We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a Hotel Should Be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything a Hotel Should Be”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just got back from a 5 day 4 night stay at this beautiful hotel. This hotel is everything that a hotel should be, especially when you are staying at an expensive resort. Although the building is quite old, it is very well kept, clean, and the rooms were updated, including the baths. I do agree with other reviews, the televisions are very small and old, and I think they could have had more family stations considering the amount of children there. Get the flatscreens and everything would be perfect!!! Only complaint: the towels are not very soft, possibly due to the water. Remember, there is no fresh water on the island, every drop is either rainwater collected, seawater treated, or reclaimed water filtered by the resort.

The service was top shelf. Everyone was kind, helpful, and extremely eager to please. (Especially Brigette, our housekeeper, and all the women on the 4th floor. They were all my 4 year old son's "Girlfirends" by the second day!).While we just had regular rooms, we were treated like we had the Owner's Suite. I do recommend that if you are planning to stay here, go onto their website at fairmont.com and sign up for their President's Club. It's free and by having your number you are given free fridges in your room, free internet access, and free use of their health club gym. I also recommend that you check out the menus at the resort's restaurants so you know in advance how much you will be spending on meals. If possible, get their meal plan. We had both breakfast and dinner included in our package and it was well worth it. One dinner alone was over $300.00 for two adults and two children. Going off site is not any less expensive, so be prepared. I would go to the Waterlot and Bacci, both were fantastic.

The outdoor pool area does become very crowded after 10 am so I would advise you to get there early and put down your towels for chairs. The beach was beautiful, with plenty of seats and umbrellas available if you just ask. Also a tip for families with young children ask at the towel stand if they have any buckets and shovels, they give them to you for the day for the kids if you just ask.

The ticket to great service here is kindness and a little consideration. "Please" and "Thank you" went a very long way. Be a little nice and you will get everything you want.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmericanGringo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,945
    1,103
    398
    179
    99
See reviews for
1,043
1,570
97
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
389 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel is very nice. It is expensive in just about every way, but that's Bermuda. The upkeep is good, the room is nice (here now) and our meals have been good. One meal, in particular, was terrific. The pool is small for the size of the hotel, and the beach has been crowded, but there is not a sense of being jammed in. Management has been responsive to needs. Not world-class, but vert nice and comfortable. If you belong to the President's Club the Internet is free, as is the gym.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed for a week and loved the hotel. We booked and got a special $99 rate, but upgraded the room and paid $148 - a steal! The views are beautiful and while we were a little concerned about having to take a shuttle to the beach, it wasn't a problem at all. We never had to wait more than 2 minutes for the shuttle and it dropped us off at the nice beach club area. Sign up online for the free President's Club and immediately get free internet service. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandBusymom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We've stayed here 8 times now.

Service, other than on the gold floor, is typically poor. Don't expect anyone to go out of there way, and you wont be disappointed. An automatic gratuity, plus resort fees, are added onto your bill which seems to preclude the usual Fairmont service we are accustomed to. Be prepared to get out a taxi with two suitcases and have none of the Bellman step forward to grab your bags - we observed this numerous times while waiting for the bus to the beach. Be prepared to go to a Breakfast Buffet, sit down, get your bill with gratuity before you've finished your eggs, and then have to get up to find a coffee pot from the server area, and pour coffee for your table and the guests at the next table, who are also looking for refills. The pleasure of automatic gratuity. Food, throughout the property, is overpriced and not particularly worth it - tons of better restaurants on the island.

Gold floor is an excellent option - breakfast, snacks throughout day, courtesy bar with reasonable prices, and above average service.

Sign up for the Presidents Club - main benefits are 10% off at spa and free internet.

Beautiful location. Private beach is excellent as is the regular swimming pool. For a real treat, splurge on a spa treatment and hang out in the spa pool for the day - by far , one of the best pools and sun terrace.

We'd have diner each night and go for a walk down the beach. There is a beautiful public beach right next to the private one. Walk up to the lighthouse. Play golf - several excellent courses. Nice tennis courts. Sign up for jet skiing at the hotel desk. Catch the hotel ferry into Hamilton.

Taxis are a expensive and drivers often take advantage of tourists. Last year, we 'shared' a cab with another couple, traveling with us, on the way back to the airport and he charged us two full fares as we had two last names, so not related. This year the hotel has teamed up with a bus service which charges a flat rate per person for airport transportation - go this route.

We used to think that Fairmont was a luxury brand. Definitely not this property. They seem to cater to conventions and conferences and have specials throughout the year to maintain high occupancy. If you want luxury, stay at a Four Seasons. For a comfortable, mid category hotel, in a beautiful location, this is it. Although this review sounds bad, we weren't that unhappy. We'll be back again next year. Don't expect much, if your not on the gold floor, and you wont be disappointed. Get a special and the automatic gratuities and bad service won't sting as much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyCatoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont Southamton for three full days and nights. The People of Bermuda are Very friendly. We had a nice time. The hotel staff was very pleasing and accomidating. The views are gorgeous and the beaches are beautiful. I recommend Southampon for relaxation. If you are looking for more activities and night life stay in Hamilton (although they do have a free ferry that takes you to Hamilton). I advise you that the food is VERY expensive. Also the hotel does not advertise deals and specials going on in the hotel. YOU MUST ASK hotel staff and people staying there. The hotel has a LOT of add ons. Gratutiy is automatically included in everything even maid service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srobin9178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I go to Bermuda twice a year, but this was my first time at the Fairmont. It was much cheaper than other hotels on the island, but I was pleasantly surprised & it was much nicer than its more expensive competitors. The hotel runs like clockwork & everyone from the maid service to the beach attendants were very helpful, friendly, & efficient. The beach is great, as is the pool, and all of the rooms have amazing views of the water. The spa & indoor pool are also top notch. The breakfast was wonderful. 2 of Bermuda's best hotels are at the restaurant.

The hotel is especially helpful with small children & elderly people, and everyone in our party loved the property.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kikik1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We booked this vacation to take advantage of the Fairmont's recent rate special – and we loved our experience! We had mixed concerns after reading the reviews before going, but we we pleasantly satisfied with the hustle and bustle of this old gem. We agree that the building's exterior is dated while seeming to contradict its lovely formal, British wood interior. We must have had one of the updated rooms because we found our room's decor lovely, clean, crisp, and well-maintained. Everything was in working order with the exception of that pesky tiny TV everyone mentions that "buzzes" through the walls between rooms! GET FLATSCREENS!! Room assignment apparently plays an important role in one's ultimate happiness at this hotel. We felt lucky to have been given a western exposure overlooking the lighthouse and nightly sunsets, so we didn't mind not having a direct ocean view. We surely understand how a poor view, neighbor noise, or large roof exposure could ruin someone's experience, especially for someone who paid the full $400+ per night rate. Ultimately, the pink beaches and turquoise water is what Bermuda is all about - if you are fortunate enough to get sunshine. Apparently it was a very rainy June, but we walked the beach in the rain anyway and still had an outstanding experience!! Get out there and go! Our housekeeper was excellent and attending - she masterfully made us feel like we were her only guests. All services went out of their way to please us, and we noticed that they respond well to guests who ALSO use their own polite manners! As noted in other reviews, expect several extra "fees" tagged to your daily bill, including a $20 per night "Room Gratuities" fee for hotel and maid services, plus some obscure $18 "Southampton Resort Levy". I did, however, like knowing that I didn't have to fish for loose dollars every time I needed something from room service or boarded the trolley. We enjoyed the food at Jasmine’s in the Fairmont lobby bar – the entire presentation is very well done with impeccable English service and delicious lighter selections. On the other hand, the Waterlot Restaurant is overpriced and not nearly as wonderful as everyone makes it out to be - for all the hoopla, we've had better flavor and service elsewhere throughout our travels. We paid over $300 for the two of us ($20 bucks for water, $40 for two glasses of champagne), and the wait staff broke down the back half of the restaurant during the end of our dinner right in front of us (including turning the table next to us on its side to roll away!!). Talk about a lack of ambience!!! No comp of any kind was offered. When we go out to dinner, we go to get AWAY from work, not to watch the waiters clean up and prepare for the next day. It was fun, however, to eat in a building from the year 1670. We much preferred the restaurant at Gibb's Lighthouse - delicious food and beautifully presented at a fair price. It is relatively new with not many reviews, and we felt satisfied that we "took a chance". Beach-wise, the best beaches on the island are easily accessible from the Fairmont. The hotel’s private beach is stunning, but famous Horseshoe Beach is conveniently located next door and reached easily in a five-minute walk through the iron gate by the hotel trolley drop-off. Both are terrific and breathtaking to walk (and climb!) for hours. BIGGEST PAIN: Getting to and from both ends of the island - we spent more time on buses and ferries than we did touring!! We wish we could go back and spend two days in St. George's, then move down the island to the Fairmont to catch the west end and dockyard. We suggest buying a multi-day bus/ferry pass - an especially convenient bargain, but you must strategically plan your day to avoid the disappointment of blowing your day in a terminal or roadside bus stop. We were too timid to try the scooters as we heard reports of accidents on the narrow roads, but many people love them and find them convenient. The residents (and buses!) zoom around those close corners just inches apart, and we didn't want to make a devastating mistake. Buy your spirits early in your vacation from a local market - even the expensive corner tourist store will save you hundreds on hotel drink prices. The Dive Shop on the beach is a good choice for planning SCUBA dives. The resort trolley up and down the hill to the beach is fast and timely. We found the trolleys to be endearing and convenient, and the bus drivers are especially pleasant, informative, and friendly. A cab ride to and from the airport averages around $40 each way. We especially appreciated the late check-out granted conveniently to facilitate our flight departure. Read all reviews for other points of view and consider joining the Fairmont's President's Club for extra perks. Had the weather been perfect, we may have had the vacation of our dreams - we would certainly recommend the Fairmont as a wonderful place to call home while in Bermuda.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmbrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing