We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pampered at Pompano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Marystown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pampered at Pompano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

No malls. No restaurant chains. No rent-a-cars. No rush. That's Bermuda, and Pompano tops it off with comfortable accommodations on a dramatic site where you are constantly soothed by the vista and sounds of the beach and ocean.

Gourmet five course meals make the meal plan a must - several changing choices for appetizer, soup, salad, and dessert and 8-10 for entrees mean you likely won't even want to take advantage of their dine-around option, and when you consider its value ($60 supper + $20 breakfast x 2 = $160/room/ night), the package is cheap.

There's no division of labour here - every staff member seems to be looking for a reason to please whether the request is within their normal job description or not. The maitre de, wait staff and chefs work as a team to ensure every meal is a pleasure, and it seemed that each course materialized magically just when you were ready for it, no fuss, no bother.

The front desk won't let you pass by without greeting you and anticipating your needs. It's impossible to tell which is the manager, asst manager, clerk or shuttle driver - they all do it all, including co-owner Larry. Every one is a tourist guide, friend, and gay witty raconteur.

We used the shuttle constantly to go back and forth to the golf course, bus stop, and convenience store and never waited more than five minutes - it was like we had our own private chauffeur.

While checking out, my wife asked the lady at the desk if she might have something she could use to do a temporary patch job on her luggage. The airline had cracked off a wheel on her hard-shelled suitcase leaving a gaping hole. The lady not only came up with - you guessed it - a roll of duct tape, but insisted on doing the repairs herself!

The adjacent Port Royal golf course is a championship track, but fun to play from the whites or ladies tees and what views!

We were there in the March shoulder season when nothing was fully booked, and so no doubt got better service, but this hotel only has 75 rooms, so am sure this staff will please even when full, and there will likely be more of them on then, too.

Rooms a bit dated, but have huge patios, bedrooms and baths, and site says they're being upgraded - they were fine for us and the beds were deadly!!??!!

Entertainment 2/5 nights, Mervin the affable bartender

Room Tip: Upper deluxe waterfront means you're right on the ocean and convenient to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dufferMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    204
    40
    37
    10
See reviews for
323
644
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for only one night as we were guests at a wedding held here. Being a family owned business the staff from manager down over are exceptionally friendly and very efficient. The room and the view of the sea were to die for. The choice of breakfast would satisfy anyone. Nothing seems to be a problem to them. Bermuda is currently having a problem attracting tourists. The fact that you can't hire cars and it is an expensive place to holiday could well be a factor. It may be that it is certainly an expensive place to holiday but for those that can afford it the experience of visiting the many beautifully coloured coves makes it all worth while. You will not find any cheap bargains in the clothes shops though so take all the clothes you need with you. Most things will cost you a lot lot more than you would pay in the UK.
The island is small enough (14 miles x 9 miles) for you to cover during your stay. The problem is you cannot hire any cars whatsoever - only scooters, bicycles or a taxi. Be aware that the scooters are NOT insured for theft so be careful where you park them. I was told there was so many of them being stolen that you can't insure them. However, the bus service is easy to use and goes to most places. Make sure you have the exact fare as the buses do not give change so buy your bus tickets from various outlets before getting on. Most restaurants have gratuities added to the bill so don't tip twice.
I wouldn't say Bermuda was a place for the elderly or infirm due to the steep gradients of some of the roads unless they have transport. The pavements are non existent in many places and where they are provided it is difficult to walk three abreast making it less than desirable where children are concerned.

Room Tip: The rate you pay (tourist rate) will be more than a local would pay so if you know anyone on the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Pompano is a wonderful, family-owned and operated resort on the southwest end of the island. On many previous trips, I stayed in the city-center of Hamilton for ease of access to local shops and restaurants. Most essentials are within walking distance staying in-town, but not the beaches!. My wife and I discovered Pompano about 15 years ago and return every chance we get. This early March trip was my 25th time vacationing on the island, and while the weather left a bit to be desired, the property is as wonderful as ever. The last trip was 5 years ago, and several of the staff remembered us and greeted us warmly. The location and clifftop views of the ocean and sunsets are unbeatable - even in Bermuda! There are more luxurious and modern accommodations on the island, but the warmth at Pompano is unmatched. The rooms are currently being refurbished, but all have ocean views and most have patios for sunset watching. As the resort was originally a fishing club in the 1950's, the rooms are fairly plain and unassuming, but comfortable and well appropriated. The lobby and common areas, however, are spectacular! And chances are you're not going to spend much time in your room in a spot like this!
We always opt for the meal plan, which includes a full made-to-order breakfast and a gourmet dinner. While dining at the same location each day at first seems undesirable, the variety of menu items, excellent service, and financial benefits outweigh the negatives. There are two restaurants on-property. They also have dine-around agreements with other beautiful properties nearby if one simply must dine elsewhere. And you can explore the island's fine dining for lunch at your leisure.
The resort is relatively secluded, so transportation to/from nearby townships is by bus, taxi or scooter. I recommend the scooter for younger folks, but the bus system is very efficient. Taxis are a last resort because of the expense, but the drivers are always friendly and willing to tell you about their lovely island.
Pompano will always hold a warm spot in our traveling hearts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I had stayed at the Fairmont Southampton in March 2012 and it was fantastic. However, we thought we would try other accommodations this year, just to broaden our experience. We looked at reviews on Tripadvisor and selected Pompano Beach Club, based on overall score and reviews. The location is outstanding, to be sure. Right on modest cliffs overlooking the beautiful ocean. That's where the awesome ends, unfortunately. The entire property could use a power wash...first impression as we drove up. The room was disappointing. So outdated and musty. Holes in the drapes, a block of wood under one leg of the bed frame. The securing chain on the door was an afterthought and appeared to have been installed with a chisel. The dining room was in need of paint and general upgrade, as was the rest of the areas. I was really struggling to reconcile what we had read under the reviews section on Tripadvisor with what I was experiencing and thought perhaps I was expecting too much. But, I decided, no, it's not me. It is hard for me to write a negative review, because I don't like to. But, I just had to share our experience. In any event, after two days, we decided to leave and stay the remainder of our holiday at another place. As soon as we told them we were leaving early, a cold wind blew over us. I can completely appreciate how difficult it is to run a place like this, and I have no doubt the Lamb brothers try very hard to maintain the legacy of the family property, but I work hard too and I don't have the luxury of blowing off $400 a night for a less-than-positive experience. I do wish them well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLIII, Managing Director at Pompano Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We sincerely regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations and are sorry that you felt you needed to check out of our resort five days earlier than you'd been scheduled to depart. When my brother, Larry (our General Manager), talked with you in the lobby about your decision to check out at such short notice, you told him that everything was fine on our end but that you'd had a "change in preference". Larry offered to switch you to another room to see if that might make a difference, however, you still wanted to change hotels. As you know, you were not penalized by us for leaving early. We're sorry if you felt "a cold wind" blew over you when you initially told our front desk staff that you wanted to check out five days early. Your announcement definitely surprised us!

We realize that it isn't easy to please everyone all the time because people have different tastes and preferences. That being said, we really do care about all of our guests' experiences. For those who've read your review, it is important that they realize your comment "the dining room was in need of paint and general upgrade, as was the rest of the areas" is very unfair and simply not true. All of our lobby, front desk and Sunset Lounge ceilings, walls and woodwork - including both of our restaurants - were completely repainted by professional painters during the month of January! Plus, all of our dark wood furniture in the Cedar Room restaurant is less than two years old (and in great condition), with the Ocean Grill restaurant also in great physical shape. Our resort was closed in January for a few weeks so that we could add new travertine marble to several of our lobby floor areas and dramatic new double tier windows to our lower lobby area. For you to suggest that our "other areas" were in need of upgrading after all the work we'd just done in our main building, is hard for us to fathom! Even your comment about the chain on your guestroom door is surprising because all of our entry doors have deadbolt locks on them. Very few of our entry doors even have the security chains any more because they all have deadbolt locks.

We know that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and that Trip Advisor provides a forum for you to do so. We only wish that you'd given us an opportunity to address your concerns when you were asked because we hopefully could have changed your mind about us before you left.
We are all about hospitality and service and are just sorry that we weren't what you were looking for.

Cordially,

Tom Lamb
Managing Director
Pompano Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was good to be back and to see so many familiar staff members after this long period.Larry Lamb is such a welcoming, hands on manager. It is so relaxing to have breakfast and dinner included with your room rate. This property is low key and quiet. The staff friendly wherever they are, from the most efficient shuttle service to the dinning room. We can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the meal package,it's great value especially in Bermuda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff and accommodations are fabulous!!! Family Friendly.... Fun for All!!!
Always there to assist in any fashion. So many things to see and do in Bermuda.
Ferry is close by for shopping in Hamilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I just paid my first visit to Bermuda - for a quick 'had enough of bad weather' getaway - and chose Pompano Beach Club after viewing several web sites on Bermuda Hotels. I chose their 4 night (4th night free) golf package (2 rounds of golf at nearby Port Royal), Modified American Plan including breakfast and dinner. EVERYTHING surpassed my expectations. Two areas in particular stand out. The entire staff provided outstanding, genuinely friendly service, and this friendliness went beyond the usual "we are staff, be nice to the tourists" common to many resorts. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent throughout. The only negative was that my stay was too short, one that I plan to rectify on my next visit. from what (admittedly,little) I have seen on Bermuda hotels and restaurants the Pompano Beach Club is an excellent value and I unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,364 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Property: Pompano Beach Club
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road | Bermuda, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing