We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for average fare.”

The Dining Room at Gibb's Hill Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average fare.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice setting but very average food. Overpriced for the quality of the meal. Bland. Undercooked potatoes. Bones left in the turkey meat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhoggy, Owner at The Dining Room at Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Please consider this a sincere apology I will look into tho immediately.
This is not my policy and we always welcome people standing outside in rain or shine always.
I am absolutely digested with the attitude of my staff.

Please feel free to contact me on my email oangeli@mac.com
Or if you prefer call my cell @ 3312167 I would like to get to the bottom of this ASAP

Kind Regards

Odilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    120
    51
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, wonderful food”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent two lovely evenings here on a recent trip to Bermuda. The atmosphere is very special, and the view stunning. The food was relentlessly sublime (a welcome contrast to Bermuda hotel dining rooms!)... the fish carpaccio was fresh and perfectly prepared, the beef stroganoff amazing, the Bermuda soup much enjoyed. Charming staff and very personable, engaged chef. Only problem that it is an intimate space with stone floors and walls, so very noisy when a rowdy large table is sitting alongside you, which happened to us twice - as such my only suggestion would be to put some rugs on the floor to absorb some noise. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AContentedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After coming to the conclusion that dinner in Bermuda is just "OK", we decided to check out the Dining Room, a recommendation from our hotel. We were so glad we took the recommendation and had a great experience. It was much smaller and more intimate than other places there, which we really enjoyed, especially since it was our honeymoon. The service was somewhat slow, but that was OK for us, since we were enjoying our wine and the company. Once we ordered, food came out at a better pace. They let us sit there for about 10 minutes with the menu before letting us know about some things that were not available (about 4 things out of 12). Luckily it was not anything we had settled on, but they should let you know before you decide if things are not available. The food was exceptional and we had an overall great dining experience. We look forward to returning to Bermuda and the Dining Room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food that lights up your taste buds”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of the best places that we ate in on our holiday. If the staff were a little better we would have given it 5 stars.Our starters were both light and tasty and the main course of freshly caught local fish with glass noodles and crisp vegetables was an absolute delight. This was washed down with a couple of bottles of cool dry white Sauvignon Blanc. Staff were nice but not very attentive and could maybe smile a little more. That said we would recommend this place to all. It is a beautiful location with top class cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MetinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gibbs Hill”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a nice surprise this restaurant used to be a small breakfast and lunch place, what a nice surprise to see it evolve into an upscale place we would visit again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomaswbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Gibb's Hill Lighthouse also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to The Dining Room at Gibb's Hill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing