We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much is so good about this distinctive property”
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent Christmas at Pompano and enjoyed it very, very much. We intend to return and hope to stay longer. Pompano is one-of-a-kind and it shows in so many ways: staff, location, meals, ambiance and history. The resort is family owned. There are continuous improvements made, and Winter 2013 will be no exception.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room so that's all we can speak to. The room was large, the view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SEbiztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

When vacationing on an island, I take great pleasure in watching the often magical nightly display of the sun setting into the water. Watching the sun dip into the water... the colours... the sky... the very feeling it never fails to evoke in me...

So when choosing a place to stay, I am very keen about it's positioning. Pompano offers a great vantage point, being on the correct side of the island. I found that going down to the boathouse, which was closed by sunset, allowed the best unobstructed view, as well as total privacy:) You can also time your dining to coincide with the sunset, which we also did.

There are three downsides to this resort:

1. Small beach. It is picture perfect, a small crecent shaped beach man made by the installation of two long rock breakwaters. But don't expect to be able to take a sroll; it is very short, and it can get crowded. But the swimming is fantastic. Take a snorkle and go beyond the breakwaters to the left as you face the water, and you are guaranteed to see a nice display of interesting fish. There is also a raft to swim out to. Of course, if you really want a beach day, take a trip to Horseshoe beach. It's easy to get to, and really the best beach on the island.

2. Steps. The resort is built into and on top of a hill, so expect to do stairs to get to the beach. Not a problem for me, but want to point it out for those who may experience difficulty.

3. Price. It is Expensive! Wow. But it's Bermuda, and lodgings tend to be expensive. I've been to the island twice as it is really nice in so many regards, but it is not an affordable place to go by any means, relative to the Carribean.

Other thoughts- the food was OK. It was included in our plan, so we took advantage if it by eating mostly here. But, the views are unparalleled! The room was fine. We wanted a second floor for better views, an suggest you ask for one as well. There are a few mini marts close by to buy snacks and drinks from, and the resort will happily drive you there.

If you are like me and want that nightly sunset, this is the place to be. Enjoy!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We can't recommend this place enough for a honeymoon or vacation. The sunset views are spectacular. The food is 5 star quality in the restaurants. When staying here a full breakfast and full course dinner are included in the price. The staff are very friendly and nice. They have entertainment every night and dancing. The hotel is right on the beach. The owners even had a party and all guests were invited. They had loads of appetizers and rum swizzles for everyone. They even drive you to the bus stop if you want to go somewhere and pick you up when you get back! The snorkeling is also very good here. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: This hotel is situated on a cliff so if you have trouble climbing stairs definitely ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

40 of us stayed at Pompano in November for the Women & Golf Bermuda Trophy - what a class act Pompano is!

Larry & Tom Lamb have creaed a wonderful ambiance to compliment a spectacular location. The staff are attentive and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food on offer at the hotel is fantastic - Merv the barman makes the best G&T in the world! The rooms are spacious and the reception areas give the place a true colonial feel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes the good things in life, including fun, laughter and relaxation. Pompano has it all...watch out boys we're coming back next year x

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe ocean view - it's like waking up on a cruise liner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We would have liked to have graded this property excellent, and had every intention of doing so before we arrived, based on friends' recommendations and Trip Advisor reviews. This traditional Bermudian establishment was exactly what we were looking for, but time and possibly the economy had taken a toll on the maintenance of the property. In all fairness we had to postpone our trip twice because of superstorm Sandy and a closed airport. They continued to be able to accommodate us when we finally arrived one month after our original reservation and also let us use an expired coupon for a $400 credit, so we were very grateful for that.

We had booked a deluxe room months earlier which was not available, due to our change in dates, our final night. That turned out to be very bad news, we were transferred to a "suite", the bedroom of which reminded me of a Motel 6 room, the sea view faced the other direction. Our deluxe room, on the other hand for the first 3 nights, was fabulous, with a great view of the ocean, the sound of the waves audible from our bed. We had MAP, dinner each night in their restaurant, good food but not great with the exception of the fabulous fish chowder. Alina, in charge of the Ocean Grill restaurant, did her best to make our experience positive, but our impression was that groups and parties visiting the facility were given priority over those of us who were there as guests. The staff, which everyone says is so accommodating, was not so much to us. We were tolerated rather than made to feel welcome, like uninvited guests. I would suggest they develop an excursion program for visitors--taking the bus or renting the taxi was the only way to see the beautiful island.

The bottom line: beautiful views, beautiful deluxe room. Intrusive music, a poor choice, piped in the restaurants, with satisfactory but not excellent cuisine. Our 40th anniversary trip was very good, but not the excellent experience we had anticipated.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room. Avoid the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank elbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the very second 40 lady golfers from around the world arrived at Pompana.. The two brothers that own it.. and all staff.. could not have done more to make this one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.. From the fab room overlooking the clear blue sea.. to the food.. heated outdoor pool. lovely private beach below it was excepitionall.
Susie G

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A dozen of us traveled to Bermuda for a birthday celebration. Family owned hotel with owners on site almost all the time. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Even though there was also a large group of golfers, we were treated well and felt "special." Meals were excellent-lots of choices; entertainment was great fun! We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and plan on going back again...and again....Would not stay anywhere else! AML

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe, it's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AML50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $279 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing