We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in October of 2012 for our 5th year anniversery. Was greeted upon check in with a bottle of champaigne in my room and chocolate covered strawberries. On day 2 a 5th year anniversery chocalate cake was left in my room. Staff at the hotel was great. room was spacious. Beach was awesome. Many places to eat at the hotel and all are very good. Great bar on site that keeps the Dark & Stormies coming and also offers a nice tea time option late afternoons. The hotel can be pricey but if you are looking for a special occasion this place is for you. Will surely return and might even splurge on the gold floor nexrt time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda. We appreciate when guests tell us about their special occasions in advance so that we are able to surprise & delight them. It sounds like our team was able to pamper you and your wife during your stay, which is wonderful! We look forward to hosting you both again, and thank you for taking the time to share about your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,001
    369
    168
    95
See reviews for
933
1,439
86
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotels in Bermuda are expensive and for the high prices excellence is expected. The staff is excellent, the rooms are nice, the beach is beautiful. The fact that they got rid of the nicest restaurant they had is subpar.

Expect to get a bus pass or be prepared to spend a lot of time in a taxi to go to restaurants. This is the only downside to this hotel.

Complimentary ferry is great during the day to go into Hamilton or to take the last one over for dinner. You will need to find alternative transportation back however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank noahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Southampton Fairmont is perched on a hill with an outstanding view of the ocean and surrounding area. You can't beat the location if its beach you are looking for (they have their own private beach next to public Horseshoe Bay). There is a shuttle that takes you around the large property and to and from the convenient and free ferry that takes you into Hamilton. A taxi is approximately $25 with tip into Hamilton or $30 to the Dockyards, save your $ for food and rum and take the bus - its clean, efficient and offers interesting routes to take in all of the islands views. We visited in low season so I'm going to assume that the hotel wasn't running on all cylinders - it appeared somewhat tired and not necessarily up to the standards I'd expect for a Fairmont. Take the breakfast package as the food in Bermuda is expensive and the Fairmont buffet breakfast provides lots of options and gets you through until dinner (on Sunday it's very busy as they add a Bermudian menu to their brunch which was very tasty). The Waterlot was our best fine dining experience at the hotel. The concierge was very helpful and pleasant, the front desk was inconsistent in its service - again I expect this is seasonal and when they are in full swing they iron all of this out. We didn't play golf but the friendly staff at the club house let us take a cart around the course to have a look. The spa and indoor pool are a great way to spend a rainy day. If you are looking for something livelier where you can easily walk to downtown Hamilton shopping and restaurants you may want to consider another venue.

Room Tip: Stay away from "bargain" floors - ie those with obstructed views on lower floors - you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Muggette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed the views of beautiful Bermuda. Your suggestion of saving the $ for rum & food made us laugh, but you are right- the Bermuda public buses are a great, economical way of getting around and seeing some spectacular sights. We're glad that you enjoyed The Waterlot, it's a wonderful premier dining experience. We apologise, however, if you felt that our service was lacking at all- we certainly aim to deliver outstanding service year-round. We hope that you're able to visit again soon, and experience The Fairmont Southampton during a slightly busier time. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed t the south Hampton princess 2 times 2011 & 2012 amazing place. We love the beach is close by the food has been great. In 2012 we stayed on the gold floor which is a very memorable experience. The staff make your stay all have been so helpful with our daughter and any information needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this very large fairmont hotel in January and were given good deals on out of season rates.however be warned!!----make sure your room is harbour facing away from service rooms and especially noisy lift shafts !!the outdoor pool area below the 6 floors of ocean facing rooms acts as an amphitheatre and all noises from corporate meetings/ children playing in the various pools etc are amplified to the bedrooms above,which isn't great when you are taking that siesta!!
This is a 500+room hotel which hosts a considerable amount of corporate events although they are generally well managed and don't interfere with normal routines.the jasmine bar lounge is comfortable and efficient ,breakfast facilities good and their so called gastro pub THE NEWPORT serves good quality meals (although can be very noisy!!)
Other facilities including their golf course are good if not exceptional.staff are excellent and very helpful.
Prices for f&b are high as in all Bermuda especially when you add the taxes on the total !!
However,a good very large hotel ,well run for its purpose,and worth an out of season visit for those special fairmont offers!!

Room Tip: Harbour view away from lift shafts and service rooms preferably at the end of the building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WIneman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear you had some noise issues, but it sounds like they were resolved, which is great. You're right- Jasmine is the perfect lounge for a drink & Newport has quite a lively atmosphere. We're also glad you enjoyed the golf. It sounds like you were able to come on one of our special offers, which is excellent. We hope that you'll return for a visit again soon, thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton last February, 2012. From start to finish, it was a magical experience. The room was lovely, the views from our balcony were beautiful and the service was impeccable. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary and were welcomed to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us! The weather was a bit on the cool side, but we still managed to swim outside in the pool and spent many a night out in the hot tubs. The location of this hotel is great. The beach is right across the street, there are many walking trails, and this part of the island is much more relaxing then bustling Hamilton. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to room on a higher level. Ask for wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What's your pleasure?

Food, drinks, golf, snorkeling, diving, beach, music, spa, jacuzzi, boat ride, business center, grand views, amazing sunsets...etc This place has it all!

Though we went off season the place was still great. The service in Bermuda is worth the money but chose wisely. Call and ask for offers they have, sometimes you get a room free in the family package.

The harbor view rooms have a nice view at night. The sea side view gets dark beyond the hotel limits.

Tio pepe is in the area and quite nice. Vegetarian MUST NOT go to Henry VIII but good otherwise.

The golf course has a new greens keeper so the course is getting in better shape.

Room Tip: Harbor side has a better view for day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at The Fairmont Southampton. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation in Bermuda during the winter season. You are right: we offer lots of great specials via phone, web, or your travel professional at this time of the year and it is a terrific time to experience Bermuda without all of the bustle of the high season. We're glad you noticed our constant updates to the golf course, we are excited at how it's shaping up. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing