We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2007

The room was beautiful with an awesome view of the ocean, lighthouse, and golf course. The staff was very helpful. Plenty of options for meals as they have many restaurants. Meals are pricey. The private beach is magnificent. Bermuda itself is expensive, but this was a trip of a lifetime and so worth it. We took a tour of Hamilton and a Catamaran/Snorkel trip. We had a wonderful time and would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,776 - 3,782 of 4,013 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton for 3 nights to attend a wedding (which took place on the beach at the Fairmont and was beautiful with excellent food). We found the hotel to be lovely and enjoyed our stay. Our room was pretty, clean, and comfortable. We did have one of the rooms on the 3rd floor that overlooked the roof, but we didn't mind as we were barely in there. If you stay there, make sure you check out the "Wine Cellar" bar....it's a bit hard to find but worth it. One nice thing about the hotel is that it has several boutique stores on location, making it easy to pick up gifts/souvenirs. The beach is really beautiful both during the day and at night. In addition, I left my camera charger behind, and after contacting them via phone and email, they were very helpful in retrieving it for me and giving it to my cousin who was still staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank katyc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

I suppose this hotel could work for some people but we couldn't figure out any reason to return other than for a quota club or other corporate sponsored event. The hotel seems understaffed since they take care of such large and numerous corporate events.

Plus side: scenic beach. They do run out of towels and umbrellas. We didn't wait in line for drinks at the beach side bar but saw many a person come back empty handed after giving up from the long wait. The bar at the public beach right next door (less than a 5 minute walk) worked great for us.

We also had a wonderful view of the island from our room.

Negatives: sad people dealing with lengthy waits. We thought we'd get a bite at Wickets but again heard many a complaint from people not being taken care of so we left.

This place could work if you get a great package deal and you are able to think out of the box and leave the resort. We rented mopeds and had a great time. Went to Robinson's Marina at the world's smallest drawbridge to jet ski because again, the Fairmont was unable to accomodate us. I have a feeling we had a much better experience at the marina than we would have had at the Fairmont....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MAWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Did not live up to our expectations. Needed to move rooms several times, and staff was not friendly about it. Rooms were noisy, and people had obviously smoked in the non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LindaJSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

After having stayed at other Fairmont hotels and other wonderful hotels in this price range I had expected a great hotel, nice rooms, excellent food and service. We did not get to check in until 5:30 and the hotel was overbooked due to a conference so they were moving some people to their sister property (which does not have a beach). Our room was nice and updated but two other couples in our group had bathrooms that were a disaster (rusted tubs, old tile, not updated at all) but that were however the same price as our rooms. After finally getting into our rooms one of our friends walked into a room with two double beds after confirming hours before that it was a king. Another friend had a tv that would not work and then had hotel staff in and out for three hours fixing it.

The food was terrible at the poolside restaurant and the lounge. The breakfast buffet was great as was the Waterloo Inn Restaurant.

The pool is just ok - in comparison to other hotels of this price and rating. The beach is a trolley ride away! It is pretty but you can't just leave the pool to quick go down to the ocean, etc. The bar and food service at the beach is awful. Literally waited in line for an hour. They claim to have staff walk around for orders but we never saw anyone. The pool offers that too and they did come around but it was very long, if they even brought it to you.

Spa is great - wonderful views from the patios and indoor pool area. Not as nice as other Willow Streams I've been to though.

Overall, would go back to Bermuda for sure but would not stay there again. They were great at making up for things gone wrong but really what you want is for things not to go wrong. Main complaint was the beach being SO far away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Massachusetts123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I just returned from the Fairmont Princess and will give the pro's first - short flight from NY, beautiful beaches, good food, nice rooms and good weather. All reasons that should give us reason to want to go back but there are more con's than pro's not only for this hotel but for the island as a whole. You never had the "island" feel at this hotel or the other 2 we visited. No music on the beach or by the pool. Only one person serving the entire beach and pool area for drink orders so we saw her once each day if we were lucky. It was obvious that many of the locals disliked tourists. Shopping in Hamilton was nothing special but was very expensive. The hotel gives you nothing for the money. We met another couple who was there on their honeymoon 30 years ago and then again 10 years ago and they said the service has gone down tremedously and they never felt the resentment from the locals like they did on this trip. They also had complaints about the Concierge as we did and I noticed in previous reviews as well. They were the least informative or helpful group we have ever come across. All in all, there are other islands that go out of their way to make you feel special, provide entertainment and value for your money and we did not get that feeling in Bermuda. If you still want to give it a try I would recommend the following places to eat but will not be returning to the Fairmont Princess (or Bermuda for that matter) unless they change management who would look at providing value for the money and the natives learn to hide their resentment. Best experiences for food -definitely # 1 is Barracuda's in Hamilton. Lobster Pot in Hamilton very casual but good food. Waterlot on the property for steaks and chops was good and Bacci's on the property was OK for Italian food. By the way, book around a Sunday since nothing is opened that night except King Henry's which leaves alot to be desired. The golf course on the hotel grounds is only a Par 3 course. We heard there are better courses on the island although we doubt the Concierge would know where or how to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nicco1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I went to the Southampton for three days to celebrate my birthday. I got a pretty good deal on Expedia ($800 for four nights including airfare) so I was willing to put up with a few disappointments.

The dining options are limited...the "casual" restaurant closes at 8. If you don't make a reservation at one of the other choices, you are out of luck and forced to go "off campus." On arriving, it took 30 minutes to seat us at the pool side restaurant. The food was straight from the freezer and cost about 3x as much as it would anywhere else. Brunch is expensive, but worth the money. The staff is attentive and friendly.

There was no where to sit by the pool as all the chairs were taken...it's not that there were many people, it's that the pool area is tiny for a resort of this size.

I had to call housekeeping 4x for more towels (bec who doesn't take more than one shower a day when you are at the beach?). When they finally showed up, they gave me an attitude.

The room itself was okay. It was a good size with a huge walk in closet. The sinks are seperate from the shower, which is nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the water, but mostly the green roof.

The ferries to Hamilton are limited. We took one over and it started to rain. They were concerned for the weather so they delayed the departure on the way back, so we were forced to take a $40 cab ride back.

I loved the island of Bermuda, and cannot wait to go back, but I certainly won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sharonalyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,679 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $249 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing