We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Beautiful, Cozy, Wonderful!”
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
North of Boston Ma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Beautiful, Cozy, Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 27, 2005

We just returned from our first trip to Bermuda, 4 nights, at the Pompano. We picked Pompano because of the ratings on Tripadvisor, it looked like the best place to stay. IT WAS!
They had a taxi waiting for us at the airport, about a 45 minute drive and $40 fare. Upon arriving at Pompano, they knew our name (Taxi must have called in) and gave us a tour of the property (tour could have been better, but that is ok) The Pompano Beach Club is not stuffy like its compitition, it is down home, comfortable, cozy and relaxed.
We stayed in a Superior room (Deluxe was a 5 night min), it had a full ocean view, was very roomy with a King size bed, 2 chairs and a tv. Chairs and Lounges on the Lanai also. Oversized bathroom with a seperate shower/tub, hairdryer, 2 sinks and new tile...looked like our room was only a few years old, with a/c and a ceiling fan.
Upon arrival, we went to lunch at the outside cafe. Found to be nice, very friendly service and good food.
Dinner was in the main dining area (breakfast also) which is very beautiful, overlooking the ocean all around, not a bad seat in the house! Gives the visual of being on a cruise ship due to the ledge setting of the resort.
Plenty of seating, no matter when we went, we were always able to sit right down and eat. 5 course gourmet meal for dinner, different every night. Very good food, I would say excellent. Breakfast was also very good/Excellent. 2 mornings were buffett, super for a buffett, very fresh, huge variety and someone making fresh omlets for you. The other 2 mornings were order off the menu, again excellent, fresh food. Great variety, no skimping, good presentation.

The staff is exceptional at Pompano, everyone from housekeeping (2x per day to clean/refresh your towels/turn down bed with mints) to the waitstaff. They were all personable, smiling, not afraid to joke and have a good time with the guests. Would do absoluetely anything to help that they can.
One day we took the Ferry in to Hamilton for shopping, they gave us a ride there and told us how to call them for a ride back.

The beach is beautiful, no other beach like it on the island. Always chairs available, rafts and noodles to use. Warm clean water up to your waist for miles.... absoluetely breathtaking. We do not golf, we went for our anniv. just rest and relaxation.

The one thing I probably should have known based on the location of the property (being on a cliff/ledge) is the amount of stairs. For us, it was not a problem, a couple in our mid 30's and in shape....143 stairs from the beach to our room (can you believe I counted?) Room 70, we were in the highest room possible, magnificent view, wouldnt change a thing but if it were our grandparents or if we had small children with us, that is somthing we would want to know. There are plenty of rooms closer to the ocean, and the clubhouse (dinner/bar/reception area) is at about mid-point, so it was not bad, but did take our breath away at times.

Pompano and its staff should not disappoint you. If you want friendly, caring people with a casual, comfortable outlook (not too casual-still collared shirts in the rest. for men) this is the place for you. We found them to be exceptional. They are closing in November 2005 for 4 months, for a major renovation and face lift. We are looking forward to seeing/staying next year too. Feel free to email me with any questions and I will try to answer to the best of my ability.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank poohshoneypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    220
    41
    37
    11
See reviews for
351
687
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2005

We stayed at Pompano the week of May 14-21, 2005. Believe me when I tell you, you need not look any further, this hotel is the best on the island. We've stayed at Elbow Beach and other high end hotels,on this and other islands as well, but while nice, they don't top this place. Why? Well its in a beautiful location, with resturants, pools, tennis, beach, boating, and an exercise room overlooking the ocean. The rooms are large and very clean, and we also met the nicest people here. But what seperates it from the others is the moment you arrive, to the time you leave, they can't do enough to make your stay special. I'm not talking about the regular service you always expect from a high end hotel, but rather an unexpected service and attention that delights and surprises every day. It doesn't matter your age - this place will please. From the unbelievable views from the private patio or balcony(there are no bad rooms), to the excellent five course meals (you can't do better on the island), to sunsets from heaven, you'll be happy here. The staff, from management, to wait staff, to housekeeping, never, and I mean never, seem to tire trying to accomodate. That is the secret to Pompano!! I truly don't know where they find these folks, but they are amazing! I should tell you about the time they boated out to us (on a raft that was 300 yards off shore no less) cocktails for six, or the unbelievable catermaran boat trip sponsored by the hotel for their guests only, or the daily personal greetings from the staff, or the unbelievable Monday dinner and desert buffet, served by the chef himself. Believe me it goes on and on, service above and beyond anything we have ever experienced, and we are fairly well traveled. OK there has to be something negative right! We'll unfortunately, Larry,the general manager, is a Red Sox fan!( a condition I'm told is curable). I'm telling you that all that needs correcting here (unless your from Boston). Pompano truly is a paradise in paradise!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2005

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Bermuda and we could not have chosen a better hotel. At first we were nervous because we usually book reservations in the large hotel chains with brand recognition. In other words, we generally have an idea what to expect with those hotels. Well, we have been converted to the friendly and home-like atmosphere of the Pompano Beach Hotel. The service at the Pompano Beach Hotel was absolutely top-notch and it started with the cheery hello when we first entered the hotel! We received a guided tour of the facilities by management so that we knew the property, the food was outstanding, rooms were cleaned twice a day, the rum swizzle party was fun, the nightly entertainment in the lounge was great, and the private beach was exactly what we were looking for. Management figured out the meaning of "service" at this hotel. We understand why people return year after year. We intend to return as well.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank vacationfamily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2005

My husband and I chose to celebrate our 25th anniversary at the Pompano because of the many positive reviews about the resort. we were not disappointed at all. the staff at the Pompano truly made us feel special. there is a true team effort of the staff to make the guests comfortable and a home like atmosphere. everyone was so helpful, from shuttle services to the front desk gals that were very knowledgable about how to get to island locations and how to go about it by bus and ferry. the dining room staff were so kind, helpful and charming. the chefs were top rate, it was some of the best food we ever had at dinners through our meal plan. we would definitely recommend the map plan. we stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the beautiful view of cystal clear aquamarine water there. it was amazing to wake up to that gorgeous view. the room was large, with a sitting area overlooking the water views. we met some lovely people staying there also. many repeat visitors. there is a reason for this. all in all would definitely recommend a stay at the Pompano if you want to feel special on your trip to bermuda.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

My husband and I chose to stay at the Pompano in large part because of the reviews on tripadvisor. We were very glad we did. This was the easiest, most relaxing vacation we have ever had. I think it says a lot that we met several guests who were residents of Bermuda staying at the hotel for their own little get away. We thought the food was wonderful. We had a few lunches outside the hotel because of other activities and thought they were mediocre at best. Service is very good and and friendly. We loved when we were done with a meal just leaving...no waiting for a check to sign. We've been to many islands and found Bermuda to be the cleanest and friendliest. It is very easy to get around by ferry and bus. We highly recommend Hartley's Bell Diving. It was one of the most amazing experiences we ever had. ----- You'll get to see (and pet!) "Stormin Norman" a HUGE snapper that will pose for a photo and snuggle right up to you.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DaisyM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2005

My family (three teenage girls plus two forty something parents) just returned from a week long stay at the Pompano Beach Club. It was possibly the best hotel experience of our well traveled lives. The family atmosphere and charm of the Pompano more than make up for some minor blemishes in facilities. First the minuses, game room is small, some minor grounds issues, and the tennis court could use some attention. The positives, the food is excellent and varied. You won't need much lunch on the modified american plan! The hotel staff do their utmost to make sure that anything that can be done for you will be, starting with a friendly tour with the hotel manager himself. The pool area is very nice, and the views from our room and the public areas were awe inspiring. Our week was very relaxing without being boring, and our girls found plenty to do, even though we were afraid it would be too sedate for teenagers. All of our family has vowed to return. If you have a chance to go to the Pompano, don't pass it up.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesnomades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, NH
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2005

Enjoyed a 7 night stay at Pompano in April 2005. We booked a Honeymoon/Anniversary package. Arriving at Pompano we were greeted by name by the General Manager and given a tour of the property. The resort has a lovely, intimate feel to it. Our room was located in a building with 4 rooms on the first level 4 rooms on the second level. The view from the room was breathtaking. Late afternoon sun flooded the private balcony (walls on either side of the balcony afforded some privacy), and we often stood out on the balcony looking out over the impossibly blue water. The room was a reasonable size, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spotless as was the room.

We spent a lot of time at the resort. We couldn't think of any good reason to go anywhere. The weather was perfect, the beach was small, but wonderful with a sandbar that extends hundreds of yards into the sea and allows one to wade in knee deep water at low tide. As we mentioned, the color and clarity of the water are really amazing. Our package included a full breakfast and 5 course dinner each evening. We often ate lunch at the hotel due to general laziness on our part. Food ranged from average to inspired. On the whole we were very pleased with food selection, presentation and quality. The service at lunch was a little uneven, but when you're hanging out on the balcony with that amazing view and a good book and a cocktail who cares? The pool looked like it needed some attention, it didn't look clean and if we had kids with us we would have been reluctant to let them swim in the pool. The excercise room was adequate and had a wall of glass overlooking the ocean which made the workouts seem less painful.

I believe the highest compliment you can pay a place like Pompano is when given the myriad choices available to travel would you go back? Our answer is a definite yes. It's obvious why so many people go back year after year. The place is magical. If you go, avail yourself of the spa services offered by Serenity Spa located on site. And, if offered take the catamaran cruise. Spa services and the cruise were worth the price and more.

We booked Pompano in large part because of the overwhelmingly postive reviews on TripAdvisor. The positive reviews were accurate and helpful in deciding to go. Should you decide to go to Pompano we hope you enjoy the same experience we had. It was spectacular!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PepperWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
816 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
663 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,885 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,098 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Property: Pompano Beach Club
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing