We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large hotel on a hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A large hotel on a hill”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a large hotel set on one of the highest points on the island from where you have views of both the ocean and the Great Sound. It has many restaurants in the hotel which can be confusing but there are notices informing guests of the menu choices on offer. There are also one over the golf shop and the Waterlot Inn, a four star steak house which, in my opinion, served the best food. Be careful with ordering drinks as they expensive; the least costly bottle of wine we had was $65.
The hotel is some way from the private beach but is served by a trolley bus which runs frequently. The hotel runs a free ferry service between its sister in Hamilton when weather permits.
Sporting facilities include tennis courts and the golf course but are accessible only at an extra cost.
There are other facilities including a spa and swimming pool. We did not use either as the spa was very expensive and the external pool closed for refurbishment.
In summary, the hotel suffers from its size in that it is not very homely and rather impersonal but it is well run and comfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with an ocean view and overlooking the golf course. The corner suites at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    1,095
    397
    178
    99
See reviews for
1,027
1,556
96
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 10 days and were able to get all over the island on public bus. This location is the best and the ferry to the sister property in Hamilton is a fabulous perk. It cost me one book of 15 bus tickets to get everywhere utilizing their ferry service. My daughter received a free spring break pass at the airport that gave her unlimited free public transportation. The people, service, location are top notch. There's no other comparable place on the island. We went by bus to Coco Reef as this was the spring break headquarters. The beach was lovely and the people nice but nowhere near the amenities offered at the Fairmont. We never want to leave. Everyone is so nice but there is one doorman that you just want to hug. He is always so happy and makes you want to be just like him. A most wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We got an upgrade without asking but the place is so fabulous I don't think any room can e a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You know that credit card commercial where travellers show up for the Olympics after it's all over, the stadium is empty and the atmosphere is not quite right? That was my experience at the Fairmont Southampton in mid-March. "You should be here in the season - it's a completely different place". I thought off season meant no crowds and milder temps. It was quite cold, rainy (not their fault of course) and gale force winds shut the ferries down. The locals are wearing down jackets and toques so why is the air conditioning still full blast in the restaurants? Half the restaurants were closed and lunch/dinner service for the ones that were open was painfully slow. My 17 year old who works for restaurant at home attributed it to the automatic 17% tip - no incentive! I think they just don't have enough staff in the right places. Trying to get a cab in the evening from restaurants took 30+ minutes. The outdoor pool was closed and there were limited areas where you could sit outdoors - who wants to look at an empty pool? That said, the food when it finally arrived was good and the people are very friendly. Bermuda is a beautiful island and we travelled from end to end by taxi and/or on the local bus. Would love to go back but not in March. If you go, bring a coat and some fellow diners so you are not the only one there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel doesn't cater to families, it rather caters to business groups, they want to keep them happy. The hotel was overbooked and the beach was really crowded, not mention the hotel is not on the beach and you have to grab the bus to get there. Yes, I knew this in advance but it was not good and like I said, the beach is really overcrowded.
We received good service in the hotel. The lobby doesn't compare to the Fairmont in town which has been upgraded and just beautiful. The restaurants were good, that includes Baci and the beachfront restaurant. Although, the beachfront restaurant was great atmosphere to dine outside with the sunset, the food was OK, not great.
The rooms were nice, we had adjoining rooms due to traveling with teenagers and that was good.
Loved Bermuda but I absolutely would not return to this particular hotel, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The first night we were there, we ate at Jasmine's, a restaurant at the hotel. We waited 45 minutes for the food, and another half hour for our food to be picked up when finished. Not once was our water re-filled. Was near impossible to get service from the restaurant. Horrible service, and it was what we experienced throughout our stay. We paid $45 a night (in addition to our room rate) for gratuities for housekeeping and the bellmen. Not once did any bellmen assist us with any luggage or strollers, as we were traveling with 2 children under the age of 2. No turndown service. We found out on our 2nd day that the outdoor pool was closed (the one that is more family friendly, much bigger then the indoor pool and with a slide). - Never was this mentioned while making our reservation. Our room was nice and spacious. Bed was great! We also enjoyed the Bermuda breakfast on Sunday, great selection. The property is amazing, with beautiful views, but the lack of service will prevent us from coming back. We wrote the manager, and even then could not come to a resolution. They obviously are not focused on customer service, and that's unfortunate because it is an awesome property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travisair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Background: Bermuda was on my bucket list, always wanted to go and of course, stay at the Fairmont! Plus it was my birthday so wanted to ensure I had a perfect experience! Read all the reviews, good and bad (not many but did not want to be that .0009% that have a bad experience for whatever reason), and sent an email to the Fairmont regarding the negative reviews. Also, I’m really picky, try to stay at the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, etc. when budget allows. And the survey says…….
**************************************Better than superb!***********************************************
I received multiple emails from the Carlita Lodge, the Marketing and Communications Manager, who assured me that my stay would be of the highest caliber and I had been upgraded two levels!

***************
Upon arrival, within minutes of entering my room, got a call from Alex, another manager, who confirmed my satisfaction with my room and offered his services if I needed anything. BTW, the room was gorgeous, had a view of the atlantic ocean, beautiful!

**************
When I returned that evening, there was a gorgeous birthday cake (see my pictures!) that I wound up snacking on the whole time (had a fridge in my room); with a card from Rita, another manager, also offering assistance should I need it.
***************
Then I get a knock on the door and Judy, the person assigned in the evening, asked if I needed anything and did so every night I was there.
****************
The concierge Maurice was outstanding, so patient and very helpful.
*****************
When I went to the front desk Monday, Pete, the manager from the Gold floor came out and when I told him I was thinking of going out to dinner and trying scuba, he whipped out his phone and proceeded to make reservations at various restaurants and arrange for a scuba diving .
****************
While Pete was on the phone, Alex came out and introduced himself again and offered his assistance.
****************
Oh, and how could I forget Tanya, at the front desk, so pleasant, so accommodating, so gracious, even when she was outside of the hotel, and not working.
Everyone was wonderful. Once again the Fairmont sets itself apart with its customer centric attitude.
*******************
As usual, loved the robe and slippers (left the slippers, but now that I think about it, maybe you can take them home, check with the desk). The bed was so comfy, love those pillows, sheets and duvet. Loved all the little touches (assorted coffees, emery boards, cotton puffs, closet big enough for a cabinet to put all your clothes, both folded and hung)
Loved the pool (indoor, little small for laps but so nice with the openings to the outside), fitness center ( fruit, iced lemon and plain water dispensers) and that view of the ocean, plus I loved they had a defribillator (being prepared!)
Loved the shops (Madree was so helpful since I had to buy another bag to fit the stuff I bought).
Loved the food, even if the buffalo wings weren’t really buffalo wings (they were hot, crispy and fresh)
Love the smoked salmon plate and the flexibility of room service to bring up the cream cheese, after the fact.
Loved the daily news digest.
Loved the friendliness of the trolley drivers.
Loved Nick, who followed up regarding pickup when I was leaving.
**********************
Tips, buy the 3 day pass, taking the bus to St. Georges, Hamilton, etc, you get wonderful sense of the island. Join the president’s club so you get free wifi; buy a phone card (available at the front desk, to avoid fee, can call from the lobby area pay phones) if you plan to call the states or you may be liable for huge roaming charges (I kept my phone on airplane mode the whole time); arrange online in advance for CEO shuttle (just keep in mind if you don’t check your luggage, you will be waiting if someone else has checked theirs).
****************************
Love the green initiative…..
Also comments about the cost; being originally from New York ( and also have a job where I see a lot of hotel folios and meal receipts) , did not think the prices were out of line for a hotel, especially a high end one. Loved that the gratuity, etc was included (didn’t need to do the math) in everything.
**********************
To repeat, better than superb. All of the staff, and I’ve forgotten some names, went out of their way and they did not have to, really made my birthday absolutely perfect, looking to return next year!

Room Tip: higher floors, better view, harbor, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blooming_hydrangeas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Between the views of the Atlantic Ocean and the elegance of the property when you enter the lobby, the Fairmont South Hampton is one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed at. While the room was nothing out of this world, the views were one of a kind. The property grounds were expansive, but manageable with the trolly service that would pick you up from the lobby area and down to the private beach as well to other areas of the property.

The staff was also first class and always willing to assist. I stayed for about a week in September '11 and outside of about ten minutes of rain we got when we first arrived, it was high 70s/low 80s for the remainder of the week.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigstravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
624 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
511 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,037 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing