We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captive by the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Captive by the resort”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

You definitely feel captive by the resort when your sitting at the beachside restaurant and order food only to be disappointed by terrible service and subpar food. You would think that $10 chips would at least get you chips that aren't stale or a simple $15 sandwich would at least come within an hour, but sadly not. The waiters know all too well that the 15% gratuity is raked in despite the lax service that they provide.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-trac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post here, although I am very disappointed to hear that you feel this way. The hotel certainly doesn't want our guests to feel captive, nor do we want them to experience sub-par food or service, and I apologize sincerely for that. There is a beach next door to the hotel, Horseshoe Bay, which guests can walk to and experience another beach atmosphere as well as explore the interconnected South Shore beaches. The hotel also provides a complimentary ferry service into Hamilton, Bermuda's city-centre with shops, restaurants, and nightlife. The Concierge can also recommend different excursions and sights to visit off-property for guests looking for something different. I am sorry you did not experience these things, but hopefully on future visits to Bermuda, you will be able to fully experience all the different things to do on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    1,095
    397
    178
    99
See reviews for
1,027
1,556
96
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phila
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are currently staying at the Fairmont Southamption on the first floor. I must say this is very friendly relaxing place. Every single staff member says hello and if they have close contact with you they use your name throughout the conversation. The accomodations and food have been a knotch higher than expected. There is one person who is #1 in our book and deserves a special kudo, that is Janelle at the beach house. Everyday she greets us with her amazing smile. She has made our daily stay at the beach beyond perfect. Janelle can never do enough for you. With her dedication, committment and focus on her work she is destined to go far with this company. Being in customer service for over 30 years I can recognize her as a real gem and hopefully she can train others in her "style". Hopefully the remainder of our stay will be just as expected. John and Eileen Durso

Room Tip: When the hotel is sold out there is not a chance to get a room upgrade. If staying during the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you, Mr. & Mrs. Durso for your very complimentary review of your recent stay. I am so glad that you found our staff friendly and personable, and that you enjoyed your rooms. I have passed along your kind remarks about Janelle, who really is a shining star on our Beach team. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bermuda again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was able to have a short busoinss trip to Bermuda and stayed at the Southampton Princess. it was not only beautiful on the outside of the property but the insode was gorgeous.

My room overlooked the harbour and was extremely comfortable. I actually sleeped better at the the Princess than I do at tmy house.

I had several dinner meetings at the restaurants on the property. The Waterlot Inn was fantastic and also at the Ocean Club, where the wahoo special was the best I ever had. I can't wait to back in October!!!!

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel has a great view of the ocean or the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review of your business trip to Bermuda at The Fairmont Southampton. It is wonderful to hear you had such a good time, and that you were able to enjoy Bermuda outside of your meetings. I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed the food, and we look forward to welcoming you back in October! Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The service was top notch. Nick in the front lobby was the sweetest and most helpful person. With the bermudian dollar equal to the american dollar, things did get pricey. The hotel is close to golf and just down the hill easy access to boats and the water.

Room Tip: Ocean View was so worth the extra couple of dollars per night. We had a balcony that had a small tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBautista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Loved my stay here. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the grounds and room well-kept and beautiful. I liked how large my room was and that they upgraded me to an ocean view. We loved every meal we ate here; one of our favorites was the restaurant on the beach; kept going back for amazing chicken wings and the best eggs rolls ever. It was worth the splurge to go to The Waterlot Inn for a fantastic 4-star meal. Having the beach a short shuttle ride away made it a very convenient beach vacation; the beach is lovely.
I have only 2 complaints. Everywhere I go now the reefs are bleached; "wear sunscreen" isn't in their interests. So snorkeling was disappointing. That's not the hotel's fault.
A hotel this size needs to have a larger and better staffed concierge. It wasn't unusual to wait 20 minutes, or more, to speak with one of the two on duty at the time. They were always kind and helpful once we got to the desk.
It was an enjoyable day to take the free water taxi to the other Fairmont, in the capitol Hamilton. Walking around the little town is worth a brief excursion but it's not a great place to shop. If you are looking for local artists, they don't seem to exist. Lunch, however, was worth the trip to the Pickled Onion.
We took a local bus to the Dockyards and that was almost a waste of time. There is nothing to see there and no shops worth going to. However, the Mini-golf course is "epic"; the best I've ever seen, or played. Located right above the ocean, it's fully carpeted and very clean with holes patterned after famous courses around the world. For mini-golf; it's beautiful.

Room Tip: If they offer you an upgrade to an "ocean view" ask that it be on the side facing the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRNYWMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review about your recent experience at The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda. It's fantastic to hear that you liked your room and had such good dining experiences - we will pass along your compliments to Cabana's chef! I will also pass along your concerns about Concierge wait-time to our Operations teams, thank you for your concerns.

I am surprised to read your comments regarding the reefs in Bermuda, generally they are considered to be in very good health. There is an upcoming audit of reefs in Bermuda by the Bermuda Zoological Society, to ensure that the country preserves the good health of the reefs, so if you want to email me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com the location where you believed to see reef bleaching, I will certainly pass that along to the local reef auditors. The unique ocean ecosystem is one of Bermuda's most important natural resources and must be preserved at all costs, so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

I'm glad you were able to experience Hamilton, although it is unfortunate that you were not directed to places to find local art - the Bermuda National Gallery and the Bermuda Society of Arts (both located in City Hall in Hamilton) display fantastic local art, as does Masterworks Gallery (located in Paget in the Botanical Gardens). If you were referring to local musicians, there is also a thriving entertainment scene, with local performers playing at the hotel on 6 nights of the week, and various other destinations to watch local acts, including Chewstick Neo Griot Lounge. I am sorry to hear that you couldn't find the arts scene in Bermuda, but it is thriving and perhaps on future visits you will be able to find out more!

Thank you so much for sharing such a thoughtful review, and we look forward to having you in sunny Bermuda again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times over the past several years. It is a nice place particularly if you are a beach person. The hotel has its own private beach. The rooms are nice and the housekeeping staff does a good job. We stayed on the Gold floor which gives you access to their lounge. All day and into the evening they are serving complimentary food and beverages (alcoholic drinks are not free).

It is expensive for what you get, but this is Bermuda and everything is expensive on this island (as it is with many island resort spots). Frankly we would stay at some of the smaller boutique hotels like the Rosedon (see my review) and the Royal Palms, but we come with other couples and they prefer the beach amenities that the South P provides.

Room Tip: A harbor view room has more interesting sights than an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spectacular views. Accommodating and welcoming staff. Many activities for families. Excellent casual dining options (esp Jasmine and Wickets). Indoor (available after 6:30 pm) and outdoor pools are beautiful, particularly spa hot tubs overlooking the ocean. Beach (while crowded) facilities are very nice. Excellent snorkeling right off the beach. Central location. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCB3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Southampton. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the activities and amenities of the hotel and sunny Bermuda, we look forward to having you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
624 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
511 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,037 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing