We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A total disappointment”
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I just returned from the Fairmont Princess and will give the pro's first - short flight from NY, beautiful beaches, good food, nice rooms and good weather. All reasons that should give us reason to want to go back but there are more con's than pro's not only for this hotel but for the island as a whole. You never had the "island" feel at this hotel or the other 2 we visited. No music on the beach or by the pool. Only one person serving the entire beach and pool area for drink orders so we saw her once each day if we were lucky. It was obvious that many of the locals disliked tourists. Shopping in Hamilton was nothing special but was very expensive. The hotel gives you nothing for the money. We met another couple who was there on their honeymoon 30 years ago and then again 10 years ago and they said the service has gone down tremedously and they never felt the resentment from the locals like they did on this trip. They also had complaints about the Concierge as we did and I noticed in previous reviews as well. They were the least informative or helpful group we have ever come across. All in all, there are other islands that go out of their way to make you feel special, provide entertainment and value for your money and we did not get that feeling in Bermuda. If you still want to give it a try I would recommend the following places to eat but will not be returning to the Fairmont Princess (or Bermuda for that matter) unless they change management who would look at providing value for the money and the natives learn to hide their resentment. Best experiences for food -definitely # 1 is Barracuda's in Hamilton. Lobster Pot in Hamilton very casual but good food. Waterlot on the property for steaks and chops was good and Bacci's on the property was OK for Italian food. By the way, book around a Sunday since nothing is opened that night except King Henry's which leaves alot to be desired. The golf course on the hotel grounds is only a Par 3 course. We heard there are better courses on the island although we doubt the Concierge would know where or how to get there.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Hotel Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicco1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    1,103
    398
    179
    99
See reviews for
1,044
1,571
97
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I went to the Southampton for three days to celebrate my birthday. I got a pretty good deal on Expedia ($800 for four nights including airfare) so I was willing to put up with a few disappointments.

The dining options are limited...the "casual" restaurant closes at 8. If you don't make a reservation at one of the other choices, you are out of luck and forced to go "off campus." On arriving, it took 30 minutes to seat us at the pool side restaurant. The food was straight from the freezer and cost about 3x as much as it would anywhere else. Brunch is expensive, but worth the money. The staff is attentive and friendly.

There was no where to sit by the pool as all the chairs were taken...it's not that there were many people, it's that the pool area is tiny for a resort of this size.

I had to call housekeeping 4x for more towels (bec who doesn't take more than one shower a day when you are at the beach?). When they finally showed up, they gave me an attitude.

The room itself was okay. It was a good size with a huge walk in closet. The sinks are seperate from the shower, which is nice. We had a balcony that overlooked the water, but mostly the green roof.

The ferries to Hamilton are limited. We took one over and it started to rain. They were concerned for the weather so they delayed the departure on the way back, so we were forced to take a $40 cab ride back.

I loved the island of Bermuda, and cannot wait to go back, but I certainly won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonalyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The Fairmont Southampton is not on a par with other Fairmonts. The rooms are nice and the beach is beautiful, but the service is slow and the food is horrible. Worst concierge staff I have encountered anywhere. Gold Floor is certainly not worth the price. I hae been four times now and the staff, not all of course, have seemed uncaring each time. It is a shame as it is a beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms are nice. Great beds.
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We decided to book a last minute long weekend in Bermuda during the pre-4th of July weekend. Having stayed at the Princess before, I knew what to expect. However, it seemed a bit disappointing the second time around.

Primarily, the hotel lacked the little things that stand for excellent service. . . or maybe they weren't that little?

We never got to enjoy an umbrella on the beach (which was a big problem, as my companion has sensitive Irish skin!). Evidently, people arrive in the early morning hours, place a book on the chaises under the umbrellas and disappear until afternoon. It was terribly disappointing to have to sit in the full sun and then spend time scouting for an opportunity to grab an umbrella.

On several days, no towels were available on the beach!! No towels???!!!! Who's running this beach front operation anyway?

In addition, they could improve revenues by hiring a waitstaff to take drink orders on the beach. Although there is a beach bar, there's nothing like having someone else bring you some frozen delight. Waiters were few and far between.

The beach was accessible by a jitney service that traveled to/from the hotel several times an hour. Normal wait times didn't exceed 5 - 10 minutes; however, one afternoon we nearly missed our dinner reservation because the jitney took nearly 20 minutes to arrive!

We took a watertaxi back from town and again had problems getting a jitney back from the dock. This water taxi stops at set hours each day; you would think someone would schedule to have jitneys ready and waiting. Believe me, you wouldn't want to make the walk from either the beach or the dock!

Since you can't rent a car, you are forced to use taxis. It would have been nice if taxis were readily available. Again, we had to wait sometimes up to half an hour to obtain a taxi.

The pool at this hotel was crowded and full of kids and flies. We preferred the beach, which was beautiful. Watch out for weddings however, when they move you off certain parts of the beach (although it was fun to watch!).

We had dinner at the Waterlot, which was a disappointment compared to the last time I'd been there. Expensive but the food was not worth it. We also tried Thomas Moore's Tavern, which was just ok as well. The standout place to dine is Coconuts at the Reef. As a matter of fact, the Reef hotel is gorgeous, despite a smaller beach.

Helpful?
3 Thank edm08551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I stayed with some girlfriends for a long weekend and chose the hotel because of its reputation. It really is a lovely property with nice rooms, good food, and a great beach, but the service was really only OK at best, and there were a few incidents where it was just plain awful.

Slow food and drink service by the pool (almost as if they were 50% understaffed or something), long waits to even be seated at a beachside restaurant with 10 empty tables, and a 45 minute wait for a shuttle (including 4 calls to the hotel and getting yelled at by the operator for not being patient) after eating at a restaurant were the lowlights. The hotel did offer a credit on our bill because of how bad the shuttle incident was, but even if that hadn't happened, the overall service still wasn't great.

So I still would recommend the hotel because it really is such a nice place, but just be prepared for the not so nice service.

  • Liked — location, beach, pool
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank res1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We spent the week over July 4th at the Fairmont Southampton with our twin 6-year old boys. Let me first state that we travel extensively and stay in many hotels throughout the year, so we know what good service is, and this hotel does not make the grade. It is supposed to be one of the premier properties on the island, but during our stay it was anything but. Service was extremely s-l-o-w, from check-in to the concierge, to the wait staff at the resturaunts. Breakfast for 4 will run $75 for the buffet, dinner will be easily in the low to mid $100's. All tips are automatically included at 15%, and your bill will include a daily maid charge of $27.00 for a standard room. Food quality was okay, but nothing outstanding. The best meal of the week was the Ocean Club due to the incredible view.

To get to the beach, you must take the hotel trolley. Novel at first, but with the standing room only crowds at times, it wore off quickly. Not to mention the driver who got into an argument with a guest because he had to use the restroom. Nice. You also have to take the trolley to the bottom of the hill for transportation into Hamilton. Other than that, it is cabs at $15 per average trip, or scooters if you dare.

Bermuda is one of the most beautiful islands you will ever visit. No one begging from you, unparalleled clarity in the water for diving or snorkeling. We just had a bad taste about the week due to spending so much money at what was supposed to be the "best hotel on the island", and came away feeling robbed.

Did I mention the plastic dinner plates floating in the pool?

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smf1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Back from a 5 day vacation at the Fairmont Southhampton. As an ardent reader of Trip Advisor, I was apprehensive on what to expect at the Southhampton Princess, and my thoughts were mixed on the 110 minute flight to Bermuda from Boston.

Yes, it is an old hotel (1972) purchased along with the Grand Dame of hotels the Fairmont Hamilton by the Fairmont chain in 1998 from Resorts International LLC, or the Merv Griffin Group. By the way folks, Donald Trump lost in the bidding war for these two grand ladies, in Bermuda from Resorts Int'l, and his solice was "if Merv Griffin wants to bid $1bn for these two old resorts with much needed repair, good luck to him". The Southhampton lacks the modern day ammenities as the plush Westins, Intercontinentals, JW Marriots, Four Seasons, and St Regis' that charge the same, or mabe less, if you travel the Caribbean or Mexico. However, it has character, and a strong British influence for politeness, hospitality and a great staff. Yes, it is expensive. Their pool is very small, their private beach is below average. However, take a three minute walk, around the corner, when the hotel's courtesy trolley bus drops you off, grab some towels, and head over to the most breathtaking beach in the South Atlantic & Caribbean, Horseshoe Beach and you have isolation, privateness, and tranquility, as we did for 5 days and you will forget the small pool. Yes, to rent chairs at Horseshoe will cost you $10 w/ deposit, but your headed out to seculsion and pink sand and coral reefs that grace the beauty of this island's meca. Don't go anywhere else, as you have it all there, I was told this by the locals the best scenic beach on the Island.

Let's discuss food: Bacci's food is average at best, American Italian cusine, and very expensive yet, Portifino's in Hamilton is above average, traditional Amalfi Coast cusine, traditional Italian, and costs you less $100 for two w/ wine, and dessert ... Henry VIII's British cusine, has excellent food and is cheaper than the Waterlot, at $168 for wine, filet mignon, and dessert, with live entertainment ... the Waterlot would cost you $225+ Stay away, from Thomas Moore's Tavern $250 + for that 5 course meal unless you are "the Donald".

The rooms are moderately of average square feet for the money one pays. I booked an upgrade delux room, harbor view, 5th Floor King bed with refrigerator to store my sodas. Stay away from the 1st floor, as most guests complained, on there size, and location above the roof. Of course, the 6th floor, Gold Level, is snobbish zone, where you get complementary continental breakfast for another $100/night above your upgraded delux king bed. Southhampton's Director of Operations Management greeted us with chocolate strawberries and Champagne upon our arrival. I thought this was a welcome in itself from those plush chains I just mentioned, who could care less if you were celebrating a private anniversary.

The spa is expensive and you have the privilidge of free access to the indoor pool .... what with Horseshoe Beach less than .5 miles away, and I am going to stay inside, and swim under a sky light?

Have fun, at the Southhampton Fairmont Bermuda.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing