We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service but Doesn't Show Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Service but Doesn't Show Well”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have to say I was expecting a bit more from this property at this price point. The property is really in need of an upgrade.

Absolutely no complaints about the service and be prepared to pay a mandatory "service" fee as part of your bill. There are three Fairmont properties in Bermuda. The Southampton made it a point to refer me to activities hosted on their properties before recommending off property businesses for dinner, social, etc.

The best feature of this hotel is it's Spa area. The Spa area and indoor pool has a very modern and inviting feel to it.

Great breakfast buffet - just please make sure you have enough pancakes for guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am glad that you found the service pleasing. Just to clarify, there are 2 Fairmont hotels in Bermuda, The Fairmont Southampton & The Fairmont Hamilton Princess.

There are daily taxes, gratuities, and resort levy charged to each room. Resort levy covers trolley transportation, complimentary ferry transfers to and from The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, golf club storage & cleaning, daily entertainment, & beach/pool services (towels, umbrellas, lockers, fresh fruit, and iced towel service in season). Gratuities cover the room attendants, bellmen/doormen, beach/pool attendents, function/setup crew, and Fairmont Gold privileges (for guests staying in Fairmont Gold rooms & suites). The taxes are at 9.75% and are broken down to 7.25% for the hotel occupancy tax & 2.5% going to the Guest Tourism Fee. While these are subject to change, I hope that gives you an idea of what the service fees entailed.

Our concierges do try to recommend activities on-property because they are largely part of our complimentary summer activities program, but are also well-versed in what's happening off-property, also. I am glad that you enjoyed the spa and the breakfast, and I hope that the next time you visit, you will be more impressed with our hotel product. Thank you again for reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    1,113
    400
    180
    99
See reviews for
1,054
1,579
97
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had the best time of our lives at the Fairmont Southampton. The location is great (Bermuda is heaven on earth) This hotel is located near the greatest beach in the world: Horseshoe bay beach. Fairmont also provides a free ferry to get to the other Fairmont hotel in Hamilton (great city area)

EVERY meal I have had during my 7 nights stay was absolutely de-li-cious. The variety of the menu is incredible. Whether at the pool, at the private beach or in any of other dinner restaurants, salds, tatars, fish... everything was good. Gluten-free options are offered everywhere at Fairmont +++ Bio local and sustainable options are also on the menus.

Room was ok, pool was awesome, beach was great, service was EXCELLENT.

Everybody was very nice. Anything you need, ask the concierge.

Sooooo looking foward to go back.

Room Tip: If you are part of the PRESIDENT CLUB (FAIRMONT) you get to chose your room... and try to get them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melystar450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Fairmont Southampton, it is always so nice to hear that people had amazing vacatons with us! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our dining outlets and that our Lifestyle Cuisine Menu options helped cater to your dietary requirements and preferences. We look forward to having you back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very large resort close to all sorts of attractions. Their private beach is rather small and not incredible, but there are wonderful beaches very close by! The food is rather expensive and not great (but the cost of the food isn't out of line with what you pay for any where else in Bermuda). I had a great time here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am glad that you enjoyed beautiful Bermuda and got to enjoy all of the gorgeous South Shore beaches just steps away! It sounds like you had a great time, we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Cty, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked a 4 night trip with my lovely bride of 19 years for our anniversary. It was the longest stay away from the kids ever, and a truly memorable one..
Great Staff, beautiful location and great services.
My only gripe was our room overlooked to harbor, which I knew in advance... But when my wife asked for a change they said there were none avail..only to meet a couple the next day who had been given the courtesy. Maybe they complained louder. But it's not criticism, it's a beautiful hotel, and u can't wait to return
I just need to reserve a better room/ view

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am so glad that we made your 19th anniversary special, and that you enjoyed the hotel. During the summer, when we at nearly 100% occupancy, it is difficult to change guests rooms at the last minute. The other couple might have asked just as something had been freed up, or they may have been staying in a different room category. I am sorry you were disappointed with the Harbour View, but hope that next time you visit, you book the one you want! Happy anniversary again, and thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Fairmont Southampton offers an excellent blend of destination resort with access to the other attractions on the lovely island paradise of Bermuda. Their complimentary ferry to their sister hotel provides enjoyable way to visit Hamilton for sightseeing and shopping, while their trolleys conveniently move guests across the expansive property, including the private beach, three excellent restaurants, and the above-mentioned ferry. Horseshoe Beach is accessed through a gate at the entrance to the private beach. Six restaurants on site plus room service insure the guests will not go hungry, and on-site branches of major retailers mean that you don't need to leave the hotel to accomplish your shopping goals.
While not inexpensive, the Fairmont offers good value because of the splendid attention to detail, caring staff, and comfortable rooms and public areas.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful, yet the partial view rooms overlooking the Great Sound offer a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickenpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good hotel in general in every aspect. Friendly staff. Though the food is pricey but it is not a whole lot expensive than other comparable places in Bermuda. Nice beaches within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VjKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the fairmont Southampton the last week of Aug. This was our first time to Bermuda and the fairmont. We chose this hotel after viewing the good ratings on TripAdvisor.
The hotel is surrounded by beautiful landscapes and huge a golf course.

The interior of the hotel is a bit dated but is well mannered.
Check-in was a little slow but the hotel was full so it was understandable and we wasn't bothered.
The room was great with a nice view.
The fairmont hotel is big with many things to do on property.
Front desk was very helpful.

The best thing about the hotel is beach!! It is by far beautiful and has amazing staff that gave us excellent service! The chill cloths made our beach experience perfect.
Meshack and Janell, they made our stay special, setting up our chairs and umbrellas for our stay. There's a beach a few mins away that was breathtaking but very crowed as well.

The snorkel boat was ok. A bit overpriced and short, but the experience was amazing.

The Waterlot was an excellent choice for dinner, a little over priced but the food was delicious so the price didn't matter to us! The service was excellent as well.

The hotel trolley runs frequently so we never waited more then expected.
The drivers were very friendly.

Our stay was great except for ONE incident that floored my wife and I ,on our last day of vacation. We could not believe our eyes.

On our last full day we tried the cabana grill for lunch. It's more of a fast food eatery, nothing fancy. We sat at the bar and had a few soft drinks whilst we waited for our food. My wife happened to be looking in the kitchen and tapped me to get my attention. We both witnessed a server EATING French fries from a food basket. We instantly looked at each other in disbelief once the SAME food he was eating from, was delivered to us moments later by another server!! We both had lost our appetite. My wife was by now angry and had asked the bartender for the manager at once. He yelled towards the kitchen "Dennis! " Now heres the unbelievable part. Denis the manager, was THE SERVER WE SAW EATING OUR FRIES!! Judging by his stomach he does this on a regular! We didn't even bother saying anything. I returned the food. My wife got up,took our belongings and LEFT!!! The next day was our check-out. We were both happy considering we didn't eat dinner that night.

Overall we had a good time at the fairmont bermuda and despite what happened we still give the fairmont four stars. But will not be coming back to this resort again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jrtk9718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it sounds like you were very patient and forgiving of the hotel when it was busy and made the best of your vacation by trying all sorts of activities out. I want to address the incident that has turned you off from the hotel that occurred at Cabana: this kind of behaviour is unacceptable and I have escalated this complaint to our Director of Food & Beverage who is dealing with this allegation. This is not the kind of service we aim to provide, nor the standards we set for proper food-handling. I apologise sincerely for this incident, and would like to discuss it with you further if you'd like to email me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and please rest assured it will be dealt with. I sincerely hope that you will not let this incident deter you from future stays with us in Bermuda. Thank you again for your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
801 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,059 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,503 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing