We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“We had a nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent a week at the Pompano Beach Club in late September 2012. So much has been said about this resort by other reviewers, I’m just going to make a few comments based on our experience.

Pros: lovely setting, with a beautiful beach for swimming, snorkeling, and relaxing. The water is so clear you can see the fish from the restaurant balcony. The meal plan was very good value, and we enjoyed the nightly meals dining on the patio in the Cedar Room. The majority of the staff is friendly and professional. The staff was very helpful in arranging for local shuttles, and giving advice on transportation around the island. We enjoyed our ferry trip from the Naval Dockyard to St. George. Our morning cruise around the island with one of the local operators was enjoyable. We found ourselves with a generally pleasant group of guests. Relaxed ambiance. The owners keep a close eye on the entire operation. Good access to internet.

Cons: Our room and bathroom smelled musty. It was clear that the problem was coming from the air conditioner, and these would benefit from regular cleaning/disinfecting. The sliding glass door in our room was old and worn out, accompanied by a plastic “security bar” (no working lock on the door). The room rate seems high for the quality of the rooms, even allowing for the location. The decor in the Ocean Grill is outdated, uninspiring, and in definite need of renovation. The pool is small, and the pool water was so warm when we were visiting, that it really wasn’t comfortable for swimming. The nightly entertainment is pretty basic for a luxury resort. However, maybe this is reflective of who is available. The fitness area was disappointing.

On checking out, I was presented with my bill, but wasn’t asked if I had enjoyed my stay.

In summary, we had a very nice time, but in our experience, the resort wasn't up to the international luxury standards we had hoped for. The setting, as all other reviewers have said, is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    215
    41
    37
    11
See reviews for
338
669
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been to the Pompano 4 times in the last 5 years. Each time we feel totally welcomed by the owners and staff. The people who work there know us by name and treat us like old friends. The views are spectacular and this resort has the best beach. The sand and water are pristine. The swimming is fantastic - the water temp is perfect. There is a beach bar 20 feet from your comfy beach chair. All the rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable with a balcony or patio overlooking the water- there are spectacular sunsets and sunrises. The dining rooms offer great menus and dinner is particularly good. There is entertainment at night. If you are looking to relax, play some golf, swim, snorkel, play tennis, eat, hang out with friends, this is the place to go. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Pompano. We were greated by one of the owners. Felt special from that moment on!. The beds, pillows and comforter were heaven!! Our room overlooked the beautiful clear water. The staff were the most cordial and friendly, even called us by name. We are already discussing our next trip back. For the most friendly and casual place in Bermuda go to the Pompano. None of the stuffy stuff the books or the web-sites mention. PERFECT.

Room Tip: The Marlyin Manor or the Dolphin House are the closest to the pool and dinning rooms. There are alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from nine nights in paradise. We have already booked our reservations for next year and cannot wait to return. The Pompano Beach Club offers the best location, service, dining and ultimately value in all of Bermuda. Our decision to stay at this resort was almost solely based on the overwhelming number of positive Tripadvisor reviews. It is worth mentioning that I’m a veteran hotelier of more than 28 years and currently operate four hotels. In addition to reviewing the resort, I hope to provide you with tips, tricks and hints that will enhance your upcoming vacation. Feel free to email me directly if you have any additional questions.
Before our feet touched the ground at Pompano we were being greeted by Tom Lamb, one of the resort’s owners/managers. After checking in, Tom proceeded to give us a personal tour of the property. Tom introduced us to his brother and business partner, Larry Lamb. Larry manages the daily operations of the resort year-round. Both Lamb brothers do an amazing job of carrying on their family’s amazing legacy. The Lamb family developed the Pompano Beach Club from the ground up. Images in the lobby showcase the resort’s well thought out and impressive growth over several decades. My wife and I stayed in a ground level deluxe room. The guestroom images on the resort’s website accurately capture what you can anticipate upon your arrival. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The bed and bedding are incredibly comfortable. The sunset view from your room and the entire resort is truly breathtaking. To help stock your guestroom, the resort’s staff will drive you to a local grocery store which also sells liquor (be aware that no liquor is sold on Sunday). Both the pool and lobby bar offer great signature drinks including Bermuda’s best “Swizzle”. We ate both on and off site. While vacationing, my wife and I typically love sampling the region’s local flavors. After traveling the island and experiencing several restaurants, I can say without a doubt that BOTH the best value and quality are at the Pompano. On two occasions, we had the pleasure of eating the five course meal served in the Cedar Room. The menu changes nightly and both dining experiences were truly “world class”. Several evenings we ate in the Ocean Grill which offers a well thought out ala carte menu. We absolutely loved the Ocean Grill restaurant and highly recommend it. My wife gives two thumbs up to the Oriental Salad, Chicken Scaloppini and Sea Scallops. I highly recommend the Tuna appetizer, Fish Chowder, Tiger Shrimp entrée, Pompano entrée, and Ravioli. While vacationing, we met several couples and each of them participated in the dining plan. Each and every one of them was thrilled that they did. Personally, I didn’t like the feeling of being locked into being back at the resort for dinner. Knowing what we do now, we will participate in the dining plan next year. On several occasions we ate lunch in the Coral Reef Café. When compared to offsite alternatives…it was by far the best value for lunch we could find in all of Bermuda. The beach is breath taking and one of the nicest we have ever experienced. Pink sand, umbrellas, lounge chairs and a tiki bar…need I say more? There are two floating rafts/docks to swim out to. The furthest one is a 10 – 15 minute swim. From the raft there are two reefs that can be easily accessed and explored. With your back to the resort, I preferred the reef to the right of the raft. If the swim sounds overwhelming, keep in mind that a large portion of it can be walked at low tide. PLEASE be aware of where the boat traffic lane is (not to far beyond the raft) and stay out of it. Also, pay very close attention to currents, under currents, and tides. Occasionally stop and try to stand in one place. By doing so, you will quickly be able to determine if there is a current that will affect your swim. If you have snorkeling equipment, I highly recommend hugging the coastline in front of the resort’s water sports center. There is an amazing array of fish life close to shore. While we didn’t use the water sport center, several people we met raved about the different options they provided guests. The resort provides three wonderful hot tubs and a relaxing pool. During our September visit, the resort’s lounge hosted some form of nightly entertainment. The entertainers were wonderful and always provided a great way to wrap up each day.
TRANSPORTATION: Use CEO Transportation to and from the airport. Be sure to call and confirm your departure time the day before leaving. Our pick up time changed and we were not notified. Our last morning, we would have easily been able to get a little more sun or gone swimming if we knew we had an extra hour or two. To save money, we decided to use the bus system to get around the island. If you do the same, be sure to get and use a time schedule of when buses run. We had planned to buy an unlimited use seven day pass, Tom Lamb and a desk agent convinced us to purchase ticket books instead. As a result, we saved more than $50. Share your plans with someone at the desk and they will be able to steer you to the best deal based on your particular plans. Avoid the buses a) early in the morning midweek as residents and students overwhelm the system getting to school and work, b) ditto for 4-5:30 pm, or c) when cruise ships are first disembarking or passengers are returning. Be keenly aware that the bus schedule is drastically scaled back during the weekend. In addition to bus schedules being scaled back, the taxi fares almost double on the weekend, holidays and later at night. We may have saved a lot of money using the buses, but we wasted a RIDICULOUS amount of time in the process. Also be forewarned that the bus rides almost always left my wife’s (and others) stomach feeling queasy. If you can afford to take taxis…do it.
GENERAL INFORMATION: A simple observation, women seem to out dress men in Bermuda. For dinner, most men are in shorts and a collared shirt. Women wear more formal evening wear. For me personally, wearing a tie and jacket on vacation is simply not happening. Wish there was a happy medium for both men and women. I actually enjoyed (choke) shopping in Hamilton and at the Dockyard. Neither place offers an abundance of shopping and the end result is a short and sweet experience. My wife actually got some great deals…seriously! There are a handful of scuba diving operations in Bermuda. I earned my Open Water PADI certification during our visit. I used Triangle Diving and saved quite a bit of money. Unfortunately, Triangle is on the other end of the island. There are three dive shops that are much closer and several guests gave equally high praise to. We tried to experience Crystal Caves. Long story short, if you have someone that is in anyway shape or form claustrophobic, skip the cave experience.
A huge “thank you” to both Lamb brothers and the entire staff of the Pompano. You do an amazing job and we cannot thank you enough for your hospitality. We will look forward to seeing all of you next year.

Room Tip: From what we could tell...there was not a bad room in the hotel. Each room offers breathtaking view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrettLoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Pompano Beach Resort. In short, it was a fantastic experience topped off by the wonderful atmosphere and accomodations provided by the the resort owners, Larry and Tom Lamb, and their incredible staff. As other reviews have said, Pompano is truly a taste of paradise tucked away at off the main road at the western end of the island. This was the first trip to Bermuda for me and my wife. We considered several other places to stay, but after reading about the owners and finding such a consistent history of accolades about the club, we decided to book with Pompano. It might seem insignificant to most people, but even the booking process was a key factor for us. Our conversations with Mary, Joyce and Jean (who handle the reservations) were very, very pleasant and they were so patient and friendly with us as we asked our probing and sometimes trivial questions about the resort.

The resort itself is awesome. Aside from being perched on a hillside in such a way that there are breathtaking views from just about every vantage point, the beach and surf area are right out of a post card. Pompano has a rather large area of relatively shallow water that runs about 100 yards off the beach. When combined with warm water and the pure white & pink-ish sand, it's like being in an enormous pool. There are two 10' x 10' platforms that the club has placed off the beach. The first is only about 50 yards out, but the second is strategically placed at the outer edge of the shallows (maybe 300 yards off the beach). My wife and I enjoyed swimming out to the 2nd platform with our snorkeling gear where there are gorgeous reefs bursting with coral and brightly colored fish a short distance away.

All of the rooms are in buildings detached from the main hotel complex, which boasts several dining areas, a night club, a game room and several lounge areas. We stayed in one of the closer buildings adjacent to the main complex, but none of the buildings are very far away.

Pompano offers meal plans if you like to avoid the hassle of having to venture off to find a restaurant. One of the quaint things we liked about Bermuda (and particularly the areas away from the main town of Hamilton) was the absence of commercial businesses, stores and restaurants. If lots of stores and restaurants are what you're looking for, maybe look for something closer to Hamilton. But if you're looking for peace, quiet and relaxation, Pompano is the perfect place to be. Because of this, however, we recommend you consider taking one of their meal plan offers. We did the plan that provides breakfasts and dinners. This worked great for us as we were typically out touring or doing other things around the island during the day, and thus had our lunches elsewhere. The morning and evening were great times to be at one of the clubs restaurants that offer some great seating options overlooking the beach and surf areas. Every morning and evening, we enjoyed our meals either watching for fish activity in the surf (which happened almost every morning) or watching beautiful sunsets. And to pile on to what others have said in reviews about Pompano, the food there is great.

Throughout our stay, Larry and Tom were everpresent and always looking to lend a hand or provide some suggestions about the island. We've stayed at numerous hotels and resorts around the world and we have NEVER seen owners take such a sincere and genuine interest in their guests. The personal touch that they put into the Pompano experience is truly unique and very special.

Thank you Larry, Tom and your 5-star team!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room and, for the two of us, found it to be very comfortable. The bathroom (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Pompano Beach club in Bermuda and immediately upon being greeted by Clay, one of the staff, we found it to be the warmest and most welcoming place we have ever been. What a rare feeling to experience from any resort! We can honestly say, when our stay here came to an end, we felt like we were one of the family.
The owners Larry & Tom are more than gracious and always took the time to stop and chat with their guests. Many times during our stay we saw them around the property tending to any task that needed attention, big or small.
Pompano's location is perfectly situated about a half mile in from the road, with their rooms nestled along ocean front cliffs. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with endless views that are nothing short of incredible.
Our deluxe room was everything we could ask for and more. It was spacious, clean, nicely decorated with the most breath taking view from our balcony. Throughout our entire stay we wanted for nothing and soon came to feel like we were their only guests.
The beach, although small, was picturesque and more than met our needs with plenty of chairs, umbrellas, refreshments and water sport activities at our disposal.
One of the highlights of our stay was our special dinning treat. After returning from a successful reef fishing excursion, arranged by Larry Lamb with Captain Shinner, our catch was personally prepared 3 different ways by the chef and served to us as our dinner appetizer. We found the food at Pompano Beach Club to be beyond excellent and our fish was no exception.
In speaking with several other guests, we were not surprised to learn that most were return guests of several years, and after just one visit, we knew we would be joining them.
If you are looking for a small, private, relaxing and extremely friendly place to enjoy your time in Bermuda, Pompano Beach Club will not disappoint you. They say it's the little things in life that make the difference and we found that to be very true here with special touches everywhere we looked.
No matter how long your stay here, it will never be long enough and you will leave with thoughts of planning your next trip.
There are less expensive places to stay in Bermuda, but after our stay with the Lamb's and their amazing staff, our hearts now belong to Pompano Beach Club and our next visit can't come soon enough.
Our sincere thanks to the Lamb's and the entire staff at Pompano for giving us an anniversary memory we won't soon forget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomTully57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our family of 10 celebrated our 50th anniversary at this superb resort in late June. The hotel facilities are wonderful, the owners first class and very attentive, the staff were the best we have encountered in a long long time, the food excellent with lots of choice, and the accommodations most comfortable. The location is beautifully situated and the small beach clean and well kept, quite sufficient for families with small children. There is a choice of restaurants and always evening entertainment; many games rooms; and great rum swizzles. We cherish the memories, re-viewing our pictures over and over again. Allister & Lorraine MacLeod, Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
5.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Property: Pompano Beach Club
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing