We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overall a wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2008

My wife and I came to the Fairmont through my company's corporate incentive award plan. The company received a group rate which got us into standard rooms, I asked for an upgrade and was willing to pay a modest supplement to get a room high up with a harbor view. The room was great. The view from the balconey was well worth the extra cost. We had a meal plan and tried all the open restaurants. One was closed. All the restaurants were good. But our first visit to the Waterlot restaurant was only okay. I would recommend ignoring the waiter's suggestions. I think they must have been told to push slow sellers. Some of the dishes were great, but the suggested ones were disappointing. On our second visit we knew what to order, and we all had excellent meals. Hint: Stick to the New York Strip, avoid the ribeyes. We saw Barbara Walters there the second night. The best restaurant we tried was the one at the beach.
The staff was terrific. Friendly, very friendly! Helpful too. The trolleys to the beach or the Waterlot were always there whenever we needed them. Never a long wait at all. Pool area was very nice. Super service for drinks there too. Loved the Dark 'n Stormys.
One problem was a mixup on our room charges. Some of the meals on the meal plan ended up on our room charge. I thought it was resolved before we left, but found it added to my credit card bill when I received my statement. It took many calls to the person in charge without resolution. Finally I called the general manager and the billing did get resolved. Too bad, but I will forgive this problem, and if I go back to Bermuda, I wouldn't let it stop me from returning to the Fairmont Southampton.

  • Liked — The Views and the staff
  • Disliked — Billing problems and poor followup when trying to get it resolved
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    1,127
    404
    188
    101
See reviews for
1,084
1,597
100
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I was amazed to see another person who had EXACTLY the same experience we did as far as this hotel overbooking. The hotel did the VERY SAME thing, telling us they were overbooked, making us wait around in the lobby, and then putting us in a suite for one night and then telling us we had to get out the next day because they had VIP's coming in. I guess I am not considered a VIP at $900 per night? Staff worked hard to get the situation corrected, and my travel agent stayed in touch with me and the hotel throughout the weekend making sure everything was resolved to our satisfaction. Starting off a vacation on the wrong foot can put a dark cloud on the rest of the stay, but once we got settled in, we enjoyed Bermuda. There was a large convention group in the hotel at the time we were there, which made it difficult getting the trolley to the beach and a few other things that large groups tend to bring to the party.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed at the resort last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, well staffed and in a great location. We had the opportunity to tour the island by ferry, bus and cabs. The hotel ferry service to Hamilton is a real plus. The staff was great and extremely responsive to our requests. We had one minor billing problem that was corrected quickly with no problems. Our plans are to return to Bermuda in the fall and we will definitely stay here!! The Fairmont staff made it an easy decision.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Cafe or snack bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrtleRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We just got back from spending a week here and could not be happier. The hotel was recently renovated and had great views. The staff was friendly, the beach was great with a fantastic public beach as well only steps away. The spa was phenomenal! One of the best I have ever used. It is quiet, safe, secluded...great free ferry over to Hamilton... really looking forward to coming back

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank nicebizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Of all the hotels that I have visited in the Caribbean, the Fairmont Southhampton is the best by far. Yes, it is pricey but you definitely get what you pay for here and value wise its worth every penny.

This hotel is the largest in Bermuda and sits atop a mountain. The Hotel is extremely classy in a smooth low key Caribben way. Yes, the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas is more spectacular in its showy display of luxury. But here, luxury is defined by quality and not quantity.

The lobby is big and you are greeted with a center staircase that highlights the lobby, all overlayed in rich wood. You feel wealthy here and the service is excellent. Check-in was easy but the one manager was a bit rude and obnoxious. Not very friendly and probably just making a double shift. She needs sleep but we will let her slide. The first time we were there in 2003, we had a perfect experience and we did not see her. Perhaps she is new.

The pools (indoor and outdoor) are not the biggest by far but they are super clean (the cleanest) and there is no musty pool smell anywhere inside or out.

The Spa treatment was excellent but at $160, its a bit much for a 1 hour massage. Everything is first class- from the lockeroom to the treatment room.

The rooms, although not the most fancy, they are very high quality and well designed. The beds are excellent and clean. Absolutely spotless. The bathroom was spotless although the only negative I would say was it could be brighter in the bathroom. The vanity area was bright and classy but why why the seperate bath/shower area dark?

The beach area- I could write a book how beautiful it was but to sum it up in 2 words- Absolutely Perfect. It was clean, soft pink sand. The water was crystal clear. Coral everywhere.

The resaurant was excellent. Breakfast buffett was large and well planned. Excllent quality food and service.

The worst part about coming to this hotel is that once you come here, everything else in the Caribbean seems second rate, including the Atlantis. I wish I could never go home!

On a 1-10 with 1 being hell and 10 being heaven:

Rooms- 9

Service- 9

Food- 9

Beach- 10

Pools- 10

Grounds- 10

Value- 10

It is expensive ($569 per night during peak season for a standard room!) but well worth it. If you have very high standards like I do, this is the place to go. It is the best hotel in the Caribbean and rivials the best from America's top beach cities. After staying in 5 star hotels like the Ritz and the Seasons around the world, this hotel ranks very high. I would go back in a second.

  • Liked — Everything. This hotel ranks as the best of the Caribbean. It is the standard that others should follow.
  • Disliked — Check-in manager was so-so. Not friendly. The price was a bit steep. In April the water is still cold in Bermuda.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lite_reading313ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Having read all of the reviews before leaving, I had very low expectations & regret for the Fairmont. We were greeted at the hotel with warm & friendly smiles. The bellmen opened the lobby doors each time, the checkin folks were welcoming and the concierge was very helpful.

Our room & balcony overlooked the lighthouse straight ahead on the hill. Water views to our right and left. The room was very clean. All of the room's ammentities worked perfectly. Housekeeping staff were all very friendly too. Everyone was just happy.

We took taxis most of the time we were there - every driver we had had a wonderful demeanor. Starting rate was $4.15

I was very happy with our experience. The only con is .. everything is really expensive. Whether you eat in Hamilton or at the hotel, its all the same price.

  • Liked — the hotel was very friendly
  • Disliked — the overall price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sugarcrisp1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We travelled to Bermuda for a golf and beach holiday and wanted to stay at a hotel with a view.
Here are my positive points and negative points about the hotel....

Positive:
Nice view (if you are in an ocean view room on the 4th floor)
Choice of on-site restaurants
On-site shopping mall
Free ferry to Hamilton
Ocean club restaurant was amazing and fantastic view
Room service was enjoyable

Negative:
Staff was not as well trained and considering it is Bermuda, I would expect a bit more manners and experience from the staff
They have lots of conferences and large family groups that overtake the trolley when trying to get to the beach
You have to take a trolley car to the beach, it only takes about 3 minutes to drive down the hill but we had to wait at least 15 minutes to catch a trolley
Our room as ok , the beds weren't high end for a Fairmont property
The beach was small and crowded feel free to walk over to the public beach (horseshoe) right next door, better view and you can find a private spot away from the crowds
The hotel just seemed dated and the overall feeling was corporate not resort

If your a golfer:
The fairmont executive course is cute and works your irons out well
Riddell's Bay - fantastic, course, challenging and inspiring views and a lovely clubhouse.
Midocean - worldclass course with a wonderful history - can't wait to play again!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Being so far away from the beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
649 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
810 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,551 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,068 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing