspect of this resort was the food which used cheap ingredients and tasted as though everything was defrosted, microwaved or thrown in the fryolator. Another disappointment was a sneaky $40/day maid service fee....since when do you pay extra to have your room cleaned??....this should be baked into the original quote and not a surprise add-on at checkout sending you home with a bad taste in your mouth. Fortunately, the secluded beach and views make you forget how much better this place could be.

Room Tip: cliffside room are private with amazing views and convenience to the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgrassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Attleboro Ma.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our second visit to The Reefs just keeps getting better. The rooms have been upgraded since our last visit. The bathrooms were great nice walkin showerand soaking tub. The views from the patio are spectacular. The food was extremely good at all meals. The Easter Sunday Brunch was over the top. What a spread. Such a friendly staff. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Reefs has been around a long time, but remains fresh and vibrant. It's cliffside location is breathtaking and being able to take breakfast outside on the terrace each morning was an amazing way to start the day. And the breakfasts were outstanding. The service is understated and professional; helpful when asked but not overbearing. The scale of the hotel is small so it never feels crowded. It's located just outside of the busier parts of the island. All of the rooms have wonderful views of the ocean and the beach is small, private and beautiful. The water in June was surprisingly chilly, but the snorkeling was worth the brief chill. You can check out decent gear, including tandem kayaks, without additional charge. There are dozens of amazing coral outcrops directly offshore and down the shore teeming with tropical fish of all shapes, colors and sizes. They provide an afternoon tea with light snacks which we found incredibly refreshing. The three (or four?) evening restaurants were also excellent, each with its own atmosphere and menu. The worst thing about The Reefs is not wanting or needing to leave, which makes it ideal for people seeking a reclusive getaway but a challenge for first-timers like me who wanted to explore. But we got out and enjoyed walking to the nearby lighthouse, neighborhood, and Henry VIII pub. Also the buses are very regular and affordable, with a stop at the hotel that makes getting anywhere on the island easy. The hotel sells passes, another convenience. Bermuda beguiles and The Reefs is certainly part of its charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I recently returned to the Reefs in Bermuda. We had a wonderful time. The staff is very attentive and feel like family. Our room had an incredible view of the ocean from 2 sides of the room. We are looking to return to the Reefs as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanF200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,887 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,099 reviews
4.1 mi away
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
#2 of 6 in Paget Parish
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing