We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, fantastic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Fairmont Southampton during the off season (March) which definitely has it's ups and downs. The weather was unpredictable this time of year but we took advantage of the off season promotion they had running for the room.
The service was excellent, every single employee at this hotel was very warm and hospitable. I told the front desk it was my mom's birthday and they sent up a complimentary cake that was extremely delicious. The breakfast buffet although pricey, it was well worth it because it was great quality and so tasty! We also tried the Newport room and Jasmine one night which was good.
The only drawback to this hotel would be the location...since we had a child, renting a scooter was not an option unfortunately. We had to either take the bus or taxi during the times that the ferry was not running. I would highly recommend this hotel if you love the beach (horseshoe bay is hard to beat) but if you want to explore bermuda it is not the most convenient location. I would highly recommend this hotel for families but not ideal for singles or couples since there really is not much nightlife nearby.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Presidents Club to get free wifi and gym access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J2wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review, I am so glad you enjoyed the friendly service and that your mom enjoyed her birthday in Bermuda! I am glad you enjoyed your dining experiences and the beach! You're right, buses & taxis are the best way to get around, but being only 21 sq miles long, travel times are rarely longer than about 30-45 mins.

Thank you again for your warm comments.

Best,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    1,095
    397
    178
    99
See reviews for
1,027
1,556
96
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed for three nights.
The Bad; Our room was very small and the decor was quite dated. The bed was falling apart. The room wasn't that clean either- there was a dirty towel ( not ours) under the bed-I didn't dare touch it. I thought that for $359 a night, the hotel should have been more updated and certainly cleaner.
The food is expensive at just average.
The Good; the spa ( expensive) service I had was excellent- the indoor and outdoor pools were beautiful and the beach was really great. You cant beat the location either.
Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because there are other hotels, for the same price, which are much nicer ( we stayed at one).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed the location, spa, and beach facilities. All of our rooms are the same size (a spacious 450 sq. ft.) & differ only by view-type. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the size. The hotel is currently undergoing a rooms renovation to address issues of rooms being dated. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced, and have reported them to the relevant managers.

While I am glad you enjoyed Bermuda, it is disheartening that you didn't enjoy the property - I hope you will reconsider & give us another chance on your next visit. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is not on the beach but across from the beach and far away that you need shuttle to go there.There are no rental cars in Bermuda so you get stuck at the hotel you book with little opportunity to explore Bermuda anywhere .Food is extremely expensive in all of the hotel restaurants and low in quality as well! They get advantage of their customers because they know there is nowhere else to go by foot to find something to eat.Hotel decor in the rooms reminds motel 6 and not 300$ per night resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit. First, to clarify your point about rental cars - the Bermuda Government controls the laws surrounding rental cars, the hotel is not involved in the associated law-making. For future stays, however, there are rental scooters available to have you whizzing across Bermuda, and the public transport system is very reliable. The hotel also offers a complimentary ferry service into Hamilton.

The hotel has its own private beach which is located a 3 minute trolley ride away, or about a 7 minute walk down our hill. Adjacent to our beach is the world-famous Horseshoe Bay. I am sorry to hear you felt this was too far from the property itself.

The Fairmont Southampton prides itself on offering high-quality food options at a range of prices. The cost of food in Bermuda reflects the reality of having to import all goods to the small island. I am sorry to hear you did not think our food was high-quality, if you have any specific concerns you would like me to address regarding your dining experiences, please feel free to contact me directly.

There are several nearby restaurants and grocery stores which our Concierge team are happy to direct guests to if they wish to try something else nearby. It sounds like you did not get to experience them, and it is disheartening to know this negatively impacted your stay.

Our rooms are currently in the process of being renovated and updated, which should address your concerns with the island-inspired decor. Thank you again for your review, I am sorry to hear how thoroughly disappointed you were with Bermuda and I hope you give this vacation destination another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perched on the highest point in Bermuda, this grand resort hotel offers the best of the old and new worlds. Surrounded by an award winning golf course and tennis and containing the best of eating establishments, and accomodations. The room views are varied depending upon which quadrant of one of the prettiest bunch of islands there are. its British, Its American, but mostly its Bermuda, complete with the emonymous shorts.

The staff is more like family from the folks cleaning the rooms to those behind the front desk to management. The public areas are innovative, attractive and seemingly always transformed for the season. We were lucky enough on one trip to be there during the Christmas season, and the decorations had to take weeks to prepare and install -- lights, trees, garlands. And the meeting space and ballrooms during the holidays -- you've never seen decorations or ambiance like this! Speaking of meetings and conferences -- the variety of venues including the ballrooms is astounding. If you plan gatherings, you'll be a hero for suggesting this place!

And Restaurants! Sure there's the world-famous Waterlot, that I reviewed separately, but an italian, seafood, gourmet pub, lobby bar / eatery, phenomenal breakfast buffet (every day). Each deserve their own review since they each have their own personality. But all have one thing in common -- wow, do they know food!

Wait, it gets better! If you like the grande dame of Bermuda, the Hamilton Princess, it is associated with the Fairmont -- and a complimentary ferry takes you between the two and lets those "way out" in Southampton to not only dine and gaze at the legendary Hamilton harbor dweller, but gets to Front Street where lots of the shops and restaurants live. And you can charge items between the two properties so don't miss the restaurants, pools, etc. Look for the portraits of the Queen during her first of four visits to Bermuda in the lobby.

Did I mention beach? Yeah, there's a beach connected with the hotel, luxury-equipped and having a view-laden seafood restaunt next to the beach. So, you'd really like to see the famous Horseshoe beach with the pink sand while you're in Bermuda. Well, you're in luck -- right next to the private Fairmont Southampton beach is this gate that leads next door to ... Horseshoe Bay Beach! During the summer it might get crowded during the day as the tours bring folks from ships and other hotels. But aha, take the complimentary shuttle down to the Southampton Beach before or after breakfast and its almost like a private outing.

There's more from the spa to the indoor pool, but I have to leave something for you guys to write about.

Room Tip: Since you're on a hilltop, all have a great view, although some have a rooftop close. For lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TomMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for this glowing review - wow, we are blushing the shade of Bermuda's pink sand! Guests like yourself let us know we're doing the right things, so thank you. I have shared this fantastic review with our staff. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, and be able to surprise you with some fun new things we have up our sleeves!

Warm Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

it is heaven here. There's nothing better then this hotel. Must go. I've been there 2 times going there again soon...... The hotel staff was always great. Wish I got some of there numbers but may be next time. They wore cute you must go. The beach there you take a farry down to it. And its so much better then Hawaii.or the mainland water and it has better sand., oh its so great.. Must go...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laiegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, it sounds like you had the best vacation in Bermuda ever! We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Bermuda again for trip number 3!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing like walking down the hall from your gold floor room with breathtaking views to one of the most sublime spas on the planet. Recap for a day of pampering followed by a choice of white linen Waterlot or the Jasmine for a casual yet luxurious dining experience while being entertained by relaxing jazz and samba played by excellent local entertainers

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PartyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review, it sounds like you had a fantastic vacation and that you you experienced the best of what the resort offers during the summer! Hopefully you'll be back again soon for another summer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were always helpful and the food options were great.The spa was fantastic. The weather was no cooperating but otherwise the beach access and amenities were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaballaCupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, it sounds like you had a great time despite the weather. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the spa and I hope the next time you visit, the weather cooperates a bit better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing