We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

First and foremost i would like to state that i love the island of Bermuda.

Wehn it ocmes to the Fairmont South Hampton i was very disappointed with the hotel. The facilities themselves were very nice. It was a bit of a hastle ot have to take a trolly down to the beach and back but that was the least of my concerns.

We arrived at the Fairmont South Hampton on thursday afternoon aroudn 1 oclock. Our room was not ready (which i was fine with i dont have unrealistic standards) and was told that our room was GARUNTEED to be ready by 4. Not only after askeing more than 5 times if our room was ready, we werent able to get into our room til after 6 pm. When asked about their so called "garuntee of 4 oclock" the staff behind the counter shrugged and simply told us its what they try for.

One of our reasons for staying at the Fairmont South Hampton was to play golf. Myself and my friend brought our own clubs from home. When we arrived at the hotel at 1 pm one of the bellman asked us if we would like our golf clubs takemn down to the golf course to be kept which we said would be perfect. At 5:30, we went outside and our golf clubs were still sitting in the front of the hotel completely unattended. When asked why they were sitting out there and why that hadnt been taken care of we again recieved a shrug and had to bring them in ourselves.

Then yesterday evening when we were aboput to take the damned trolly down to the restaurant on the ocean we asked the bellman if we could have our golf clubs brought up from the golf course, which they claimed they would do right away. We got back from dinner 3 hours later and AGAIN our $1,000 golf clubs were sitting in the front of the hotel completely unattened to. Again when asked why they were out there yet again for the 2nd time with no one watching them, we just got mumbled answers.

These incidents were the most major of the ones we encountered in out 4 day stay at the hotel. The restaurants were very expensive with very minimal other lower price options available. I understand that alot of things on the island are more expansive but no matter where i got $30 for breakfast per person is a bit much if you ask me.

Other minor-ish things:
-for the size of the hotel the pool was small and almost impossible to find a chair at after 10 am
-the indoor pool and gym were only accessable to guests who booked a painfully and outrageously prices spa service
- had to pay to use the internet
-no business center

The best experience i had with the staff was with the golf shop workers. Nothing bad to say about them, they were more than helpful.

All in all i loved the island but was very unimpressed with the hotel and its staff for what it costs to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSoxFan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,027
    1,148
    413
    190
    104
See reviews for
1,112
1,625
100
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I just came back from 6 nights in the fairmont southampton. It is good with young kids, however the first night we had a mouse in the room, so the hotel staff was nice to "upgrade" us to ocean view on the 2nd floor. The rooms on this floor are much less upscale then the 4-5 floors that we had on our first night.
The food is really good, but the staff on the beach is annoyed if you try to get drinks for your little kids under "kids eat free"- I am not sure why.
Over all we had a good time with a 2 and 4 year olds, and it was worth it since we only paid 50% of the regular rate. If we had to pay a full price, I would have been really disappointed. Definitely not worth anything more then 50% off. ($2200 for 6 nights, not including meals)
The Ocean view is considerably noisy with the trollies and road, not exactly for someone who looks for peace of mind, but rather good with noisy kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lol2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We went to the Southampton for a quick weekend getaway from the NYC area...it could not have been easier, 7:45am flight and having lunch on the beach at 12:30-1pm. The Southampton is a great facility with a gorgous beach area, a good pool and plenty of resteraunts with excellent food. The golf course looked very well maintained and it was easy to get a tee time, I'll bring my clubs on our next trip. We had excellent meals at Wickets for lunch (great dessert called the Bowler). The sunday brunch at Windows was fantastic. Happy Hour on Friday's during the summer at the sister hotel, The Faimont Pricess Hamilton (free intra-hotel ferry) was excellent. The pool area is a little small for the size of the hotel and the service in general was just ok, one woman at the reservations desk was downright rude but other than that, the hotel experience was great. We spoke with a woman for conferences, Tara, she was VERY helpful and a great resource for information about the hotel and the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband, his mother and step-father and my parents enjoyed a trip to Bermuda and this lovely hotel from July 2-5, 2009. The hotel is set up on a hill overlooking the ocean and although it's not beachfront, we did not find taking the trolleys down to the beach to be a problem. The trolleys ran constantly and we never had to wait long, if at all. Our favorite trolley driver was "Jukebox"!
We had thought that we would miss seeing fireworks on the 4th of July, however, the American consulate put on a wonderful show at the beach next door to the hotel's private beach. We were able to walk up to a parking lot and watch the whole thing.
With the exception of our waiter in Jasmine the night we arrived, we found the entire staff to be helpful and friendly. Basically, if you don't act like a rude tourist, they will go out of their way to ensure that you are well taken care of.
Food is very expensive, however, we had done our research prior to our trip and we expected it. We ate appetizers at Jasmine (good, not great), breakfast each day at Windows on the Sound (spectacular - pricey but VERY worth it) and tried Wickets one evening for dinner. On our last night, we took the free ferry to Hamilton and went to eat at the Pickled Onion. The service was good, the food was delicious (large portions) and it was much less expensive than other restaurants.
We used taxis on several occasions and each driver was more knowledgable and friendly than the one before! If you're willing to listen, they are more than willing to tell you about their home. Yes, the taxis were slightly expensive, however, we felt as though we were receiving more of an island tour than a taxi ride.
Although we made our reservations through a special sale which stated that they would have no view or balcony, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been given rooms with balconies and slight views of the ocean and lighthouse (over the rooftops of buildings behind the hotel). I did not find the rooms to be outdated at all. The bathroom had what appeared to be new fixtures and a lovely countertop and accessories. We all slept well and enjoyed the room during what little time we spent there.
We did not use the outdoor hotel pool or the one in the spa. The outdoor hotel pool appeared dirty. Besides, when you have the CRYSTAL CLEAR ocean available, who wants to swim in a pool? The hotel's private beach is nice. They serve food and drinks and rent snorkel gear, kayaks, rafts, etc. However, I prefer next door Horseshoe Bay. There are no free chairs, however, there are miles of beach and rock formations and caves to explore and enjoy. Although it is a public beach, we never worried about our belongings or felt crowded. The water was amazing. I could have stayed in that water for days and days!
The HIGHLIGHT of our trip was our four hour sailing adventure with Caleb of sailbermuda (www.sailbermuda.com). He was knowledgable, friendly and a made us all feel welcome and relaxed. If you are able, I would HIGHLY recommend that you arrange a sail with him. The vessel is lovely and has plenty of room to stretch out and relax. I will never forget laying on the padded area toward the front of the boat, watching the clouds and the waves go by.
I cannot wait to return to Bermuda! If you get the chance, go. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhohitsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed for 10 nights. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. We did have stormy weather which did bring seaweed onto the private beach but towards the end of our stay there was little to no sign of seaweed. After reading a previous review, in all fairness, stormy weather can bring forth jellyfish and seaweed. We didn't find it a problem considering the weather. Service is very good but it should be . You are paying top dollar. The rooms were very clean. Our room was updated, however, it is true, the TV is very small.The lobby is beautiful and the view is spectacular. What really makes this place special is you can easliy get to Hamilton with the complimentary ferry. Access to other parts of the island can been done from there either by bus or scooters. Honestly though, all the great beaches are right by this hotel. The beaches have the volcanic rock and caves that are magnificent. It reminds me of some beaches you would see in Hawaii. My boys loved the beaches because there was so much to discover. One downfall, as a guest, you never know what is going on at this hotel. For instance, the 4th of July was celebrated and complimentary cake, ice cream, and popcorn were given to guests but noone was informed. We happened upon it. Daily, a bullitin was placed under our door but it never mentioned these festivities. In additon, it would have been nice to get a layout of the area when checking in. We had to discover and ask. Also, bring plenty of cash. Food is extemely expensive($250 for a family of 4 eating pasta with 2 glasses of wine). With those prices a person expects great food. This was not always the case. Gibbs lighthouse is nice(not part of the resort). Same prices, but unique in that you can say you have eaten in a lighthouse. Waterlot(part of the resort) is memorable as well. Food was very good and the place was charming. Bermuda is extremely refined and proper. There are no tank tops, no "riff raff". I think it is a special place that is reminiscent of days gone by. On Sundays natives are home with family...no shopping on that day. No stores are open in the evening during the week too. Family plays an important role here. Not of alot of entertainment because it is a place in which families visit and enjoy the simple pleasures...tennis, golf, and beaches. In short, we loved the Southampton, but I would advise all to always look for a promotion. $400-500 a night with incidentals, gratutiies, and anything else you can imagine would have definately tainted my review. For a 5 star resort , I think many amentities should be included(tennis courts, non mototrized sports, fitness center ), but they are not. We travel frequently and this is not the case elsewhwere. All and all, get a great deal and you wil be very pleased. Bermuda is dignified, refined , and a must as a memorable experience ! So pack your bermuda's and collared shirts and remember to take those manners out from your back pocket gentlemen! Ladies be prepared to be wined and dined with every door always opened for you! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetgirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I traveled with another couple to the Fairmont in late May. We had all been able to get a great rate (around $200) so I expected the worst. And to be honest, at least I have found, Bermudian hotels are usually not that great. We were so pleasantly surprised when we checked in and the hotel was absolutely lovely. There was some sort of event that had ended so people were decked out (men in jackets/ dress shorts) -- it felt very elegant. The hotel is kind of a throw back (but in a good way).

We ate in the bar and the drinks and food were excellent. The flatbread pizza was strangely (for a hotel) one of the best I have ever had.

The rooms are big and well appointed.

The beach (that you have to take a trolley to) is pretty nice. But I agree with some of the other commenters that it needs a little more attention/ a refresh. And I agree with the observation previously stated that the pool is tiny (and kind of sad to be honest).

The last night we ate at the Waterlot and the food was excellent. It was somewhat pricey (on par or slightly above Manhattan prices) but worth it.

We were visiting a friend who lives on the island so we didn't spend as much time at the hotel as you normally would during a resort vacation, but I think we got a good feel for the place and I would recommend it to a friend and would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastalnewt001
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We had some initial issues while we were there but I have to say the management team went out of their way to call directly and speak with us. This is something in the email/internet age that almost never happens. They took our feedback and corrected things.

My hats off to the team and the beautiful property. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalnewt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
839 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,585 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,095 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing