We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton in June 2014 and had a really nice time. I stayed at this hotel 20 years ago when it was the Princess Southampton, and it hasn't changed much since then. Grounds are nice but could use a little more flowers and improve on the landscaping as it's a little on the "boring" side. Being a Fairmont President member, I was upgraded to a Deluxe Harborview Room which was really roomy with a walk in closet. Very nice! The beds are super comfortable and rooms have a nice layout with nice balcony with table to eat breakfast on. We dined a few mornings at the Windows restaurant and the buffet was nice, but nothing spectacular for what you for $35 pp. The Fairmont charges daily resort fee AND maid/bellman fees so check your bill and make sure they charged you correctly. The food is very expensive everywhere in Bermuda and they automatically tack on a 17% gratuity in most all restaurants. What stands out the most at the Fairmont Southampton is the service. It's top notch, from check in, to the concierge, to the luggage guys, to the valet, to the restaurant waiters, etc. Everyone makes extra effort to make your stay here most welcome. I will definitely stay at another Fairmont in the future.

Room Tip: Book a package and plan to bring extra $ for taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloverNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
It's always nice to hear from people who stayed with us back in the Princess days, and I'm glad you had such a great time. It's fantastic that you liked your room and found the service to be top-of-the-line. Thank you very much for your review.

Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    1,113
    400
    180
    99
See reviews for
1,054
1,579
97
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda and it was a great experience! The service is outstanding. Everyone was so friendly and willing to help and gave us great recommendations of where to go. We had a corner room on the 4th floor so our view was spectacular! We had a corner/wrap around balcony with a great view of the beach, golf course, and more inland. The room is a great size with a couch, coffee table, desk, chair, a large enough closet to set the ironing board up inside the closet to iron and still have room to move about. Housekeeping was great; no complaints about the room. The Windows on the Sound restaurant for breakfast was delicious! The breakfast buffet had anything you could imagine for breakfast. The custom made omlets were wonderful! With the multiple pools and hot tubs, neither were ever crowded.
The shuttle bus to take you to the beach was convenient, never had to wait more than 3 minutes. The private beach was nice but we preferred some of the other beaches we went to. If you want a relaxing beach experience with a chair with or without a shade, this is the place to be. None of the beaches had people chasing after you, trying to sell you things, like you'll find on other islands.
Smatt's rental sits behind the hotel where you can rent bicycles and mopeds (which I highly recommend!). It is very convenient and their rates are comparable to any other moped rental company. We rented a moped for three days and it was a highlight of the trip. So much fun!
We have NO complaints with the Fairmont Southampton! Nice hotel with excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler12Atlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful that you enjoyed great service during your stay and your corner room. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast at Windows on the Sound, and the pool areas. It sounds like a fantastic time exploring the island from your mopeds and trying out different beaches. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back in Bermuda again soon.

Sincere Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel is kept up...modern...staff is wonderful...room clean and kept neat
south hampton princess is highly recommneded....check in and out is fast....staff is wonderful and helpful....used Hotel.com and the price was excellenbt


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Jeffrey L.,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the friendly staff. It sounds like you got a great deal, which is fabulous! We hope you'll visit sunny Bermuda again soon.

Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our last "family" vacation as we have kids going to college and one going to the Army, only a 10 year old left at home!! So this was a very important trip... We stayed on the gold floor and it was worth it, everyone was great ! We have stayed at the Bermuda Fairmont SH 3 times in the last 13 months we love it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Karen S.,

I am glad that your family had such a special "last" vacation before the kids left the nest! It's great that our Fairmont Gold team provided such a great experience. Thank you for your feedback, it's always so wonderful to hear from our repeat guests and we look forward to having you back in Bermuda with us again soon.

Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just can't say enough positive things about the staff at the Fairmont. Incredibly friendly & attentative without being smothering or annoying. Was a very relaxing 20th anniv. Spent most of the time at the hotels private beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of your 20th anniversary vacation. I am glad our staff hit the right note of attentiveness for you and that you enjoyed relaxing on the beach. We hope to host you both again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Terrific facility. Fitness Center, the beach, the ocean, the golf course, are all exceptional. Well kept and groomed with gorgeous views. Great service everywhere on the island. Free shuttle to Hamilton

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and facilities during your Independence Day getaway. We hope you'll be back again for another visit in the future.

Best Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The staff at the Fairmont Southampton lacks consistent policy and responds to polite questions in a rude and hostile manner - for $400 a night! The senior concierge was so nasty the first day, we never approached that desk again for (needed) help. The phones were never answered at the front or concierge desks. Many things were broken in our room: some were never fixed; some were but only after we were falsely accused of not using them correctly. But the worst was to be rudely faulted by a staff member upset because our AC had already been fixed! A cleaning person said we lying that her staff yelled down the hallways to each other all day. When we were quickly proved correct, she berated us louder and longer. The administration responded well to our first complaints, but ignored the worst. Apparently having been spoken to, the staff became "cloying" - nice to us because they had to be, and let us know it. We expected Bermuda to be expensive, but with that cost we also expected a higher and kinder level of service. I would never stay at a Fairmont hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. I am very sorry that you felt our staff were rude to you or spoke to you in an insulting manner. We pride ourselves on providing high quality, friendly service that treats each guest like an individual. We certainly do not condone any of the nastiness or rudeness you said you encountered. I thoroughly apologize that a few people made your stay so unpleasant. If you would like to email me any of the particulars that you were dissatisfied with, please feel free to reach out on carlita.lodge@fairmont.com

Again, I apologize that you had such a negative experience.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
801 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,059 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,503 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing