We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful beach on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The most beautiful beach on the Island”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Fairmont Southampton is in a gorgeous location.
Bermuda is an absolutely beautiful, colorful, gorgeous island. With the most brillant aqua clear water that was about 80 degrees and comfortable to swim in everyday. And very colorful homes that look fantastic with the aqua water as a backdrop.

On a windy day you do have to be careful regarding the toxic Portegeuse Man of War Jellyfish. The people are a mix of proper British etiquette with a variety of island sounds to their dialect. Some sound more Jamaican and others sound more British, it's quite a mix.

Bermuda is a very expensive place to vacation and the hotel does ding you for just about everything unless you join the President's club. You pay an extra expense to use the wi-fi and an extra expense to use the gym. The shuttle to the hotel's beach however is free, and the boat shuttle to Hamilton I believe is free or a very low price. To take a Taxi for about 2 miles will cost about $15. to $20 dollars. We stopped at a deli for cheese and crackers for lunch and a box of crackers was $5.25. With that said you pay $16.00 for a Hamburger and fries at the hotel.

For buying snack near the hotel there is the restaurant Henry VIII down the hill from the Hotel has a pantry of beer, wine, cheese and crackers if you want to stop there and buy yourself some treats. We didn't know this until later on in our trip. We heard the food was also good there, but we didn't make it there.

The hotel grounds: Beautiful! There are lots of things to do right at the hotel with a wonderful spa, ( also very expensive) to free swimming in the pools one outdoor and one indoor and 2 jacuzzi's. We met nice people in the jacuzzi in the evenings. The hotel also offers daily activites including Happy Hour at the beach to early morning guided hikes.

The Hotel's Beach: Oh my gosh!!! Sitting at the beach here is like sitting in a postcard, and we truly didn't want to tour the island, because we just wanted to stay at the beach all day everyday. I will post photos so you can see what I am talking about.

The rooms: Are big! Each room had a balcony as well as a little couch and coffee table. We were quite comfortable. The hotel staff also brought us an extra refrigerator to store our cheese and wine purchases.

The hotel's restaurant Bacci's was terrific. I think you have to know what to order. Make sure you say you want tap water for water at dinner, as they will charge you $7.00 a bottle for water if you do not say. I had the pizza which was terrific and my husband had the steak which he also loved.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieM1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    1,127
    404
    187
    102
See reviews for
1,085
1,596
100
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills,CA
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were there for four nights and loved every moment. Had an ocean view room and the view was fantastic. The room was very comfortable and a good size. Very clean and the service was excellent.I was surprised to find out that the restaurant's prices were about the same as any other place we came accross including little pizza and sandwich shops. Since Bermuda produces nothing more than onion, everythig has to be imported so it is pricy. We ate a few times at the hotel and were very happy. At night people like to dress up so make sure you bring something nice to wear at dinner. Great scuba diving! A bit challenging with driving on the "wrong" side of the road. Since the only thing you can rent is a mopet, try to stay away from big busses. We almost got run over by one going up hill. It was at night -he didn't see us and was taking most of the tiny road. Didn't even stop to check if we are alive. Luckily we were fine with just a few scratches.
I loved the color of the sand! Great beaches and not so crowded if you drive a bit. The hotel has a small but beautiful beach. We were exploring around the island and were not dissapointed. Beautiful place!

Room Tip: Try for a partial ocean , partial golf vew . I think it is the best combination of both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from an incredible 4 night stay at the Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda. It was both our first times in Bermuda, and being from Boston we were in such awe that this wonderful Caribbean destination was only a short 2 hour direct flight away. We stayed on the Gold floor and just the complimentary breakfast, wi-fi, afternoon apps, and the free water bottles/soda was completely worth the upgrade. Everyone of the staff members from the breakfast servers to the housekeepers always had a smile on and greeted us - the gold front desk staff was also great with the exception of one staff member (the lady in the white shirt) who we just felt a little uncomfortable with...some moments she was nice to us, and other times she gave us the cold shoulder and we felt like we were imposing on her...we get people have off days, she just made us feel a bit unwelcome...

The resort itself was amazing and there were many delicious dining outlets to choose from. We especially loved our dinner at Bacci. Our waitress, Aimee, was spot on with every suggestion and beyond nice and personable. The private beach speaks for itself, just beautiful and so SO so relaxing. We went to the pool once but it was over populated with screaming active children and we had a hard time relaxing - we preferred the pools at the Hamilton Princess property as it was a quieter environment suited better for couples. Loved the perk of being able to enjoy the complimentary ferry to and from the Hamilton Princess and have access to their pools/Gold Lounge, it was fun to be able to experience a different part of the island that way.

The property trollys to and from the waterlot and the beach added to the overall resort experience and the best part of coming and going was the doorman, Nick, who recognized your face, shook your hand and sincerely asked how your day was going.

While there were many "best" moments from the entire trip we especially loved the Sunday night sunset catamaran cruise. We found out about it in the summer activity pamphlet that was floating around on all the tables throughout the resort, and then signed up through the front desk. Completely worth the $55 per person. Unlimited rum swizzle drinks on board for 2 hours just cruising the harbor. We were surprised that none of the resort staff suggested it as an activity for us to do. For an 80 person catamaran there were only 10 people on board, but I supposed I am not complaining as the intimate setting made it more fun. Either way - Sunday sunset cruise is a must.

Stay was over much too soon - hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jana0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for a business reward trip with our family. I do not know how much the rooms would cost, but I really liked the location for seeing all of Bermuda. The employees were so nice and happy and friendly my daughter actually looked forward to meals with the great staff. The private beach was great. Love jumping off the rocks. The hotel was clean and although not new we were very comfortable. Loved the bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricciw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family of 4 had a fantastic time at the Fairmont Sputhampton in Bermuda. The hotel was gorgeous despite what I had heard about it looking "tired" and in need of a makeover. Everything about the hotel was clean and the furnishings were beautiful and elegant. We ate in almost all the restaurants and had a great experience. The Waterlot Inn is beautiful and the food is spectacular. The Ocean Club had a great setting but a bit dissappointed in the food (fish tacos, seafood platter, fish and chips). We loved Jasmine's as well as the new Italian restaurant, Bacci. The beach is gorgeous but I do think the hotel should have some staff down there to keep it clean and to get rid of some of the excess chairs on the beach when not needed - it would have made for a more perfect experience.

We were on the Gold floor and the staff there is terrific. I can't say enough about the servers and how wonderful they all are. The food is very good quality and it really made our experience at the hotel that much more enjoyable. I do have to say that we had some misinformation at times from the concierge desk (some were better than others) that did cause a few things to not go smoothly and were aggravating. Overall they are really pleasant and try to be as helpful as they can be.

Room Tip: We were on the Gold Floor with a Harbour view that was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingstonBfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a great experience at this hotel. All of the staff was very courteous and helpful and we had a fabulous time. We had a great view from the room and the rooms were large with a huge closet. The whole hotel is in need of some updating but still has a great bit of charm. All of the on site restaurants we ate at were great except the fish house down by the beach. Our only other complaint was the air conditioning system, it shuts off at night so it tends to get a little warm in the rooms until it kicks back on early in the am. As previously stated in another post make sure you become a member of the Presidents club before you leave so you can take advantage of the free internet. Loved Bermuda

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The is a beautiful hotel. We stayed for a week. I would recommend staying on the 6th floor. We really enjoyed the breakfasts and the happy hour there. The beach is great swimming. All of the restaurants in the resort were excellent, especially Bacci. The only negative is that a large group (1000 people) came in on our last day or so and then the beach was crowded. But you can walk to other beaches that are close by if you want to. The pool is not big but it is nicely maintained.

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
651 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
812 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,552 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing