We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family-friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very family-friendly hotel.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This grand hotel is at a great location in Southampton. The ocean view rooms are terrific, and the cool ocean breeze is surprisingly refreshing during the wintertime. Do your homework if you want to stay during the wintertime as this hotel's offerings differ from the spring, summer and fall months. The golf course is especially nice and well-maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your quick review, we appreciate it! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our Turtle Hill Golf Club, and found the property to be family friendly. We hope to welcome you back again to Bermuda in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    1,113
    400
    180
    99
See reviews for
1,054
1,579
97
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel has everything you could ask of a resort. An excellent spa with views overlooking the ocean, a golf course, a private beach (which is very rare for Bermuda), a night club, multiple restaurants and lounges, an extensive property, and both an indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor pool is part of the spa during the day, but after 6:30pm it opens for general guest use. There is also a pay option for jetski tours departing from the hotel as well. The property is huge, but there are trolley shuttles that go around the resort constantly. The beach is sandy and pink, with chairs readily available. You cannot book a cabana at this hotel, so get to the beach early if you want a chair with some shade. There is towel service, washrooms, and lockers at the beach, as well as a canteen serving drinks and basic beach food. The rooms have private balconies, and are very spacious, but could use some updating. On the lower level of the hotel is a games room for kids, if there's a rainy day. The Sunday Brunch buffet is spectacular, and I have dreams about their Bermuda Fish Chowder! The hotel is pretty far from most tourist sites, aside from Gibbs lighthouse, but there is a yacht shuttle that goes back and forth between this hotel and their sister property- the Fairmont Hamilton Princess. The shuttle is included in your resort fees, and that hotel is only 5 mins walk from downtown and the ferry terminal. Overall is was a very relaxing, very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The ocean view is quieter, but the harbour view is cheaper and gives you more of a Bermudian view. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your visit. The hotel is doing some renovating to our guest rooms, so hopefully upon your next stay you will be pleasantly surprised with the upgrades we have completed! It sounds like you had a great, relaxing stay where you experienced a lot of the great aspects of the hotel and Bermuda. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We planned on leaving the hotel during our weekend stay, but never did. We did go to happy hour at their sister hotel the fairmont princess and found it to be a wonderful value. $5 drinks and food. We loved the beach and thought the waitresses were very efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 659Loved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
It's great to hear that you had such a great time on-property that you never had to leave! We look forward to welcoming you back to Bermuda again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I returned to the Fairmont Southampton and loved everything about my second stay! I read some reviews before writing mine and wonder what some people are expecting when they stay in a hotel. I expect the employees to be professional and courteous, the room to be clean and to enjoy the perks of that hotel. The Fairmont hit on all three.

Employees:
Everyone is really nice and professional. Bermudians are not Americans...they are not as friendly as Americans. I find them to be more reserved but extremely nice. If you expect a long and personal conversation with the employee, you will be disappointed. They are professional and not there to socialize with the clients, but they are there to work...and that is what I expect from them. I read about the Jasmine lounge and its employees about there being no service and I disagree so much! They let you sit and they never gang up on you. If they are doing something, they finish it and then come and see you. Daisy and Patricia were the two that stood out.

Restaurants:
The food is good...it is not gastronomy but it is one of the best pizza I ever ate! The soups are also incredible. I ate there and in Newport. Both are very good. Some people said that it was indecent the price paid for breakfast in Windows but there is another option they could have chosen. There is breakfast on the go in Jasmine where you can eat under 10$. I had bagels and cream cheese there. You have to grill it yourself but I can manage to put a bagel in a toaster even on vacation:)

Room:
Some reviewers talked about the wear and tear. For me, it is completely normal when you have hundreds of people going through the room for it to have a little usage. They can't change the carpet every time someone spills a little something on it! I had a harbor view and love it. It is more quiet than an ocean view and I prefer quiet to the view. There is a large balcony where I sat there just enjoying the room. Since it is encased, you have no one seated next to you and you never hear anything if you have people next to your room being loud on the balcony. My room was cleaned every day. I made a great use of the walkin closet!!! I am used to staying in New York hotel rooms so the room for me was huge!!!

Perks:
Fairmont has the best loyalty program out there. I am a platinum member because of my American Express and had so may perks, it was incredible! I had a free massage, which costs at least 200$ with the gratuities, I also had 150$ to use at the restaurants or in the spa. I had already received a 25$ Saks card by mail. I have not seen so many perks out there in loyalty programs. My flight out was cancelled and pushed back one day....I know...I know...it is awful being stuck in Bermuda an extra day....and the front desk employee told me that if I needed to call 1-800 numbers to reschedule everything that they would reverse the charges. It cost 130$ in calls and they reversed everything! They honored the price I was paying even if the price had gone up since I had booked. I did not even have to ask him, he volunteered that he would leave the price as it was.

All in all.....I loved my stay there! The trolley takes you to bus stops and the beach. You don,t have to walk down or up the steep hills and you get to enjoy the wonderful view from the hotel. You have the private beach and Horseshoebay next to it. Both are beautiful.

Going in January is ideal for me....I booked through a special where the rooms were half price. The lowest category went for 145$ a night. The hotel is quiet...the beach is almost empty and it doesn't cost that much. The water is cold but I don't mind.

It is one of my favorite hotels and one of my favorite destinations....I highly recommend both! I am pretty sure I will see them next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cricri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent vacation, and for detailing each area. TripAdvisor is a great way for us to hear from all of our guests about their various opinions, and we appreciate the time it takes everyone to share their thoughts.

I am glad you found the employees to be pleasant, but respectful of your personal boundaries. It's great that you enjoyed the food at Jasmine & The Newport, a Gastropub. The harbour view is a gorgeous option! The hotel is currently renovating some of our rooms to address wear and tear issues and to update the decor. Those closets are seriously huge - glad you enjoyed! It is fantastic you were able to take advantage of your great FPC perks, and it sounds like you had an exceptional vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

i spent three nights at the fairmont Southampton and this hotel is everything the ads says it is.The food was great,the restaurant staff are very friendly and helps you to make choices and always mentions what the specials are for the meal.The Merlot is imaginable,great food,great ambiance and the manager there always checks the tables to ensure that you are having a great experience.The island of Bermuda itself is magical,its like a fairytale island and the people are so friendly that you feel right at home the moment you land there.I surely will visit again and stay at the fairmont,again.Great hotel.

Room Tip: stay on the gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
You know you've had a special vacation when you call Bermuda "magical" and a "fairytale island" - wow, thank you so much for your kind kudos. It sounds like you had a great 3 night visit with us, and I hope that we will welcome you back to "magical" Bermuda again soon! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Southampton is a beautiful hotel with picturesque views and a great golf corse. The food was so so along with the service in the restaurant. I was very charmed by the service of one particular bellhop, his name was Jay, such a pleasant gentleman, he was alway looking out for our interest, the Management should curve their staffs training around him.
All in all a great experience, we will return again.

Room Tip: level 5 and up are nice, I believe they where renovated recently due to a hurricaine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your thoughts about your recent stay, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the golf course. I am glad you had a good experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Bermuda and we stayed at the Southampton because the reviews were so good and we thought it would be fairly central to get around to other places, i.e. the beaches and into Hamilton. It was unfortunate that the weather over the Christmas period was a bit disappointing and almost everywhere was shut so at first we felt at a loose end. The hotel was very busy and this gave it a good buzz and the service was excellent although they we thought it was disappointing that they didn't have more of their restaurants open. We dined twice at The Waterlot Inn and the food,wines and service were very good if a bit expensive. The Jasmine Lounge had a great atmosphere and variety of foods on offer but struggled sometimes with the number of customers. Our order got lost but having said that the manager then put things right very quickly.
I can't remember staying anywhere where the staff were so genuinely friendly and helpful not just in the hotel but in the whole resort, including the trolley bus drivers. The concierge floor was an excellent experience and well worth the extra cost our only poor experience was noise from neighbouring rooms where people had their tv's on so loud late into the night.
The ferry service over to Hamilton was really useful and quite scenic in the evening with the sunset and backdrop of Gibbs Lighthouse. The Naval Dockyard was a great day out and there was enough in the museum to occupy a full day. We also really enjoyed walking the Railway Trail and the stretch between Southampton and Somerset village was particularly scenic.

Room Tip: Well worth booking a room on the concierge floor as the extras and service in the concierge lounge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing about your Christmas escape to Bermuda! It sounds like you had a great time despite the weather, and I am thrilled to hear that it was the friendly, caring service that made your stay so fantastic. I am glad you fell into the swing of exploring Bermuda during your visit, and it sounds like you had a great time on Fairmont Gold! Thank you for posting here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
801 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,059 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,503 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing