We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth $2.50 and some exercise!”

Gibb's Hill Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Wildcat Boat Adventure Blast in Bermuda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest cast iron lighthouse in the world provides breathtaking views of the Bermuda shoreline.
Level Contributor
656 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Worth $2.50 and some exercise!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The lighthouse is awesome and the views were worth the 185 steps. The walk from the bus stop is around a ten minute walk uphill unless you can bum a ride like we did. The people here we encountered were all very very nice. If you have time on the island do it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Palmgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    295
    44
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“wow what a great view!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well worth the 1000's of steps to climb (no Lift) Has a gift shop and tea room at the bottom. Costs $2.50 but well worth it. A bit scary as you go right outside on a very little balcony with frail rusty rails preventing your immediate instant death if you fell !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pleasuretoserve007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't beat $2.50 in Bermuda!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great view of Bermuda from the top - but pick your day wisely. The first day I tried to go it was too windy to even open the door at the top (tip - if the door is closed it is probably not worth going outside!) but on the second attempt I made it! I am not afraid of heights but it is a pretty scary platform - let's just say I was hugging the wall! Its pretty close to Southampton and the beaches and for $2.50 what's not to love?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank soundofmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but very windy”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a stop on the tour with Heidi of Byway Tours of Bermuda. I climbed to the top of the lighthouse to get a great view of the area. It was really beautiful, but it was so windy that day. They have a very nice gift shop also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fantastic view of the island from the top. Not for the faint hearted. Long spiral staircase to the top and once there you actually walk outside around the top. Stunning views but...oh my.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibb's Hill Lighthouse also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 
Paget Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Gibb's Hill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing