We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New Years Eve Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Rowayton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect in the off-season though "The Reefs" was highly recommended. We'll it The Reefs Resort, The Warm Staff and Terrific Meals Exceeded all our expectations. We greeted with a refreshing cocktail while we sat and talked to the nice gentleman at check in. We were provided a daily activity guide with recommendations in our room. There were fun wine tastings, high tea time, and lighthouse tours offered for free on site. The views of all the rooms are terrific ocean views. We fell asleep to the sound of waves every night. The Breakfast and Dinner Plan was perfect. All I can say is GO, GO, GO to The Reefs as soon as you can. And BTW, this is the first web review I've ever done so it is authentic. Cheers!

Room Tip: Choose a room on second floor at the far end near the ocean. It is very private down there and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    191
    84
    24
    16
See reviews for
151
612
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a most relaxing time at the Reefs. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long lost friends. The room was spectacular and the service wonderful. We enjoyed the spa which only added to the recuperative nature of our stay. We went to sleep each night listening to the ocean and spent the day at the beach and the pool. Individuals with gait problems would have trouble accessing the beach. The resort is across the street from the bus stop so exploring the island was no problem! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maietta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were fortunate to have been advised to make reservation at The Reefs when we visited Bermuda for the first time in '86 which was our 25th wedding anniversary. We just celebrated our 51st in December of 2012 and it was our 23rd visit to The Reefs.
Of course The Reefs of today is not The Reefs of our first visit. There are a number of physical changes, but the quality and level of service remains unsurpassed. If you are fortunate to visit Bermuda and select The Reefs, you will know why it is so very special. Management and the employees do everything that adds to and makes ones visit so very special.
Yes, we have already made our reservations for our 24th visit.
The Reefs is one special place!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water; we enjoy the "pool side" rooms; we have stayed in a number of di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 56BOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Bermuda, and our third return to The Reefs. We were last in Bermuda in January 2012 and due to the renovations taking place at The Reefs, we decided to stay in Hamilton at the Princess instead. When telling others of that experience, I have noted that our stay at the Hamilton Princess was better than expected, it still wasn't The Reefs.

As noted in other review, some of the bathrooms are dated, but they are in the process of renovating & plan to finish all rooms this January/February 2013. There's a reason why people keep going back. The view/location is fantastic, but it's definitely the *people* working at The Reefs who make it such a great place. Everyone is courteous, professional, and extremely helpful. We're already looking forward to another return.

Room Tip: Splurge and spend some time at La Serena spa - get a mani/pedi with Ana, you won't be disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jensparks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Reefs has 2 sections. The time share section called The Reefs club and The Reefs hotel. The Reef Club is modern, well equipped and pleasant section of the Reefs.
The Hotel has 2 great things going on for it.
1. Location: All rooms face the ocean. Private Beaches.
2. Easy access to the hotel, connected via a main road.
The aspects that are marginal and leave a lot to be desired
1. Restaurants: Poor uninspired service, food quality average, pricey and mundane. To give you an idea, we ate 1 meal at Reefs and 5 meals at other hotels.
2. Room Quality: You may be disappointed with small dingy bathrooms and average feel to the room. Your disappointment will be magnified if you had a chance to see the Reef Club rooms.
3. Swim pool: SMALL. We visited in winter, so didn’t have any issues. Can’t imagine a trip in Summer and having to compete for the small space.
4. Exercise Room: Small crammed space with no windows. Wonder if the Reefs management ever decides to hire experts to give it a face lift. They can make this location a truly a world class facility.

Overall Bermuda is beautiful, safe and very friendly. Be prepared to spend extra since this island destination relies on imports which makes everything very expensive (food, transport and shopping).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A fabulous, small hotel located on a beuatiful beach on the south shore of Bermuda.
Stayed here for three nights just before Christmas - incredibly quiet as the hotel seemed
to only have a handful of guests. Staff are extremely warm and friendly.
We ate at Roystons one night and had a great meal. The breakfasts where the
highlight however as it was served in the Ocean Echo location with panoramic views
od the ocean and beach.
We stayed in a Junior suite (room 342) which had a large private terrace with incredible
views of the ocean and beach. Bathroom was huge with recently updated shower and vanity.
Only negative was this room had an adjoining door to the room next door. The walls seemed
to be paper thin as we could hear every sound (voices talking, TV, shower etc) from the guests next door as soon as they checked in.
Would definitely go back but maybe ask for a different room next time, or seek some assurance
that no one was in the room next door.
Also had massages at the Serena Spa - one of the best massages ever (from Karen).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Bermuda for 30 years. Every time we go we stay at the Reefs in South Hampton. Our room looked out over the ocean and also along the cliffs near the Reefs. The room was very nice and had a hot tub outside and a jacuzzi tub inside. Each of the restaurants that we ate in were wonderful and the food was amazing. We were there each time in early to late April (our anniversary month) and the weather just cant be beat. Cool mornings, warm afternoons and cool evenings. There was a scooter rental and bus stop right across the street from the Reefs so transportation was no problem at all.

Room Tip: I would choose a room that is over looking the ocean/beach. But I think that most of them are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing