We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Afternoon tea treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We walked from the beaches and enjoyed afternoon tea on the patio at this beautiful hotel. We were not overnight guests but were made welcome to enjoy this experience. The delicious Earl Gray tea which I chose was accompanied by a variety of fresh sandwiches , scones with clotted cream, chocolate dipped strawberries and more. It was evident that a lot of care was used in the presentation of the delicacies. The staff were very professional and made us really feel that our enjoyment of our experience was important. We took advantage of the sharing option where we had one "Tea" for $24 and a second for $12. There was definitely enough for both of us to enjoy a light afternoon treat. It is a Bermuda experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our afternoon tea offerings at the Jasmine Lounge. We agree, it is a quaint, fun, authentically local afternoon treat! We hope that you return to Bermuda soon and allow us to wow you with our hospitality as a guest at The Fairmont Southampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    970
    351
    160
    91
See reviews for
884
1,383
80
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We left a chilly March day in Boston and were strolling on Horseshoe beach just a few hours later. Hotel front desk staff juggled things around to give us the corner room of our dreams, with a wide view of the blue, blue ocean, and the classy internet marketing manager tracked us via twitter to make sure everything was going smoothly.

The Southampton borders a beautiful public park with walks along the cliffs, coves, and sand, which was serene in the off-season. The hotel's private beach provides comfortable chaise lounges with a view of aqua water, black rocks, white-pink sand, and birds with yellow breasts singing their "welcome to Bermuda" spring tunes.

The executive 3-par golf course was perfect for my husband (a good golfer) and me (a novice) to enjoy playing together. Service was five-star in every restaurant, including the Waterlot, established in 1634, a splurge but worth it. It was a cinch to catch the free ferry into Hamilton, enjoy a delicious Egyptian dinner on Front Street, and catch the island bus back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you, Mitali, for taking the time to review The Fairmont Southampton. Having interacted with you during your stay, I can say first-hand that it was a pleasure to have you as our guest in Bermuda. You paint such a beautiful picture of Bermuda in this review, from the serene beaches to the singing birds that you spotted (kiskadees). We hope that we can welcome you back to The Fairmont Southampton again soon, and that you can continue creating lasting memories in Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Fairmont Southampton has an excellent elevated location with a good view from most rooms, which are spacious. The complementary hotel trolley is a short ride to the beaches, golf course or bus stations. A hotel boat connects to Hamilton.
The restaurant staff is excellent - very good continental breakfast buffets, including fresh fruit smoothies; Sunday brunch with Bermudian specialities.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grneumann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great hotel! Beautiful rooms and views. We loved the pool and spa as well. Nice sister hotel SH Hamilton. It was worth the distance from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed a week at the Fairmont Southampton. The hotel is elegant and the rooms were spacious. We had an oceanview balcony room and would definitely recommend choosing this for the amazing views of both the ocean and the golf course. Unfortunately the week we were there was still off season so the outdoor pool was closed and only two restaurants were open. We ate at the bar restaurant - Jasmine for lunch and a couple of light dinners. We also ate at Bacci, the Italian restaurant a couple of nights. The food was very good at both places but the prices were high, as they were all over Bermuda. The trade off for going in off season is that we had the beach all to ourselves a couple of days and with a few other people on others. Our weather was great - mostly sunny and around 20 degrees celsius most days. We also swam in the ocean and did not really find it all that cold. The Waterlot restaurant opened up on our last night and we looked forward to dining there. I would say that it was good but not exceptional. The bonus of staying at the Southampton was that we were able to access the water ferry that went between our hotel and the Fairmont Princess Hamilton. This was a great way to get into Hamilton and we went a couple of nights for dinner and took a taxi home. We also really enjoyed the hotel trolley which ran regularly or on demand and would take you anywhere on the Southampton resort. Although the beach was only a 10 to 15 minute walk away it was all uphill on the way back and the trolley was appreciated! Our only regret is that we did not take advantage of the golf course and that is why we will have to go back! We will also have to go back to feed our "Dark and Stormy" addiction!

  • Liked — Location, transportation around the resort, ferry to Hamilton
  • Disliked — Off season and many of the restaurants were closed as was the outdoor pool
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerrySudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you Kerry, for taking the time to write us a review of your stay at The Fairmont Southampton. We apologize for the inconvenience of the Resort Pool closure, it was closed for its annual maintenance to ensure that it is safe and clean for our guests. During that closure, the Spa Pool was open to all guests (it is normally closed during the day to guests). It sounds like you enjoyed the weather and the relaxing private beach. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon, so that you can experience more of our variety of amenities and restaurants on-property (and of course, for more Dark 'n' Stormies!). Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night and was glad to leave. With limited availability throughout Bermuda, the five star properties are very expensive. I could not come to grips though on the prices that they charge compared to what you receive. Yes, the bed was clean but the wood furniture had scratches and visible wear. The television was unimpressive and the bathroom was clean and functional but nothing luxurious. Adding insult to injury, they charge for the wi-fi service in the room.

During my visit, the hotel had a performance in one of the ballrooms. My room was not directly above the ballroom, but I could not sleep as the noise continued past midnight. They were apologetic at the front desk but were unable to offer any kind of help (which understandably, they can't end a concert because of one guest complaining, but they can offer to move rooms). In the morning, I called the front desk and asked if they had any toothpaste. At many Hilton and Starwood brand hotels, they have always been able to assist with basic toiletries. The front desk searched for a while and could not find any. Then sent me to housekeeping who never showed up.

All in all, I would not stay at this property again and would only recommend it if you are looking for a clean bed with air conditioning and ocean views. Anything more and I would look into other properties.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityGuy07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. While we are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay, we appreciate you providing feedback for things that we can work on to improve our service and make our guests more comfortable. The wi-fi at The Fairmont Southampton is free to Fairmont President's Club members, which is free to join. We apologize for the inconvenience of the performance below your room, and if you stayed again, it would be unlikely that you would run into the same problem. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to improve your opinions of The Fairmont Southampton. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Our little 3 day Bermuda getaway was well worth it due to this hotel and all it had to offer. The ocean view room was perfect and we enjoyed the balcony, especially in the mornings after making coffee in the room. The food at the Jasmine lounge was amazing but pricey (but we were prepared for that). One downside was that a number of the hotel restaurants were closed at this time of year but we then ventured out to a few local places which was great (ex. Swizzle pub). On our departure day we had several hours in the hotel after checkout time, but that was no problem with the numerous couches to relax. Easy access to the public bus was a plus as we used it to see much of the gorgeous countryside. We found the local people very friendly and helpful. We only wished we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing