We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last beach on beach trek” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Bay Beach

Horseshoe Bay Beach
Book In Advance
$84.00*
and up
Crystal Caves, Shopping and Beach Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swim in safety at Bermuda's most popular beach, best known for the lifeguard on duty from May to September.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Last beach on beach trek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived at Horseshoe Bay Beach last after we trekked from beach to beach. If you want any amenities, this is the beach for you--restrooms, food, beach toys, chairs, lifeguards, etc. The day that we were there was right after Raphael had passed through and the waves were very high. I spoke with one of the lifeguards after seeing her rescue someone and she said that was the fourth rescue that day! I guess if you want to risk your life, at least do it here where they can rescue you!! It was a walk up the hill to catch the bus back into town but you can get a ride for $2 in a van. After a long, hot day in the sun, it might be worth it. If you want to be where there are not many people, as in secluded beach, please keep walking past Horseshoe to the left. There are many coves with not nearly as many people. The sand is a beautiful pink but there are no seashells, which I found interesting. I only found one in the three days we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tgsauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,844
    433
    101
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Impressive and lovely - a true must see...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Horseshoe Bay Beach is reportedly the most popular and photographed beach in Bermuda, and may be Bermuda's top tourist attraction, per some resources. There's no fee. It is rather stunning. It is approximately 1/3 of a mile crescent with pink sand and clear water. It can, depending on when you visit, get very busy. It is very picturesque and a photographer's delight. If you can climb the rock formation(s) the views are incredible...as are the dune trails that can lead you to other utterly beautiful coves to the east...to the west is Port Royal Cove or 'Baby Beach' which is equally pretty and fun. Great for old and young alike...

The beach is staffed with lifeguards (May thru October), and there is a snack bar with indoor or outdoor eating, changing rooms, a beach rental facility, outdoor showers and faucets. Rentals ( lounge chairs, umbrellas, etc.) average $10.00/each or so (we did not require any rentals - simply our towel on the sand). You can purchase alcohol, soda, ice cream, fast-food. The undertow can be a bit strong, though we did not find it to be difficult at all (it is stronger on other beaches on the island, i.e., Warwick Long Bay).

I would say that it is best to get there early, or possibly late, in the day. *I would advise early. Mid-day can be rather crowded. It will also depend on the time of the year - we went in October so it wasn't bad at all. If you take the bus, there is a relatively steep walk down to the beach - so be advised. It is not so bad going down, but after spending time there, getting back up can be a true pain. When we were there, a gentleman was parked there and charging $2.00/person to drive folks up the hill to the bus stop. I found this rather high, yet for many it is a plus and a definite consideration on a hot day and feeling fatigued. As we had scooters - we were good :) [without the scooter I would have paid the $2.00].

Bring your camera, sandals (the sand can get hot), a hat, towel, sunglasses, sunscreen for sure. There was really nothing that we didn't like on the day we visited. It was an awesome time, not too crowded and perfect weather. A bit hot, even. Waves were great. You could spend a day here, but that's not necessary - up to you. A few hours may be fine for some and then on to other things - always can return if so desired :-) If you're on a cruise ship you're time in Bermuda is limited, so that may well be a consideration? It was for me...

Overall, I would rate this as a must see if you're vacationing in Bermuda. Frequently rated as one of the top beaches in the world, it is well worth your time. I visited with 2 daughters and a son-in-law, all in their 20's - and they loved it - they went here twice ( I skipped the 2nd visit as I had other interests that I wanted to get to)...go early, but do go. You don't want to visit Bermuda and not be able to show photos and talk about this dazzling beach...!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Beach - A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful beach...Man-o-War warnings not true...especially in November. We spent a lot of time in the water and exploring the caves.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yodah133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This beach was simply gorgeous. If you take the time to walk past the rocks you will find a whole other beach area with amazing water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
655 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but nothing too different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a few hours while roaming beach to beach in Bermuda. Of course this is the most well known and therefore the most crowded....but the views once you climb the rocks there are amazing! Pink sands and cool waters in late October make it nice for reading and sunning but the wind was really strong and blew sands around hard. Could have just been that day but overall beautiful. Go early!

Helpful?
1 Thank Palmgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseshoe Bay Beach also viewed

Paget Parish, Bermuda
 
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Horseshoe Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing