We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at a discount”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We recently visited Bermuda and its officially their shoulder season so it was a great deal at the hotel compared to the rack rate. The staff was really great and helpful in all aspects of the stay. The hotel itself is a little dated and I would be hard pressed to pay the actual high season rate for the facilities and somewhat dated decor across the property. Good location (wrt golf) but a little further away from the main towns (hamilton and St. George) but easy to get to via bus service or cab or scooter.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina / ocean facing high floor. Close to elevator might also be a good idea since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing about your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you got such a great deal, we do try to offer great specials year-round, but particularly during the winter months. It is great to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed in August for a long weekend. The resort location and private beach were great. Rooms could be updated a little bit, but did not spend much time in the room. Ferry to Hamilton was very convenient. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, worth it if you get up early and watch a sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location & beach and I hope that the next time you visit, you are pleasantly surprised by our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a huge hotel with many restaurants and facilities, You never need to leave the property, even though there are many beautiful things to see all over the island.

The hotel is very clean, service is excellent, buffet breakfast is great, there is variety in the on-site restaurants, and everyone is courteous. It has much more a relaxed and isolated feeling than its sister hotel, the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, which is also excellent. We also enjoyed the live music on the weekends in the lobby bar.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your 5-star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope that you will return to beautiful Bermuda again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were upgraded upon arrival to a beautiful ocean-view room on the Gold floor, which included complimentary breakfast, tea, dinner appetizers and dessert. There are many good things to say about the Fairmont Southampton, but our experience with the staff and the amenities on this Gold floor was what stood out the most. Rolly - one of the staff in the Gold lounge - was delightful. It would be worth coming back to this hotel just to see him again!

Other than the Gold floor, we spent our entire 4-day weekend on the resort grounds. The private beach was really nice (if a bit cold in November), where we enjoyed snorkeling with a school of neon blue parrot fish. Our 11-year-old daughter enjoyed the heated outdoor pool, then in the evening the three of us went for a swim in the indoor pool adjacent to the spa (my wife and I liked the ambiance, but my daughter found it a bit dark).

Restaurants were quite good. The Jasmine Lounge and the Newport Room gastropub both have great healthy-choice menus. However, it was the food in the Gold lounge that we enjoyed the most. The canapes at 5:30p are not to be missed!

Room Tip: Gold floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HNLYULCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review, I am so glad you enjoyed your experience at Fairmont Gold. We agree, the staff there are fantasic and we will pass the kudos to Rolly and the rest of the team! It sounds like you had a great time swimming and relaxing, and that you enjoyed the dining. We hope that your family will visit with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The property was large, well maintained for an ocean climate and the staff treated us well. Summer services were limited since we went in November but we expected that. The grounds of the property and the hotel beach are great and made for a really nice day away from all the stress of home. Breakfast was very good our meal at the Newport was the best we had during our 4 day stay. Its seclusion from cruise ships and the city are great but that will cost you in cab fare over the course of a stay but to us, it was worth it. Well done!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike21NJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and that the staff were friendly. I am glad you knew about our seasonal closures of some outlets and were still able to have a fantastic vacation. Thanks again for your review, and hopefully you will return for another long weekend soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Staff was great and really helpful. While the location is a little far west from the nightlife in Hamilton, cabs are readily available. Beds are extremely comfortable. Private beach was well maintained and spa is really nice.

Room Tip: Booking the club level is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickels500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the stay and found the accessibility of Hamilton's nightlife to be easy. We hope you'll return for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay over the weekend. the beach and resort were clean and well maintained, staff really pleasant and helpful. The doormen honestly were the nicest and most fun staff members we met! We got an upgrade to add to our celebration to a lovely room on the 4th floor. Our housekeeping staff, wait staff bringing room serve were all so very nice and fun.
Trolly to Waterlot and beach were fast and easy. We also purchased bus pass at the front desk, and the local buses were simple and convenient. We tried to walk to Gibbs Lighthouse upon being told it was close but wound up at golf resort where were were offered a ride to property line go get us there quickly. Again, staff was so very nice.

My only issue was being off season, the Cabana by the beach had limited food to sandwiches. I even checked with concierge to be sure they had food available before we headed there on Saturday. They didn't share however that they were pre-made and really really terrible. Seemed to have sat for quite a length of time and were totally inedible. The bread was stale, falling apart as we bit into it. The bar had limited stock to make requested drinks but what we had was fine.

We definitely come back and recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMJM106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for writing about your weekend visit, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The doormen are great hotel ambassadors, I am glad you enjoyed their company! It sounds like you had a fun visit with lots of exploring. I am sorry that you weren't fully informed about the Cabanda's limited menu and apologise for the inconvenience. Thank you again for posting, and I hope you return to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,117 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $251 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing