We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Southampton
Nearby Hotels
The Reefs(Southampton Parish)
$660
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$664
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$559
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Beaches(Sandys Parish)
$632
$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
$675
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$419
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pompano Beach Club(Southampton Parish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,272)
Filter reviews
4,272 results
Traveler rating
2,208
1,281
460
204
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,208
1,281
460
204
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorocean clubjasmine loungeindoor poolwaterlot inngolf courseprivate beachfree ferry to hamiltonpresident's clubhorseshoe baywalk in closetgastro pubtrolley serviceconcierge deskwillow stream spanewport roomnewport gastropub
Filter
Updating list...
3,106 - 3,111 of 4,272 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

5 days in Bermuda at the Fairmont was just what the doctor ordered.
This hotel has something for everybody from its own private pink sand beach to the tennis courts, the spa, restaurants and the excellent par 3 golf course.
All staff were so friendly, always smiling and always willing to go the extra length all in the quest for providing excellent service.
The rooms are spacious and almost all rooms face either the south beach or the scenic north island coast line
Although the hotel is remote from November to February, there is no sense of entrapment, as there is an excellent bus service. The hotel sells bus tokens and bus passes and the shuttle will drop you off at the bus stop giving you access to many restaurants serving great local fare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this resort in early November. It is the largest resort on the island and is kept up really well. We weren't really happy with our first room as it was next to the elevators but were moved to a much nicer room. We stayed in room 532, one of the few rooms I can tell which have two windows so this was very nice. It was very clean and well kept. The weather was nice enough that we slept with the patio doors open. It has a very nice view of the ocean. We had breakfast each morning here but nothing to write home about. Wish they had freshly made juice instead of bottled.

The only negatives about the stay was that the light that illuminates the hotel from outside is kept on all night. This blares into the room even if the curtain is open a few inches. It is so bright it makes stay gazing here in the middle of the Atlantic almost impossible. How about turning it off around 11pm or midnight as there is no one to really view the hotel at that time. Second negative is that the restaurants were too air conditioned. I needed to either wear a sweater or a jacket to keep warm, plus the food got cold quite fast because of this. Lastly of note is that this is a quieter time of year so a number of the resorts restaurants were closed for the season.

If I had to return to Bermuda which I probably won't as there are so many other places to see in the world I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank smf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I rarely stay in large hotels when I visit an Island.. But it was a airfare/hotel package/Not quite sure how they come up with the rates/ everyone I talked to had a different rate. You must ask if you are getting an ocean view or harbor view both are nice of course. Plenty of activities/golf/tennis/trails to walk/ocean sports/. Loved the restaurant oceanside/ Yes some things do close as tourist high season winds down/ Took the local bus to a few restaurants off property/walked to a few restaurants off property.All staff very courteous & would go out of their way to assist. Must join the Fairmont Club to get a few more amenties or discount on amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shadowgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Fairmont. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff was ever so gracious and helpful. Food at all the restaurant at the hotel was delicious but pricey. In general, the food in Bermuda is very expensive but very good.
Would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miffy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This very expensive hotel on the south shore of Bermuda (25 minute drive from Hamilton) is absolutely lovely, and I was tempted to give it a 5 star rating. However, the hotel shuts down 1/2 of its restaurants in November (through February) and with the distance to other dining options, renders the patrons somewhat trapped with limited amenities.

The building sits high up on a hill, commanding fabulous views from nearly all the rooms. The golf course surrounds it. The beach is a fair distance; not generally walkable as the road that leads there is narrow, steep and is without a sidewalk for over half of it. The same can be said for the Waterlot marina and restaurant, both part of the hotel, which is on the other side of the main building and again, inaccessible except by trolly. We found the necessity of trolly travel quickly lost any appeal and became a bother. I don't know how well this system works at the height of the tourist season. I much prefer being able to walk to the beach. In fact, walking seems to be discouraged. I couldn't find any walking trails and most of the streets are very narrow and have no sidewalks either.

Check in was simple. Our suite was absolutely lovely and very spacious. It was on the Gold floor but what we weren't told was that the Gold floor amenities ended mid November. So no breakfast or snacks in the afternoon. Wish we had been told this before.

The service for the room was somewhat variable. Some nights there was bottled water, some nights not; the kitchen dishes were removed and never replaced; the minibar never serviced etc.

We ate at the Jasmine bar (OK but generally slow service) and the Gastropub (pretty good) and the Waterlot Inn (very expensive but quite nice). Breakfast was limited to Windows, which was absolutely lovely and a shame it wasn't open in the evenings. None of the meals were spectacular and none were cheap.

We didn't use the spa. The prices were outrageous. The hotel charges to use the fitness facility. As well they charge a "resort fee" daily (over $20).

We had booked a golf lesson prior to arriving, but this was not in the calendar at the golf centre, so had to be booked again. Then the pro didn't show (he had car trouble) and we were promised another session. We are now home and STILL waiting for the golf centre to call us. Very poor service.

The beach is small but adequate. There is little shade but most of the chairs do have a movable umbrella type apparatus. The surf was extremely rough on one day but lovely the next. The restaurant by the ocean was closed but the bar was open and the bartender very friendly.

Service in the restaurants and front desk were all worthy of the Fairmont brand.

The shops were quite good and there is a children't arcade. The heated pool was lovely.

Overall this is a typical Fairmont property, albeit with a few glitches (ridiculous spa prices, fee for the gym, poor service at the golf centre, spotty housekeeping and no walking trail to the beach or Waterlot) that would make us incline to head back to Hawaii to the Orchid or the Kea Lani for a vacation, rather than come back. However, should we have reason to be in Bermuda again, I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the building will have a terrific view. The higher the floor the better. The Gold lounge is lovely, the staff there excellent and the food is great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews