We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED THIS VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“WE LOVED THIS VACATION”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose to stay at The Fairmont South Hampton because I was there 6 years ago with family and we really enjoyed it. They were having a special for about $200/night including taxes and resort fees so we grabbed it, are we glad we did. The service is very good and the staff is so nice, actually everyone on the island is very nice. We had gone right after the hurricane they had in September. I booked the regular with the option to upgrade if available. The upgrade was available and knowing they weren't fully booked because of the hurricane I asked for an additional upgrade. The front desk lady didn't look to thrilled when I asked but she did accomodate. We got a partial ocean view room, not bad for the money, cheap actually.

The room - walk in closet which I believe is standard, 2 sinks, comfortable beds, turn down service, loved the toilettries, they smell so good. Rooms could use a bit of a face lift.

The beach is beautiful. This hotel is located near a great beach, it is so picturesque. Keep in mind the hotel isn't directly on the beach. The hotel restaurant on the beach is very good. We ate there 2 or 3 times. As for the cons, the beach chairs need to be changed. They should get beach beds and get rid of the strip plastic lounge chairs. They need to have more faucets of water to wash feet. They only have one for the feet and one for the body and you end up waiting. I think because people stay at this hotel for the beach that whole area needs a facelift. The waiting area where the trolley is picked up, where the little shop is, the restrooms and showers and the restaurant etc.

Restaurants - We dined the the Waterloo which was very good and classy. Loved it.
We ate at the Ocean Club which has spectacular views but the food was average to good.
Breakfast is good but expensive if you dine in the main breakfast dining room I forget the name. If you have a light breakfast, they call it "to go breakfast" in the Jasmine lounge it's more reasonable and you don't have to get the pre fix. It's flexable but you must have breakfast atleast once in the main dining room because of the view. The restaurant by the pool is also good but that also needs a facelift.

The ferry service to town is great even though it doesn't run too many times (3 times a day 9am, 1pm and 5pm it is a help). We would take the boat in and taxi back. It is like a free mini tour of the island.

As for the nightly entertainment in the Jasmine lounge it is really good. They had a trio band every night and they were very professional. The lounge has a nice classy vibe and we would go every night to relax, people watch enjoy the music and cocktails. Keep in mind Bermuda doesn't have much night life.

Concierge - I can't say enough nice things about the concierge staff. They were always very helpful and eager to please

As for the spa, it was good but I have had a better massage. Again the spa needs a facelift especially where the pool area is, it looks very dated. The view from the spa is spectacualr though. They have 2 jacuzzi's one is very hot. We couldn't stay in it for very long.

Overall we do recommned this hotel and would go back. The con's were just very minimal that the pros outweighted them hands down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doras01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,991
    1,126
    404
    187
    100
See reviews for
1,081
1,594
100
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Fairmont Southampton wraps you in true Bermuda style. From the knee high socks to the classic cocktails, it's Bermuda! Great beach club perfect for relaxing or playing with the kids. Nice tennis area right at the beach. The hotel has a number of very good restaurants, along with one of my favorite restaurants in the world, 340 year old Waterlot Inn. Amazing food, outstanding wine selection and phenomenal service. I look forward to my next visit already!

Room Tip: Ask to be on one of the upper floors for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephG357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Bermuda for a destination wedding. The Fairmont Southampton is a fabulous hotel. The staff is very friendly and are willing to do anything to make the stay very pleasant.
When I say prices are a little expensive we must realize that everything we eat and drink is shipped in, either by ship or airfreight.
Everything we ate at the hotel was outstanding.
The beach is great and beauliful. Scenery around the hotel is fantastic.
The Fairmont Southampton was wonderful and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view. The scenery is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a classic hotel, a quality place. While this hotel is slightly outdated in some areas, it really has the nicest staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. The first gentleman we encountered right out of the cab was so nice and genuine, check in was a breeze, concierge staff extremely helpful, front desk giving us a reduced rate while being stranded here due to hurricane at home. The trolley driver was so wonderful. All of the waiiters are efficient and nice. This hotel has a shuttle to the nicest beach around and a ferry into Hamilton. This save you lots of $ . The food at jasmine and Newport restaurants were excellent. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms have been nicely upgraded, the beds are comfortable and have big flat screen TV. We had two small maintenance issues which were resolved very quickly!! I don't know how you can do better, got a great rate on Hotwire!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This stately resort has it all. Rooms are very large with a slider to a balconey, in our case looking towards the dock yard and cruise ships in the distance. Two metal chairs and big round table on the expansive balconey. The room was fully equiped. King bed, sofa, sudy desk, two phones. Under the 41 channel philips flat tv was the bureau which held a refrig with knips,corona beer, water, cream for the coffee. Wine and glasses, candy, nuts along with a Kerurig coffee maker.Two wide closets side by side but no lugguage racks. Large bright vanity with two granite sinks, strong water pressure with super hot water, Rose 31 products, scale, hair dryer. The shower/tub tiolet room was also large with a lot of light. Two nice robes with a lot of plush towels. Only issue was the drain stop was broken, kind of laying there and the water did not drain well. The maid must of seen it yet no one ever came to fix it, strange. The room was quiet but i could hear people talking when the room was occupied next door.
Elevators are quick. Jasmines is the place to go for food and drinks. tables couches and chairs all around. Service is excellent for such a large crowd and they make the best Bermuda fish chowdeer, gibbson and black martini. They kept telling me they didn't have onions for my drink but somehow they always found them. Nice touch. Place is always hopping at night with a trio palying tunes. Breakfast at Windows was also very good. Buffet is 29 or the southhampton with 2 eggs, meat, hash brown, coffee juice is 19. Sunday is ther well known bunch which is 32 but has everything. Even the bermudians come there after church to eat. Waterlot and Bacci are both god restaurants on the property, trolley takes you there make reservations when you arrive or you will miss out..One of the best beaches in the world Horse Bay is down the slope from the hotel. the blue trolley bus brings you down. Tthey run every 15 minutes. Hit the hotels private beach for chairs and drinks but if you want to go to the horseshoe beach next door, it's a short walk around the fence in the parking lot and you are there. We grab a some towels from the resorts beach and walked over Horseshoe. Water is warm, good waves and soft pink sand. Short walk to Gibbs hill form hotel. the lighthouse is the best place to get souniers, low princes nice stuff. Took to the bus #8 to get to Hamilton and the dockyard. Blue tolley will take you to the bus stop. Cheap, safer than the mopeds plus you get to meet and see the locals and see the scenery. Cab is 20 to hamilton and 40 to the airport.
I could on and on about the hotel: the pool, golf course, staff, view things to do, it is all good.The island is just a great place, friendly, safe, clean and smells like flowers. I need to go back.

Room Tip: Join online before you go the Fairmont Presidents Club. You get extra benefits for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoomerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I visited Bermuda for the 30th PGA Grand Slam of Golf. What a marvelous week we spent. We found everything to our liking: the hotel, the food, the people, the beaches, the golf course, etc. The hotel staff was very friendly. The view from our room unbelievable. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is on top a hill and has beautiful views from both sides. We watched the sunsets from our balcony overlooking the ocean. The concierge did a wonderful job answering our questions and coordinating the multiple trips we made all over the island. The shuttle service is frequent and very efficient. Just about anything you want to see or do starts at the Fairmont Southampton. From there you may take a taxi, buy a one-day pass for public transportation which includes the ferry, rent a scooter, go hiking, go biking, etc. The beach is nearby. The shuttle takes you to the beach and picks you up. The beach is clean, beautiful, safe, and offers snorkeling, kayaking and other sports activities. It's a great hotel with great people ready to make your stay very comfortable. You won't get bored staying there at all.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you want to enjoy the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My sister and I took a quick three day trip to Bermuda to celebrate her 40th birthday and stayed on the 6th (Gold Floor) -- This floor includes a separate concierge, afternoon tea, canapés and a full breakfast with several hot items, baked goods, and an excellent fruit salad. There is also a fully stocked refrigerator where Gold Floor guests can help themselves to water, sodas etc, at any point during the day.You do have to pay extra to stay on this floor, but this hotel is pricey ($4 for water) so when you factor in all that you receive, and the no hassle dining factor, it's worth it!
The hotel is very nice overall. Staff is very friendly, grounds are beautiful and the restaurants are very good. We ate at Jasmines (casual) and the pool restaurant - both good but service was a little slow. Indoor pool is beautiful but keep in mind you must bad $39 to swim before 6:00 pm if you do not not partake in a spa service. After 6:00 it is free and there is a very nice hot tub.
The hotel beach was small and crowded but if you go early it is a better overall experience. Lots of seaweed -- but not enough to scare us off. Great drinks at the beach concession stand!
Trolley's to the beach and ferry come often. We went to Hamilton on the ferry -- lots of fun -- but be aware that shops in Hamilton are closed on Sunday.
I guess we'll just have to return to the beautiful island of Bermuda!

Room Tip: Gold Floor is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
649 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
810 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,548 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,068 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing