We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed from June 14-21st at the Fairmont Southampton Princess Hotel. It has been at least 7 years since I stayed here and this is the first trip for my teens to this hotel. The hotel is a large luxury hotel. We had one of the special rates for 129 per night plus a million dollars in taxes and fees upon check out. It comes out to about 200 per night for the room. Still a steal in Bermuda. The hotel sits atop the hill and offers the most for families with beach, pools, game room, shops, and they do have a kids club for younger ones.
We found all of our dinners to be very good. Our favorite was the Waterlot. Excellent filet mignon and service. We also dined at the Ocean Club, Bacci and Wickets and would recommend all of them.
We checked in and also had requested a fridge, but never received one. We moved some of the mini bar stuff around and used that. We first checked in and were put on the second floor. The room was fine and had a view of the harbour (looking down was rooftop and not attractive, but looking straight out was great). Well we never ask to be moved, but moved on day two of our trip because our neighbors with the connecting door were so loud. The kids yelled all the time (little kids) and the parents had a fight about 11pm on our first night. I was dying to yell shut up through the connector! So, we moved to the third floor and were blessed to have a room with no connector. Our new view was the water/lighthouse side with the a/c fans down below. Our joke was the 99 dollar rooms were floor 1 and we were the 129s so floor 2, etc... But I don't think too many people got our rate.
Food is expensive and so we stopped at the grocery store near the college on the way to the hotel. We picked up milk, yogurts, snacks and drinks. It definitely helped to eat breakfast in our room with our supplies daily.
Housekeeping always did a good job. no complaints. We did have our bathroom lights go out on our last night. All the bulbs in the shower/toilet area went out as if a fuse was blown. We left it and showered in the dark the last night. I figured they could deal with that when we left. A/C worked fine as did everything else. The fire alarms went off twice during the afternoons during our trip. Nothing was ever wrong, but it was still eire.
Oh and when we changed rooms, the room we were moved into had had a smoker in the non smoking room. The closet had a really strong smell like a pipe smoker had been in there. It disappated by the next day, but the smell was strong. I hate the smell of smoke, but felt it was better than screaming kids.
The hotel wasn't full until our last night. The beach went from a few families to packed overnight. The beach is much nicer when the hotel is less full. I also noted hearing people get frustrated with the beach food hut. It seemed they couldn't handle the volume of customers. We had no problems.
I also think if you are pleasant, most of the service people are very pleasant and helpful back.
Oh and the rooms have a spacious walk in closet which was great for a family of 4. The room was a decent size.
I would definitely return to the island of Bermuda and the Fairmont Southampton especially if we could get that rate again..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,784 - 3,790 of 4,171 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

We travelled to Bermuda in 2008 and stayed for 2 weeks in Elbow Beach. We returned in 2009 for a friend's wedding and decided to try the Southampton.

The hotel is of decent quality and the rooms are clean and generally well furnished. The choice of resturants was very good, depsite the Newport Room being closed during 2009. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a nice holiday.

However, there are a few comments which reflect giving it only 3 stars. The rooms are old fashioned and we were looking for something more modern. The trip to the beach (by bus) is ok, but I would have preferred to be in walking distance. The hotel location is fairly isolated and it is a $25 dollar ride into Hamilton. There is a ferry but it only runs 4 times during the day.

The whole hotel felt a little tired and in need of some updating. The Cellar bar was something straight out of the 70's, as was the Ocean Club. Also, being a business hotel there were a number of events while we were there, so if you like your hotels quiet, then there are better alternatives.

If I was going back to Bermuda again I would choose the new Tucker Point Hotel or Elbow Beach above Southampton.

Handy tip - the gym, spa and internet are not free. However, if you join the Fairmont President Club (free on-line to join) in advance then the facilities are free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenjyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Fairmont Southampton is a fine hotel, but no longer an elete hotel. Upon check-in, we requested a refrigerator. The reception clerk made a phone call and was unable to get through. We assumed that she would arrange for the refrigerator later. She never followed up.

We had a room overlooking the golf course and ocean, with a view of the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. We paid $159 a night. A problem with the way the hotel is designed is that all rooms facing that direction overlook the central HVAC unit, which made a constant hum 24 hours a day.

The room was spacious and contemporary. As members of the Presidents' club, we enjoyed free internet connections (no wi-fi). We we also entitled to a free newspaper, but never received one. Instead, we had a six or eight page xerox copy of selected NY Times articles delivered daily. Not first class.

During our stay we had maintenance up once to fix the AC (they changed the thermostat) an again to fix the outlets by the sink (they were unable to fix them).

We knew in advance about the high resort fees and taxes (over 40 a night) but were unaware we would be charged a $50 currency fee on Visa (US currency is accepted in Bermuda).

We suggest bringing muffins or other breakfast foods. A bagel cost $6 in the hotel. Coffee is free if you make it in your room. Food at the restaurants was expensive ($26 for six ravioli's and $12 for a Caesar salad). Eat in Hamilton (I suggest the Pickled Onion and the Lobster Pot).

Service at the hotel is not what it once was, although at Wickets, when my wife sent her salmon back because it was cold, they comp'ed her meal.

The Fairmont is still one of the nicer places on the Island to stay, but it has lost some of its former glory.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I was there on business and took my family with me. For the rating of this hotel I can tell you it should be rated no higher than a 3 star as the rooms are marginally average. There is one thing you can count on at this hotel is change, as almost daily what we ordered one day was different the next day. For example, one day we could order wine by the glass so we could try different types yet the next day only a few selected wines were available. The meals even changed day by day when ordered from room service. The people were nice and enjoyed talking with most. As with all the islands in the Atlantic, be patient as the service is rather slow. The room up keep deteriorated as our stay progressed but complaining only made things worse. The property is wonderful but be prepared to pay well for taxi's to go anywhere. While they do have the water taxi to Hamilton, it only runs 4x a day. Ask at the front desk about public transportation, it works well, it's clean and will save you a lot of cash. We like the property but will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd1walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed in the Gold rooms on the 6th floor. Initial check in was not very smooth as they seem to be inundated with guests. Were told our room was ready and arrived to find cleaners still in it. Bags took forever to come up to room and were not offered a drink on check in as I observed others doing. No great disasters just slightly annoying kinks that can be prevented.

Room was very large with a great view of the Harbor and Heritage dock in distance. Great walk in closet with plenty of draw space, comfy bed, pleasant balcony and good turn down service.

The breakfast on Gold floor is included (as are refreshments all day, afternoon tea, wine and cheese/ Hors D'oevres happy hour and Petits fours (Cakes!) at 8.00pm if you are so inclined).

This property has certainly improved cosmetically since my last visit after their multi-million make-over. The Newport Room is closed (looks a bit stuffy anyway) but all 6 other options are available onsite. The pool appeared small for number of guests but we were happy to spend most days at their beach or next door at Horseshoe Bay, a short walk away.

Generally the service is good but I can see how some guests might not take advantage of all the place has to offer. You really do need to do your research and get yourself familiar with all restaurants/bars/spas/golf/shuttle service/ferries etc.

A very enjoyable stay with great access using bus , ferries etc to the rest of Bermuda.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the island. You have to take a shuttle to the beach and to the harbor for the complimentary ferry to Hamilton. The service at the hotel is great. Tips are included but the servers still give great service. The hotel is very nice and clean.
There are a lot of company functions there. It is nice to get away and have dinner at the lighthouse next to the hotel. It just opened a month ago and it was great.
http://www.primaverarestaurant.com/The_Dining_Room.html

Church Bay right by the hotel was great for snorkeling. The private beach at the hotel was great as well. Visit Horseshoe Beach to see the difference. The pool was small but with such a great beach who cares! Must try the pizza at Jasmines in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earache88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Went to Bermuda for a long weekend with my partner. I had been before about 3 years ago but wanted a quick getaway from Toronto and Bermuda never fails to impress and allow us to recharge the batteries!

We stayed on the Fairmont Gold Floor and we impressed with the level of service offered. The little things like the Bose wave stereo in the room and the high floor views were spectacular. We stayed in room 619 which gaves us views of the Atlantic Ocean, the island and the Great Sound. Also sunset was directly in front of us which allowed us to sit on our balcony and watch the sunset in a lovely romantic setting. Another aspect of staying on the Gold floor is that although the hotel is so large, the hotel itself remained rather intimate and the staff offered a very personal level of service.

The hotel is on the top of a hill although there is the non-stop shuttles that take you down to either the Waterlot/ferry dock or to the Ocean CLub/beach. Walking down to the beach is very simple as well as you follow the golf course and then slip under and overpass to get to the tennis courts and beach area.

I much prefer the public beaches on the south shore to the beach at the hotel, except the conveniences of having bar service on the beach, showers, cabana, etc.... are nice when you are spending a day on the beach. There is some decent snorkeling to be had at the rocks out from the hotel beach although the coves in the eastern part of the public beach and along the trail to Warwick beach are out of this world. Very secluded and private and postcard perfect.

Staying on the Gold floor we ate breakfast and apps in the concierge lounge daily. We made it for high tea in the afternoon just once. The piece de resistance however was the desserts put out after 8pm. They were top notch in deed.

This time I didn't make it into the Willow Stream spa however I did go the last time and it was very peaceful and relaxing. In the evening the indoor pool and outdoor hot tubs are open to all hotel guests although during the day are exclusively for Willow Stream clients. The gym also does the job.

We had room service a few times and to be honest our only meals out were at the Cabana and the Bermuda fish sandwich was a highlight!

We used CEO transport to and from the airport and had no problems with this service.

Bermuda is very high end which comes at a price however it is well worth it for the level and quality of services, especially at the Fairmont Southampton!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
905 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
854 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,130 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $248 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing