We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Southampton
Nearby Hotels
The Reefs(Southampton Parish)
$660
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$656
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$616
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Beaches(Sandys Parish)
$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
$675
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pompano Beach Club(Southampton Parish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Hotel(Hamilton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,275)
Filter reviews
4,277 results
Traveler rating
2,212
1,282
460
204
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,212
1,282
460
204
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorocean clubjasmine loungeindoor poolwaterlot inngolf courseprivate beachfree ferry to hamiltonpresident's clubhorseshoe baywalk in closetgastro pubtrolley serviceconcierge deskwillow stream spanewport roomnewport gastropub
Filter
Updating list...
2,658 - 2,663 of 4,277 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

For our 10th Anniversary we came back to Bermuda to stay at the Fairmont Southampton. As expected, our stay was top notch. I had done some planning via email with Carlita Lodge on the marketing team to make sure the trip was top notch. She was super responsive to all my questions.
All our planned activities and reservations went off perfectly, even including meeting various Rugby World Classic team members in the hotel and at the beach. Those guys know how to have fun!
Our Jr Suite was an amazing upgrade from the Fairmont Presidents Club rewards program. I just wish the in room TV system had more than 30 channels.
When you arrive at the hotel during the day be prepared, the face of the hotel, Nick DeRosa, will be right at your car door to welcome you. Introduce yourself and return his hearty handshake, he will remember you by name and where you were going out to and then ask you about it when you return. He is just awesome

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms fantastic but the golf/harbour view rooms are very good and a few dollars less
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you, Doug, for your glowing review. I am glad to hear your 10th Anniversary was a fantastic visit and I'm thrilled to have helped in your planning. You're right, Nick DeRosa is the best ambassador Fairmont has got, and the friendliest face to meet you on the front door. I'm glad you got to hang with the Rugby teams, they are a lot of fun and the Rugby tournaments are a blast. Thanks again for reviewing, and looking forward to having you & your wife back early next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This review should really be 3 1/2 stars. My husband and I visited during Thanksgiving weekend with a large family group. There was nothing wrong with our stay, but overall the resort is geared more towards older couples and kids. Keep in mind that we came during a crummy time of year... really windy and a bit wet. We were able to get outside, but we definitely didn't get to spend our time at the beach!

Highlights: all of the staff we encountered were incredibly helpful and all around likeable. The breakfast staffer nicknamed Poly was particularly friendly. We had some really surprisingly good meals as well. We have high standards from our time living in NYC, and we particularly liked Newport... a Gastropub (despite the silly name!) Waterlot was really nice as well, although more old school.

Misgivings: The vibe of the resort is not for young couples. It's not stodgy necessarily, but I wouldn't call it glamorous. That seems to be the scene in Bermuda in general (as far as I can tell), so you can't fault the Fairmont. The rooms were in need of a renovation too... very 90's. Thanksgiving at Windows on the Sound and our daily breakfast buffet were merely ok.

Overall, if we had come at a different time of year to be able to enjoy the beach, we may have had a different experience. Worth a visit for the food and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing about your recent visit. I am sorry to hear you and your husband did not enjoy our program of complimentary Thanksgiving activities and found the resort a bit too laid-back for your style. That week unfortunately did have quite a bit of rain, but generally the weather averages 71 in November, 66 in December, so not quite as cold as NYC! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food at The Newport, a Gastropub. I'm unsure if you visited The Waterlot Inn, but their offering is also award-winning, world-class cuisine and worth visiting if you decide to return during the sunny summer season. Thank you again for posting your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton for a long weekend over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, and it was terrific! The Fairmont Southampton lived up to its reputation as one of the premier hotels in Bermuda. Without exception, the staff were all very friendly and welcoming! They made you feel like they really enjoyed having you there. The room was great, plenty of room, and a terrific view of the sound and the west end. We really enjoyed our stay. I'd definitely recommend it!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here during a 4 night stay in the off season. The hotel is beautiful and has a southern feel to it. The bed was comfortable and we had a great view. I loved the 3 p.m. complimentary tea time along with the crumpets provided. The concierge staff was awesome and I loved the daily itineraries put together to keep guests entertained (cooking demos, wine tastings, salsa dancing, live music and movies), which was all complimentary.

Dining: We dined at Jasmine's and ordered room service. The mini burgers and apple pear mojito and dark and stormy beverage was great. For room service we ordered pizza and burgers and purchased snacks from the gift shop.
We also dined at Lobster Pot and Flanagan's Irish Pub in the City of Hamilton. The fish of the day at Flanagan's was amazing along with the sides (snapper cooked Caribbean style, mac n cheese, rice and peas, Cole slaw, and scalloped potatoes and the Bermuda Triangle was a hit). Try the Rum Swizzle if you like sweet drinks. Lobster Pot was okay, I don't have a lot to say about it. If you want an awesome fish sandwich for lunch go to Art Mel's (order the fish sandwich on wheat or raisin bread which is about $11 and add hot sauce, tartar and Cole slaw or add tomatoes, lettuce and onion). Hint: Raisin Bread was awesome! There is one in Pembroke Parish and another in St. George. Please not the sandwich is huge so you can share or if you are brave try to eat the entire sandwich by yourself.

Things to Do: Spa, pools, take ferry or bus to City of Hamilton, visit the beach (Horseshoe Bay Beach is next to the resort) and you can take some amazing shots. We visited the Botanical Gardens but was disappointed since it does not appear to be maintained. It looks like it was a beautiful garden once but you no longer see that anymore. Visit Crystal Caves and Fantasy Caves and visit the City of St. George (the oldest city in Bermuda). Join a free tour of the city and visit the Bermuda Perfumery and King's Square. We missed the Town Crier and the dunking of the town's drunk and nag since we got distracted with the perfumery and lunch at Art Mel's while we were there. The dockyard was a disappointment. Not much to see unless you want to watch glass blowing or purchase a Bermuda rum cake. Also, visit Gibb's Hill Lighthouse. The fee is $2.50/per person and it is a quick 10-15 min. walk from the resort and takes about 10-15 min. to view. The view from the top is breath taking. So it was a great experience but beware of the 180+ steps to get to the top but there are breaks in between so you can do it. As, you can see we were away from the resort our entire stay so we did not enjoy the spa or hotel sponsored events other than the tea time and the adult movie provided one night. Also, the front desk has dvds available to watch in your room.

Room Tip: Bring a jacket or sweater it gets a little chilly at times. Purchase all day bus passes if you plan on being going all day.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself over our Thanksgiving program days. I am glad that you liked the food at Jasmine and through in-room dining and had a taste of local cuisine at Art Mels. It sounds like you had a lot of adventure, sightseeing throughout the entire island. The complimentary activity programs run over Easter, Summer, Thanksgiving, & Christmas, so perhaps you will catch more of the activities on your next visit. Thank you again for your detailed review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A last minute decision to visit Bermuda resulted in our staying at this wonderful resort. Service was faultless, led by the always helpful, always cheerful concierge Laverne, also ably assisted by two other colleagues. The quality of food at the hotel was very good, although as with most purchases in Bermuda, it can be pricey. Nonetheless this hotel is first class, all rooms have great views and, even though it is 40 years old, it still retains an elegance that is refreshing in these days of gimmicky boutique-type hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmcleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. I will pass along your kind comments to Laverne and the concierge team, I am so glad to hear they were so helpful & friendly. I am glad you enjoyed the property, I agree that is has a certain old-island elegance. I hope that you'll come back for another last-minute getaway again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews